We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel in the center of everything”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Ross

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Ross
Ranked #4 of 39 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great hotel in the center of everything”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

We stayed at The Ross hotel earlier this month as a family, so we had 4 rooms booked. The hotel worked out great. Really cool vibe to the place and the bar was great and open late! Our room was nice and comfortable. The only complaint (but we knew this could be a problem when we booked the hotel) is that it was really loud late at night due to the bars behind the hotel. You don't want to sleep with your windows open. Other than that, the staff was very friendly and helpful. :-)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kelly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

870 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    720
    126
    17
    5
    2
See reviews for
115
395
21
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Tipperary, Ireland
Level Contributor
67 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

My husband and i popped into The Lane bar and we had a great evening. Our intentions were to stay for one drink as we had a lot more pubs to check out :).....Four Margarita's and dinner later we just couldn't leave the place. Everything about the place is wonderful!!! Cocktails - Food - Staff - Atmosphere. I would highly recommend The Lane bar. Cocktails were 9 euros each but so worth the money! I can honestly say they were the best cocktails i had in a very long time so i didn't mind paying the money. Food is top notch and the service first class. The staff came across happy in their work place which i firmly believe is very important!!!! Next time we stay in Killarney we will definately call back!!!!! Thank you so much for a great evening xxx

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angiepangies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yeovil, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

This stunning hotel is right in the heart of Killarney. On arrival we found we had a complimentary upgrade to a suite which was very stylish and comfortable. The restaurant was funky and modern and both dinner and breakfast were tasty and beautifully presented and the staff were helpful and professional. Special mention to all the reception staff as nothing we asked for was too much trouble. Reading some other reviews the lack of tea making facilities was mentioned, in fact, if they had read their room guide they would have seen that this was available on request!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

This was a great 4* hotel in a great location in Killarney. The parking was easy to access over at their sister hotel, the Killarney Park and the staff were terrific. The room was wonderful and I especially loved that there was a speaker for the TV was in the bathroom (it's the small things really ;-)). They were really accommodating for breakfast and the bar was wonderful too. The only drawback (as with another review) was the noise from the downstairs bars. I stayed two nights (Monday and Tuesday) and it was still quite loud up until midnight, however I seemed to be able to block it out easy enough. Would be good to get the windows noise proofed perhaps, otherwise perhaps request a quieter room?

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brisneylandkim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pelham, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

To start with, the positives - the Ross hotel is wonderfully located in the heart of Killarney, right in the middle of all of the fun and excitement this city has to offer. The rooms were modern and the beds quite comfortable. The bar has a contemporary feel, while also being warm and relaxing. We used the exercise facilities at the Killarney Park Hotel across the road, which was excellent. We had breakfast in the restaurant, and the food was superb. Certainly the best thing about this hotel is that everyone was so professional and friendly. True Irish hospitality.

We had only one issue, and that was the noise on Saturday night, which went well past 1 am. There are a couple of pubs next to the hotel, and the noise at night outside is just terrible. We were in room 205 and were woken several times throughout the night and had a very restless sleep. Sunday night was much quieter, so it was really just the one night. I would strongly recommend that if you are not planning on partying late in the night on a Saturday night, that you consider staying at the Killarney Park Hotel across the street, which is a sister hotel to the Ross, and just a short walk away. Although the hotel can't control the noise coming out of the bars, perhaps earplugs can be provided to guests on Saturday nights. I happened to bring a pair that I use when I'm swimming, and they helped reduce the noise quite a bit.

Room Tip: Tell the front desk to put you in a quiet room, especially on a Saturday night. Bring ear plugs if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bsjang89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramelton, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

Great hotel right in the centre of town. The staff were wonderful. Food was great and lovely cocktails served in the bar! The decor was very modern but also very comfortable. Just a great all-round experience and I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel for a trip to Killarney. I know where we will be booking if we go back to this lovely part of the county.

Room Tip: Ask for the 3rd floor - there is a balcony on this floor nice to sit and watch the world go by.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moira w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
icork
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

FIrstly the postives - this hotel is just beautiful. The decor , warmth , comfort of this hotel are top notch. The bar is lovely and does fantastic coctails. You can use the leisure facilities of the Killarney park hotel across the road which is top class. Had lunch in the bar and the food was very good. But the best thing about this hotel is the staff , they are all so professional and friendly, they are a credit to the hotel

Now the negative (only 1) - The noise at night outside the hotel is just terrible. We were in room 210 which was right over head two pubs smoking areas and at 5pm on a saturday evening we knew we wouldnt sleep a wink. So the nice reception lady moved us to 303 which is at the front of the hotel. This room was an improvement but still very noisy with the binge drinkers and revellers out front. I was woken several times throughout the night and had a very restless sleep

Now you might consider me an old fogie but in my opinion when you pay 150 euro for a room in Killarney then you should be able to sleep. The excuse that its "saturday night" just doesnt cut it. Its not my fault that its saturday night. Its not the hotels fault either but they can do something about it ... install sound proof windows. If i pay 150 euro for one night then i expect to be able to sleep , in what ever hotel / city i would be in.

A note should also be put on the hotel website about the noise because no way should a family book a room here at the weekend.

If the rooms were quiet then i would give this a 5 for sure but as it stands its only a 3 and i wont be returning , especially at the weekend until the noise issue is resolved. Its just not worth 150 euro

Room Tip: Not sure there are any rooms that dont have noise problems
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mikeleahy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRossHotel, Manager at The Ross, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Dear Mike,

Many thanks for your very honest review which I really appreciate.

I am delighted with your positives of the hotel which all relate to inside the hotel doors which we have control over!

Regarding the noise issue on a Saturday night in a busy tourist town like Killarney, this unfortunately is a nuisance, I completely agree even with our double glazed windows. While our location is the best in town, it is difficult for us to control noise outside our building. This past month, the laneway nearby has also been closed which has shifted more traffic down our laneway, again which has not helped matters.

We do try to notify as many people as possible who book on a Saturday night what to expect of our location.

Many thanks again Mike for your review.

Best wishes,

Ciara
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.1 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 39 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,316 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#6 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,099 reviews
0.0 mi away
International Hotel Killarney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#7 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,005 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Malton Hotel
The Malton Hotel
#14 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,061 reviews
3.0 mi away
Killeen House Hotel
Killeen House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Aghadoe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ross? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ross

Property: The Ross
Address: Rossbay Ross Road, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#3 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#10 Family Hotel in Killarney
#12 Business Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ross 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ross is perfectly situated in the famously scenic south west of Ireland. A seamless fusion of luxury and cool, The Ross provides the services and amenities of a luxury hotel within a stylish and chic environment. The 29 bedroomed Ross is also home to the dramatic Cellar One Restaurant and The Lane - a hip and lively cafe bar. Just steps from Killarney National Park, local bars and restaurants, The Ross is simply the best address in town! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TravelUp and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ross reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ross Hotel Killarney
Ross Hotel Killarney
Ross Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing