We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOISY!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Killarney Towers Hotel & Leisure Centre
Ranked #22 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
denver, co
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“NOISY!!”
Reviewed 15 September 2008

Stayed here as part of a CIE tour (which by the way was fabulous and which I'd recommend without hesitation even though staying at this hotel for 2 nights was part of it). It was the only hotel on the tour that I really disliked. Otherwise, CIE made great choices. But it was all about the room. If we had been put in a quieter room to start with, I'd be writing a much more positive review. We were put in a 1st floor room at the end of the hall directly over one of the adjacent pubs (which I think are actually owned by the hotel - not sure). They had a pretty bad solo guitarist-singer that night. We were actually in the pub drinking a pint before heading up to bed. Then when we got to our room it was as though we were still in the pub. It was unbelievable - the noise. Not just distant music or the loud thump-thump of the bass but surround-sound-like music. The last thing I wanted to do after a day of sight-seeing was turn on a TV but we tried even that to drown out the noise and it didn't do it. We called the front desk and they told us the music usually stopped at around 1:30. 1:30!!!! We had 2 hours to go. They also had the nerve to ask us if we had our windows open - fixing this problem is not as simple as shutting the windows, as they should well know by now from the looks of some of these other reviews. About half an hour later we called again to see if we could move rooms. They had nothing available. We got dressed, went down to check things out, confirmed that there were still only a handful of people in the pub actually "enjoying" the music and then asked the hotel management on staff if there was any way they could get the pub to end the music any earlier than 1:30. There was truly no way you could do anything but sit or lie in your room listening. Even with ear plugs, which we always take when we travel. And pillows smashed up against your ears. I have stayed in lots of noisy hotel rooms in my life but nothing like this. They agreed to compromise - quit at 12:30. We had to call again at 12:45, as the music was still going ... it finally ended, we finally got to sleep.

They moved us to another room the next morning - not only a quieter room set much further back in the hotel (we were at the street in that first room) but also a much larger room w/a larger bathroom and much nicer windows/views. Our first room overlooked the rooftop of the entrance to the pub - it was full of water, wires and a red cowboy hat. It was unsightly. There were no shades on the windows - just heavy dark curtains. So to allow some light in but so as to not have to look out onto the roof, we had covered the lower half of the windows with towels. The second room was much better in all ways. The hotel also provided us with a fresh fruit basket and wine as a form of apology.

So they did what they could. It's just kind of amazing that they spent apparently US$8 million in renovations and didn't think to put any sound-proofing in between that lower pub level and the rooms. Or maybe they did. I have no idea what that would involve.

If you stay here as part of a tour - and most of the guests seemed to be bus tour folks - there's not much you can do I suppose but ask from the outset for a quiet room. The rooms over the "other" pub - the one playing the Irish Music - are much quieter. Or at least the music in that pub ends nightly by 11:30, not 1:30. That seems much more reasonable. I mean, we were on vacation and part of what we were doing was drinking pints in pubs every night. So 11:30 is fine. But 1:30 is not.

If you aren't part of a tour and are booking your own hotel, I would probably look around and see what else Killarney has to offer. That's what I'd do anyway. I mean, I would stay here again if there were no other choice or the price were right and if I were guaranteed a quiet room. Other than the noise (and our cramped first room with the unsightly view), it's a nice hotel. Although all the jars of preserved lemons, etc, which decorate the dining room might be a little off-putting if you've much experience with biology. Some of them look like formaldehyde-preserved shrunken heads. The jars of dried beans were fine, but the lemons were a little creepy. Breakfasts and dinners which were included (at least for us) were fine. For dessert I would recommend trying the vanilla ice cream. They don't have it out w/the buffet - you have to ask for it. The Irish know how to do cream!

  • Liked — that they moved us to a quieter room when one became available and apologized for the inconvenience
  • Disliked — that the first room provided was the noisest hotel room I have ever stayed in, and this is not a budget hotel where you might expect that kind of thing
Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank owlhead64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

832 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    409
    293
    72
    34
    24
See reviews for
132
383
43
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
scotland
1 review
Reviewed 24 August 2008

Just back from this wonderful hotel and cant recommend it enough.
Bufftet breakfast was excellent and staff very friendly.
Rooms were clean and comfortable.
Checking in was easy and cases were delivered straight to door.
Dinner is highly recommended with a variety of dishes to choose from.
Overall a fantastic hotel with nice staff.

  • Liked — food
  • Disliked — we had to come home
  • Stayed August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ozeedog12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
1 review
Reviewed 22 August 2008

Enjoyed the position, the friendly staff , the cleanliness and the food. It has obviously been improved since some of the earlier comments.

Our first room was very noisy from external machinery (extractor fan or air conditioning). We were moved to another room which for the first few days was great, even though it faced the square it was beautifully peaceful. But our last night, when we had gone to bed early ready for an early morning start to our homeward journey, was horrendous. The noise from the bar three floors below could never be called music - just a pounding beat that made the floor resound. We had to put the TV on just to drown it. At midnight it stopped and we breathed a sigh of relief, only for it to start up again. It finally finished at 1 am.

This other wise excellent hotel should decide whether to cater for its paying guests or its nightclubbers. I don't think the two mix.

  • Liked — Comfortable beds in clean, well fitted rooms in a central position of town
  • Disliked — noise from bar
  • Stayed August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelgranWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cavan, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2008

I must start by saying the Hotel Rooms are excellent and the hotel in general is very good. However if you were never in Killarney before it is almost impossible to get parked to check in. We parked in a public park and then the reception staff told us that is the only parking available at €1 an hour with overnight free. My other problem is with the evening meals. It is buffet style which looks very unprofessonal and very dissappointing. Apart from that we still had an excellent time there and would probably stay there again.

  • Liked — Central Location
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank tommyculleton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arkansas
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2008

We were there for three nights with a group including 48 travelers. The room was very nice and comfortable and the bathroom quite nice. We were very pleased until we realized were were directly above the pub with live music until 12:30 am and the hotel could not relocate us (actually we were better off than some in our group who were above the bar with a live DJ that played music until 1-1:30). We had ear plugs but the amplification was so strong the floor and bed actually vibrated-this is "traditional Irish music" mind you. We also discovered that the cleaning staff had left the window open for ventilation but that allowed all of the smoke from those stepping outside to light up directly into our room (we were directly above the door to the pub).

Staff was friendly, good location, breakfast very good and the one dinner we had there was also fine (liked the fact that they actually had lots of vegetables-something we had not seen a lot of on the trip thus far). If only it was not so loud.

  • Liked — comfort of room
  • Disliked — noise level
  • Stayed June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cindy412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
1 review
Reviewed 23 June 2008

Good thing this hotel is so close to things to do (the center of town and the beautiful, peaceful Killarney National Park) because you do want to get out of those tiny, orange rooms as soon as you can. We were on the first floor and couldn't believe the thump! thump! thump! of the Leisure Center stereo down the hall. The kind of low constant noise where you can't hear the music, just the thumping. The management offered to turn it down, and I was assured it would stop completely after 9:00. It stopped at 9:30 p.m. The only other room they could have moved us to was in the same hallway.

The other odd thing was the chemical smell down the hall next to the swimming pool - sulfer? Peroxide? Extremely strong and since it was next to the indoor pool, it might be related to the mold problem another reviewer mentioned. The smell didn't get into the room, but it was awful having to walk down that hall to go to meals.

There were also some "boys" singing up a storm down the street until the wee hours, but nothing the hotel could do about that, just be aware that you are in the middle of a busy holiday town.

  • Liked — Convenient location
  • Disliked — Noise
  • Stayed June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Lisa8181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ny
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 June 2008

I was worried about the Killarney towers after reading some of the reviews before our tour of Ireland, and were they ever wrong! it is newly remodeled. The rooms were the best we stayed in on our tour and just beautiful. The dinners were great, the staff was exceptional and the pub was great fun. DON'T BELIEVE THE OLD REVIEWS IT IS ALL NEW! I always check trip advisor and would not have booked this hotel but it was included on our tour, and am pleased to say that the reviews were wrong. Check the dates on the reviews we stayed in May 08. also easy walking to shops and nightlife. A definite yes for us!

  • Liked — beautiful accomodations
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kayakmom6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.1 mi away
Killarney Plaza Hotel and Spa
0.1 mi away
The Ross
The Ross
#4 of 38 in Killarney
908 reviews
0.1 mi away
McSweeney Arms Hotel
McSweeney Arms Hotel
#14 of 38 in Killarney
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Fairview
The Fairview
#19 of 38 in Killarney
1,484 reviews
0.1 mi away
Killarney Avenue Hotel
Killarney Avenue Hotel
#23 of 38 in Killarney
408 reviews
0.0 mi away
International Hotel Killarney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Killarney Towers Hotel & Leisure Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Killarney Towers Hotel & Leisure Centre

Property: Killarney Towers Hotel & Leisure Centre
Address: Town Centre, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#23 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#26 Family Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Killarney Towers Hotel & Leisure Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 182
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Killarney Towers Hotel & Leisure Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Killarney Towers Hotel And Leisure Centre
Towers Killarney
Killarney Hotel
Killarney Towers Hotel Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing