We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay outside.”
Review of Muckross Abbey

Muckross Abbey
Book In Advance
More Info
US$11.39*
and up
Hop-on Hop-off Shuttle in Killarney: Muckross Route
Ranked #6 of 106 things to do in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Greer, South Carolina
Level Contributor
65 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Stay outside.”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Our tour group went here and we didn't even bother taking the kids (3 boys- 9,6 and 5) into the house. They would've been bored out of their skulls after 5 minutes. I let my wife tour the house while the boys and I climbed trees and ran around the grounds. She even found the house a to be boring.

The grounds are beautiful! A great place for a picnic, soccer ball and Frisbee. There is a petting zoo area and playground for the kids. Just don't make the kids go inside. It'd be bad for everyone.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Scott F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

949 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    659
    246
    42
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
93 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“As if from Lord of the Ring movies”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

The place is very nice, although a little bit creepy with very few people around as there is a cemetery. But the main hall is amazing! I just love this feeling of magic around.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tori_sunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“600 year old Abbey”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Great place to stop by while walking in the Park. lots of places to explore in the abbey for young kids. Pity there isn't more information on display at the abbey.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Paddy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SF Bay Area
Level Contributor
70 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“An Abbey that you can go Upstairs in”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Beautiful abbey in the beautiful Killarney National Park. We enjoyed visiting this abbey (one of many) as you could actually go upstairs and see a second story with the views to match. It also had a very cool huge tree right in the center of the abbey courtyard. This was one of our favorite abbeys to visit.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Never2MuchTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cobh, Ireland
Level Contributor
175 reviews
123 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“I was mind blown”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

as an ex-tour guide, I know some stories about the haunted abbey and I always wanted to see it.
I expected a small ruin and not much about it than my spooky imagination but when I finally got there, I was mind blown. amazing. I so loved it.
to me its a place with a magical atmospere. i closed my eyes just and soaked all up.

i hope some of you will get that feeling there as well.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Tienchen79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Muckross Abbey also viewed

 
Killarney, County Kerry
 

Been to Muckross Abbey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing