We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great staff and bed/shower”
Review of The Ross

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Ross
Ranked #4 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 January 2014

The hotel is trendy with amazing staff that are always smiling and ready to help you. The bed was amazingly comfortable, and the shower was large with great water pressure. My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights and thoroughly enjoyed it!

Stayed: October 2013
Thank Leki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRossHotel, Manager at The Ross, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Dear Leki,

We really apprecitate the great review - thanks so much. We will pass on your praise of the team to everyone. We are delighted the room worked for you also.
Another time then....

Le meas,

Ciara
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (938)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

519 - 525 of 938 reviews

Reviewed 25 January 2014

Only dined in the bar, Often go her for a meal when in Killarney. Good atmosphere and mixed age groups, the young staff very helpful The Ross has been transformed over the years think general opinion is its a good place to go. \\ The food is very good and the bars staff are fun to watch making cocktails...you want food and fun go to The Ross.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank raymondmccaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRossHotel, Manager at The Ross, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Dear crunchieDublin,

Thanks for the review. I think you summed The Ross up very well - food and fun! We are all about the fun and will contiunue to encourage it. Hope to see you again soon.

Le meas,

Ciara
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014 via mobile

Friendly staff on arrival, room was very adequate. We chose to eat on the hotels restaurant and were impressed. Very enjoyable meal and we had a drink in the hotel bar afterwards which got quite busy. Very central. Great location.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LorriMcO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRossHotel, Manager at The Ross, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Dear LorriMcO,

Thanks for your great review of 4 stars. We are glad you enjoyed The Ross and Cellar One our restaurant. We hope to see you soon.

Le meas,

Ciara
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Spend 3 nights at The Ross and enjoyed it a lot. Located in the heart of Killarney, the hotel is very modern but cozy designed and offers a nice mixture of old and modern. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. We booked a junior suite and were not disappointed. The room was huge, with nice fireplace and comfortable bed, couch and armchairs.
The breakfast buffet was absolutely fabulous! Everything was very fresh and perfect presented.


We cannot recommend the hotel highly enough and would stay at The Ross again when visit Killarney.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucentis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRossHotel, Manager at The Ross, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Dear Lucentis,

Happy New Year to you! Thanks for the great review. Myself and the team are delighted The Ross was a winner for you. We hope to see you again soon.

Le meas,

Ciara
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

I admit I was a bit skeptical when I first arrived and asked to see the room before deciding to stay as we had changed from another hotel we weren't happy with. The room we were given was beautiful, a very large suite, with a king bed and a very comfy sitting area. I admit that is was a little noisy, but the comfort of the room, and the quality of service we received far exceeded that issue. I travel with ear plugs and I slept amazing! It was one of the nicest hotels we stayed in during our 5 week trip to Europe! I highly recommend it along with the very good food we had in the restaurant and the bar.

Room Tip: Suites are the way to go
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lovelovetotravel33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRossHotel, Manager at The Ross, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Dear Lovelovelovetotravel33,

Thanks for your great review and compliments of our hotel. We are thrilled you enjoyed our bedroom right through to our breakfast. I hope you enjoyed your trip overall to Europe. We hope to see you again another time soon,

Le meas,

Ciara
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Stayed for 1st time in The Ross. Fantastic location right in the heart of everything. Rooms are nicely presented, good colour choices, but somehow felt a little on the cold side. Beds are top class and really comfortable.
On the down side, if you're there at the weekend be prepared for noise from the bar area until late, as other reviews have said. And the shower... A great size which is welcome, but the water pressure was dreadful. And management, might you consider running breakfast later than 10 am on the weekends, especially if noise has kept guests awake till late on Sat night? I decided to give it a miss as a result.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Guest64Dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRossHotel, Manager at The Ross, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2013

Dear Guest64Dublin,

Thanks for your review and your great comments.

Im sorry to hear about your shower. We usually have great pressure. Its unfortunate you didnt advise us we would had this recified for you. Regarding breakfast we serve until after 10am in cellar one and then serve brunch in the lane cafe bar from 11am for people who miss breakfast. Should you stay again, please contact me directly and I will make sure you have a fabulous stay with breakfast and a great shower!
Many thanks,

Ciara
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Stayed at this hotel with a group of friends. The hotel itself is lovely in a fabulous location and food in the hotel is good. However, a few of the serving staff would need to take extensive customer service courses. We had dinner in the hotel and their attitude was a little frosty to say the least. I had breakfast by myself the following morning and was seated near the kitchen door and heard one of the serving staff saying very derogatory things about my party.
I work in an educational institution that teaches customer service among other things. I highly recommend that management in this hotel get these staff up skilled in this area as well as briefing them about acting in a professional capacity.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FDuncan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRossHotel, Manager at The Ross, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Dear FDuncan,

Thanks for your response. I think there may be a miss communication here and I would like to discuss further with you directly if at all possible? My number here at the hotel is 064-6631855.

Many thanks,

Ciara Treacy
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.1 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
1,474 reviews
0 mi away
International Hotel Killarney
1.4 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#8 of 38 in Killarney
2,388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Killeen House Hotel & Rozzers Restaurant
0.8 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#9 of 38 in Killarney
2,327 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Malton Hotel
The Malton Hotel
#16 of 38 in Killarney
2,314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ross? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ross

Address: East Avenue, Killarney V93 A2X2, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#3 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#12 Business Hotel in Killarney
Price Range: £96 - £178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ross 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ross is perfectly situated in the famously scenic south west of Ireland. A seamless fusion of luxury and cool, The Ross provides the services and amenities of a luxury hotel within a stylish and chic environment. The 29 bedroomed Ross is also home to the dramatic Cellar One Restaurant, The Lane - a hip and lively cafe bar and the Pink Lounge, which is home to 50 different types of Gin from all over the world. Just steps from Killarney National Park, local bars and restaurants, The Ross is simply the best address in town! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Ross reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ross Hotel Killarney
Ross Hotel Killarney
Ross Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing