We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great sunsets”
Review of Ross Castle

Ross Castle
Book In Advance
More Info
US$27.41*
and up
Jaunting Car Tour to Ross Castle from Killarney
Ranked #12 of 106 things to do in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This 15th-century castle is the subject of numerous historical myths, including that of a ghost who still makes appearances at the castle.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
101 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great sunsets”
Reviewed 2 September 2014

Not much to see in the castle itself, but the sunsets from the castle over the water are beautiful. The castle itself, basked in the setting sunlight is also worth the visit.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Albert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,973 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,024
    703
    215
    23
    8
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jeju, South Korea
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A proper castle”
Reviewed 2 September 2014

Unlike Kilkenny Castle, which has been refurbished in Victorian style inside, this one keeps the more authentic medieval interior of such a fortress. Your guide will tell you everything you need to know.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Paddyirishman65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Decatur, Georgia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Unusual”
Reviewed 31 August 2014

We really got a sense of what living in a castle might have been like. This castle is not all updated in today's furniture etc. The guide told us about the life and times of the people who lived in this castle. Very, very interesting and well worth the time to visit.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
100 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Beautiful backdrop”
Reviewed 30 August 2014

I use this castle all the time for wedding photography and its stunning. The light changes all the view with it.
Love going there

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank rose b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“What a view”
Reviewed 29 August 2014

The view from the Ross Castle out towards the waters was my favorite. And the higher you go in the Castle, the better the view gets. I loved this place and all the history behind it. They do have a guided tour within the castle that I think is about 4 Euros but we didn't take it and decided to just take a look around on our own. You will get some sweet shots here and if you'd like you can even take a boat out.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Marelys G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ross Castle also viewed

 
Killarney, County Kerry
 

Been to Ross Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing