We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Walk”
Review of Old Kenmare Road

Old Kenmare Road
Ranked #19 of 106 things to do in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Walk”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Great walk, and yes its walk, its old road no longer suitable for cars.
Took us about 6 hours to do. Started near Torc and got a spin back to Torc, must do it the other way around sometime.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Paddy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    29
    3
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Superb for locals and tourists alike”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

I can't recommend this walk highly enough. Parking in the upper Torc car park it is approx. a 5 hour walk, it can be done in less but it's nicer to take breaks and enjoy the scenery. Considering the distance you would need to organise transport back to your starting position again as it would be inadvisable to try turn around and walk back unless you were a serious hiker with copious amounts of energy. If you want a shorter walk there is a beautiful little waterfall along the path about an hour from the car park which is magnificent to sit near and have a small picnic or wade into. Wear good footwear as the path is not always steady or even. I first did this walk when I was only 10 years old so it is something you could bring your children along on also.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
1,823 reviews
1,029 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2,230 helpful votes
“Inspires ones imagination”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We entered it out of curiosity from the regular " new " road to Kenmare and it is indeed a great road to walk . It is unimaginably picturesque and beautiful and all the structures spike your imagination.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank podrozniczka60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wexford, Ireland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Worth a walk!”
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Very atmospheric, particularly with the fallen trees due to the recent storms. If driving, be very vigilant and park in the first car park on the right as the the road condition worsens and can be closed off further down the route.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing scenery and so much history, James Guide Group.”
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Went with James Guide group, Amazing history and scenery along this moderate to strenuous Walking route. its well worth the effort, we went from Killarney to Kenmare, this is my favourite way but they say its supposed to be the other way because you are coming back with the weather. we met the Sliabh Luachra group half way.we had plenty of time to stop look around and take in the Culture, heritage, tradition, sing song etc, we even got to make a St Brigid's cross. we saw some Deer and got some Horticulture lessons along the way. Fabulous group of people and great company you really don't feel the journey.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Jmskn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Old Kenmare Road also viewed

Killarney, County Kerry
 

Been to Old Kenmare Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing