We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kathleens Country House
Ranked #22 of 143 Killarney B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 September 2011

My wife stayed one night in Kathleens Country House and it was lovely.Kathleen made us very welcome and breakfast was great ,would stay again,only one small thing they dont do fried eggs.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ballymaguigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (313)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

154 - 160 of 313 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2011

It was a very nice B&B. Kathleen and her waitresses were excellent. I would book a stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nivrage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2011

We spent an extremely enjoyable 2 days in Killarney, and Kathleens is an excellent B&B to stay in. It is a car journey from Killarney, walking directly is not advisable due to the busy road. The rooms are very comforable, and the overall ambience is excellent. The breakfast is absolutely excellent, real Irish thick-cut, butcher style grilled rasher, with griddle-cooked sasuages, eggs as you like, and plenty of brown soda. Superb. The star of the show is Kathleen herself, a wonderful hostess, who makes you feel very welcome and is extremely passionate and knowledgable about the Killarney area. Also free wifi throughout the house.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ed_Limerick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2011

I stayed at Kathleens for 4 nights. She was welcoming and very attentive. She helped me arrange tours and gave me recommendations for what to do and see. She was always spot on. I'd go back tomorrow if I could.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Drearmstrong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2011

Our stay was faultless. The rooms, breakfast and service were excellent. Kathleen was extraordinarily helpful and knowledgeable about the local area – with advice on any topic.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OzSteve7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2011

I was really debating between 3 and 4 stars for this property. I had no issues with the property itself. The countryside location is beautiful. The rooms are large, well-decorated and clean. Having said that, unfortunately I had an issue with the hostess. Our group (4 people in total) was late getting in (at around 10.30pm), and the hostess tried to have us stay at a different location for the night. Because we weren't notified of the no-late check-in policy in advance, we thought that the request was unreasonable and bogus. Although the next day the hostess was nice and helpful, she was rather rude with us on the phone the night before, and the experience left us with a sour taste. Bottom line is that the property is beautiful, but is probably not well-suited for people who are driving to Killarney from a far location and don't expect to check in before 9pm.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CharlottesvilleMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2011

We have had a wonderful stay in very pleasant surroundings. Everybody was friendly and helpful, it was like being at home. Kathleen herself was very helpful, even arranging
a booking for dining out in the evening. The accomadation was very comfortable & homely. The staff were very friendly and efficient and also could not do enough for you.
During our stay there we found that everything we had heard of about Irish friendliness & hospitality was true. We do highly recommend staying at Kathleens Country House.
Jim & Marilyn Scott - Australia

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimmarilyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.5 mi away
Gleann Fia Country House
Gleann Fia Country House
#17 of 143 in Killarney
271 reviews
3.0 mi away
Douglasha House
Douglasha House
#1 of 4 in Fossa
80 reviews
1.9 mi away
Fuchsia Guest House
Fuchsia Guest House
#35 of 143 in Killarney
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Ashville House
Ashville House
#11 of 143 in Killarney
220 reviews
1.6 mi away
Abbey Lodge
Abbey Lodge
#30 of 143 in Killarney
212 reviews
1.9 mi away
Old Weir Lodge
Old Weir Lodge
#8 of 143 in Killarney
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kathleens Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kathleens Country House

Address: Coolgarriv | Tralee Road, Killarney Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 143 B&Bs / Inns in Killarney
Price Range: £54 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kathleens Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kathleens is a charming family run 4-star Bed & Breakfast Hotel, renowned for its traditional hospitality and welcome with exquisite decor throughout. Immersed in luscious gardens and ideally based for touring The Ring of Kerry or Dingle & Golfing, walking, climbing, horse riding. Private parking. 5 mins to town. All bedrooms with private bathrooms, flat screen TV, orthopedic beds. Sumptuous breakfasts are cooked fresh to order. Free Wi Fi & computer in the library for guests' use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Kathleens Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing