We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorable Stay in Killarney”
Review of The Ross

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Ross
Ranked #4 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Wellston, Oklahoma
1 review
“Memorable Stay in Killarney”
Reviewed 26 August 2013

This was the second time my wife and I visited the Emerald Isle, but the first time we opted to stay in Killarney. This was the most memorable time we have spent in Ireland. We have toured the entire country, and have seen the many wonderful sights of the land. But to date, we have fallen in love with Killarney, and Country Kerry.

We are already planning our third visit, and will without a doubt stay with the wonderful folks at the Ross Hotel, in Killarney.

their kindness, attention to detail, and overall friendliness, in addition to the many fantastic things their are to do in the area, make this a necessary stop while in the Emerald Isle. the accommodations are superb, the food is fantastic, the whole experience is quite memorable.

So thanks to the gang from the Ross Hotel.

Memorably,

Chuck and JoJo Allen
Oklahoma, Oklahoma

Mise Erie............!

We will be back soon....... so to the staff, we thank ye.....!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chuck A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRossHotel, Manager at The Ross, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Dear Chuck and Jojo,

Thanks so much for your great review of our hotel.
Your comments are very much appreciated. We really enjoyed you both staying with us and your good humour each day.

We hope you will come back and visit us again sometime.

Best wishes,

Ciara
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

879 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    727
    128
    17
    5
    2
See reviews for
115
400
21
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We stayed at the Ross hotel to celebrate a friends 40th. Couldn't have made a better choice. We were really well looked after, all our food was excellent, breakfast lunch and dinner was included in our price. Our rooms were of very high standard and the central location of the hotel was ideal for us. Will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alice O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRossHotel, Manager at The Ross, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Dear Kate,

Thanks a million for your review of our girly lunch with us here in August. You all were a delight to deal with and I hope the wedding will be fabulous.

We might nab you to stay with us another time.

Best wishes,

Ciara
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 August 2013 via mobile

We reserved tables for 22 people for a Saturday lunch in the lane bar. The friendly Irish staff were beyond attentive and the food was first class and very reasonable. The waitresses insisted that they bring drinks to the table each time and with all different drink orders and bottles of sparkling wine flying this was not an easy job!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DuaneK27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lytham St Annes, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Picked this hotel because of the Tripadvisor rating. It lived up to it's reviews. I have been to Killarney several times and in my view you have to be in the town. This hotel has a great location and car parking nearby. We upgraded to a suite and it was worth the money. Overall a great experience with friendly, well trained and helpful staff. Freshly cooked breakfast always welcome rather than buffet style.

Room Tip: Suites can be noisy because they are at the front of the hotel but worth the upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fresno, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Our stay at The Ross recently August 15th & 16th was pleasant, however we have two items to point out when staying here. First, there is no complimentary coffee or tea, either in the lobby or your room which was very surprising and frankly disappointing. The other, our room, which was located on the first floor of hotel rooms, was located right above the lower floor pub and it was extremely noisy. If you are not a pub goer, I would not stay at this hotel, too noisy.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reginia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRossHotel, Manager at The Ross, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Dear Reginia,

Many thanks for your review. I hope you had a wonderful in Killarney and I am glad you enjoyed the Ross. Just to note that we have complimentary tea and coffee facilities but these are available on request so should you return I have made note on your profile to have it in your room.

Regarding noise, being a town centre hotel in Killarney we unfortunately have little control over what goes on outside of the building but we will allocate rooms as best we can depending on peoples needs.

Many thanks Reginia.

Best wishes

Ciara
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killarney, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Excellent bar food in a very relaxing atmosphere. A little bit over priced but ALWAYS guaranteed excellent food and service.
Very friendly and accommodating staff.
Renowned for their fab. cocktails.
Definitely will be back

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cat K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

I stayed in one of the suites for 2 nights and couldn't fault The Ross hotel. The rooms were really cosy and very well priced. I'm looking forward to coming back again! The location was really perfect for us, with all of the restaurants and bars within walking distance. We also had use of the leisure facilities in the sister hotel. All in all it was a great stay and I'd recommend it to anyone who's looking to stay in Killarney.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoDublin2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.1 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,336 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#8 of 38 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,123 reviews
0.0 mi away
International Hotel Killarney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#6 of 38 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,053 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Malton Hotel
The Malton Hotel
#14 of 38 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,081 reviews
3.0 mi away
Killeen House Hotel
Killeen House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Aghadoe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ross? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ross

Property: The Ross
Address: Rossbay Ross Road | Killarney, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#3 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#10 Family Hotel in Killarney
#12 Business Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ross 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ross is perfectly situated in the famously scenic south west of Ireland. A seamless fusion of luxury and cool, The Ross provides the services and amenities of a luxury hotel within a stylish and chic environment. The 29 bedroomed Ross is also home to the dramatic Cellar One Restaurant, The Lane - a hip and lively cafe bar and the Pink Lounge, which is home to 50 different types of Gin from all over the world. Just steps from Killarney National Park, local bars and restaurants, The Ross is simply the best address in town! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Ross reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ross Hotel Killarney
Ross Hotel Killarney
Ross Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing