We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Castle on the Lake”
Review of Ross Castle

Ross Castle
Book In Advance
More Info
US$27.41*
and up
Jaunting Car Tour to Ross Castle from Killarney
Ranked #12 of 106 things to do in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This 15th-century castle is the subject of numerous historical myths, including that of a ghost who still makes appearances at the castle.
Liberty Twp, Ohio
Level Contributor
124 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Castle on the Lake”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Beautiful surrounding park area. Castle was a beautiful example of Medieval period castle from the time of Oliver Cromwell

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank mybav60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,973 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,024
    703
    215
    23
    8
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
88 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great castle.”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

This castle is presented in a a complete state. Not like Blarney castle which is partially destroyed. (That's OK, that's what it is.) Ross castle has more to look at and it on a different level. Worthwhile. The setting is gorgeous.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank paca1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruislip, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
567 reviews
245 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 298 helpful votes
“Disappointing. Geared to people who haven't been to castles...”
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

Visited with my parents and partner. You can only see the castle on guided tours. It takes about 30 minutes. No photos are permitted. The castle is a ruin, but it was reconstructed in the medieval style and contains furniture from the same time. I have been to many castles, and the tour focused on castle defense basics which was dull for me. I wonder if it is rated so highly because it is visited a lot by Americans and others who maybe have not had much opportunity to see castles. I found my experience in relation to others disappointing.

Helpful?
1 Thank rebeljenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Restored History”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

After seeing one castle ruin after another, it was fascinating to see a restored castle with period furniture. At great expense, the former ruin was restored to illustrate how the castle was constructed and the different defense features.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank vab1122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Photogenic Location”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

While the surrounding grounds are not as extensive as Muckross House, they are very well kept. We didn't take a guided tour, but wandered the castle freestyle, reintroducing ourselves to the construction techniques which are primarily defensive, even inside the walls. We took the relaxing Lower Lake watercoach tour past the monastic island of Inisfallen and had no problem with scheduling as one of the booking locations was Old Weir House, where we were staying. The tour was informative, but any photography has to take place through the plexi windows.
We then decided to walk to Killarney and back, which is almost completely level and passes through several ecosystems. There are many paths of various difficulty, and visiting here just for these would be an end in itself. The mountain vistas, large lakes, well restored castle, and many waterfowl caused me to run out of a set of batteries in my camera - something I never normally do in a day. Such is the beauty of Killarney National Park.
Parking was overflowed onto the side of the road, and this probably happens a lot. But this isn't much of a problem.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ross Castle also viewed

 
Killarney, County Kerry
 

Been to Ross Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing