We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location/Great Service/ Great Room”
Review of The Ross

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Ross
Ranked #4 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 October 2011

We booked a suite (#101) at this hotel for two nights. We were blown away with how big it was and how modern it was. It really impressed us. The suite had two large windows that looked out on the street and you can see the horse drawn carriages. The suite had a gas fireplace and a large flat screen TV. The bed was a king. The room had a nice desk and good Internet service. By the flat screen was a sofa and two nice chairs. The bathroom was spotless. The suite was furnished very nicely and so much room. The ONLY downside of the room is that it faced the street and at night we could hear people talking as they passed the hotel. If you are a light sleeper you have been warned. The hotel has a great modern, savvy bar area and a very modern atmosphere in the restaurant. Very well done and sharp and spotless. The staff at the reastaurant was very helpful and friendly. At the front desk of the hotel we had GREAT service from Jane. I wasn't feeling well and she made a doctor's appointment for me and also gave me a map as to how to find the office. She couldn't have been more helpful. Plus she recommended two restaurants in Killarney and BOTH we enjoyed very much. Bricin and Gaby's. Both GREAT.

Room Tip: Suite 101 if you are not a light sleeper.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Southjerseywalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (926)
There are newer reviews for The Ross
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

733 - 739 of 926 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2011

Loved the decor in this hotel. For anyone who has been to The G in Galway, this has the same feel to it. The room rate was excellent (we booked midweek) for the quality of the hotel. Access was given to the gym, pool and spa of its 5 star sister hotel across the road, offering the best of both worlds. I have stayed in other hotels in killarney that are more expensive and have become a lot more shabby. This would not suit those who like a traditional hotel. But for anyone looking for something funky, different and with a plush, luxurious feel to it, this is your place! Great for couples, girls wkend etc Menu in the bar was very good - both for food and cocktails. Location was also perfect as it is still in the centre of town. I would highly recommend this hotel, and will definately be back!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kellywindmill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2011

In the heart of Killarney this hotel is the ideal location. The hotel is plush, beautifully finished and spotlessly clean. I cannot fault one thing about it.
We are looking forward to staying here again

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bernadette2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2011

This is the kind of place we like to spend a few days at. Sadly we arrived later in the day and needed to head out early the next day for the Ring of Kerry so we didn't get a chance to really enjoy the hotel like we would have.

The location was perfect for Killarney with the only slight drawback for us was the car had to be parked a block down in the lot of the sister hotel. No big deal unless it's pouring rain out.

We had a really nice view of the Church next to the property.

After first passing on the breakfast option at the time of reservation we ended up getting the continental breakfast for 8 euro in the Celler One restaurant on site.

A couple of doors down there is a nice Irish pub with live music so after we had a few pints the walk back was easy.

If we are ever in Killarney again we would plan on staying here again. Hopefully for more than one night.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Stayed there for a weekend with a group of friends. As is often the case with groups, we needed to chop and change our arrangements a bit. This proved to be no problem with the staff. They were extremely courteous, helpful and friendly throughout our stay. The location is fantastic as it is right in the heart of the town. The bar has a great atmosphere and bar food, so much so, that on our first night we didn't visit any other bars in the town! We used the restaurant on the second night and again thought it was great. We were all in agreement that it's an excellent hotel that offers great value for money. I would highly recommend it and would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dermot O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2011

Stayed here in September on a midweek break with my girlfriend. The hotel is perfectly located in Killarney town centre. Its a boutique type hotel full of quirky features. The room was very clean and spacious. The staff were very nice and helpful while the food in the cellar one restaurant was only excellent. Lane's cocktail bar and the pink lounge are a must for a few drinks. Can't recommend it highly enough for a couple or a girls night away.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pedrocork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2011

A friend and I recently stayed at the Ross for two nights during a trip through Ireland and it was our favorite hotel of the trip. I feel like great hotel rooms at reasonable prices can be hard to find in Europe, but this one hit the mark. The staff was very nice and so were the rooms. The decor was modern throughout the hotel, and the room itself was clean and comfortable. We were on the third floor and there was also an outdoor patio right by our room that was nice to relax on. I can see how some rooms facing the street might get noise, but ours overlooked a church and part of the main street and we didn't have a problem. The only thing is that I kind of wish the wireless had been available in the rooms (instead of just the lobby) like some of the other places we stayed at, but that's a minor thing that doesn't change my opinion of the hotel. I would definitely recommend the Ross to anyone looking for a place to stay in Killarney.

Also, for those on a driving trip, there is a large parking lot available at the sister hotel right up the street, which is great considering how crowded the area is. The hotel is in an excellent location for exploring the immediate town and a small northern portion of Killarney National Park, but you will need your car to get to the main park entrance on Muckross Road.

Room Tip: book online
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iwilladviseyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.1 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#2 of 38 in Killarney
1,428 reviews
1.4 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#9 of 38 in Killarney
2,306 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#10 of 38 in Killarney
2,261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
International Hotel Killarney
2.8 mi away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
0.2 mi away
The Malton Hotel
The Malton Hotel
#15 of 38 in Killarney
2,236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ross? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ross

Address: East Avenue, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#3 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#10 Family Hotel in Killarney
#12 Business Hotel in Killarney
Price Range: £113 - £201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ross 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ross is perfectly situated in the famously scenic south west of Ireland. A seamless fusion of luxury and cool, The Ross provides the services and amenities of a luxury hotel within a stylish and chic environment. The 29 bedroomed Ross is also home to the dramatic Cellar One Restaurant, The Lane - a hip and lively cafe bar and the Pink Lounge, which is home to 50 different types of Gin from all over the world. Just steps from Killarney National Park, local bars and restaurants, The Ross is simply the best address in town! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Ross reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ross Hotel Killarney
Ross Hotel Killarney
Ross Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing