We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Little Hotel With A Big Heart”
Review of The Ross

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Ross
Ranked #4 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 May 2014

The location of the Ross Hotel is perfect - central with just a two minute walk to the town centre but positioned so the hustle and bustle of Killarney does not affect the internal ambience and tranquility. Internally the hotel is quirky but is a masterpiece of modern design with much use made of glass and mirrors, light and shade, wood and stone. The furnishings throughout are top quality. We were fortunate to stay in a suite on the third floor with lush, deeply piled carpets, enormous twin beds and a large bathroom that was both practical and visually stunning. The public rooms are all of a modern design and the restaurant in the basement is a feast for the eyes. The hotel has a lift to all floors and even a stairlift for less mobile guests. Never seen that in a hotel before but it typifies the caring and thoughtful nature of the hotel management.

We had breakfast every day in the restaurant and the choice at the buffet table was superb, with fresh fruits, juices, pastries and cereals. The menu choices too were excellent with continental options, cooked dishes including the ubiquitous full Irish and a range of other dishes. Special mention for Emer, who every day proved to be a little ray of sunshine and attended to our needs with professional ease, yet with grace and good humour. We ate twice in the restaurant in the evening and the food and service was exemplary. The chef, Ian, has a very deft touch and provides a very tasty plate which was both culinary and visually stimulating.
The cocktail bar at street level is very popular and produces some of the most exotic drinks you will ever experience. Patio heaters are placed above the external tables for the comfort of customers.

The Reception Team take customer care to the highest possible levels. Always smiling, the team of Ciara, Marzena, Eleanor, Eileen and Martina are delightful, helpful and always prepared to assist in any way. They are not just wonderful ambassadors for the Ross Hotel but for Killarney and Irish hospitality. Other hotels take note - this is how you do customer service!

Special mention to the Housekeeping staff, who mostly unseen, keep the hotel spic and span and maintain the bedrooms and public areas. Clearly they take immense pride in their work and their efforts do not go unnoticed.

If you are thinking about going to Killarney, consider the Ross - all the comforts and attributes of a five star hotel (you can use the spa at the Killarney Park across the road free of charge) with people looking after you who really care. We just loved it.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aptalsteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRossHotel, Manager at The Ross, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

Dear apatalsteve.

Thank you so much for your heartfelt and thorough review. I am so thrilled that you and Gill enjoyed your few nights with us. What we are blown away is your special mention of the team here at The Ross. Reviews like this show us we are on the right path and helps to keep us focussed on the job at hand.

Thanks again for staying with us and please contact me me again Steve should you wish to escape for another birthday weekend.

Best wishes from sunny Killarney,

Ciara
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (946)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

488 - 494 of 946 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2014

We stayed in a suite on the 3rd floor - it was fabulous, furnished with style and very spacious.We could walk around the corner to bars, restaurants and entertainment. Staff were friendly and helpful. Parking and leisure facilities were in another (5 star) hotel a few hundred yards away but it was worth the short walk to make use the pool, sauna, jacuzzi and outdoor hot-tub.

Room Tip: Room 310 was the height of luxury - it is a suite. If you're a light sleeper and not partaking i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PJ J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRossHotel, Manager at The Ross, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Dear PJ-NI,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of The Ross. Im delighted that the location was great for you. We are in the heart of the town centre and also just across the road from the National Park so early morning joggers or walkers can take in the incredible National Park all too themselves yet they dont need a car.

Its great to note that the health and leisure facilities of the Killarney Park, our big sister hotel worked a treat for you also.

We might see you down again another time.

Best wishes,

Ciara
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

I can't say enough about this hotel,from the moment we arrived it was heaven! While I've been to the hotel before it was my first time staying there,it's so stylish & comfortable & the bar is fab,I didn't try the cocktails this time but I have before & they're gorgeous. The staff are really friendly & helpful,the room I had was spacious,luxurious & the bed was probably the most comfortable bed I've slept in!! The bathroom is spacious too with a double shower & the little products smell beautiful! I have nothing negative to say about my stay here & I can't wait to stay here again!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carriebeebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRossHotel, Manager at The Ross, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Dear Carriebeebee,

Thanks for your awesome review. We love the comment about our beds. We would agree with you they are super comfortable! Lets hope we see you back here again soon.

Le meas,

Ciara Treacy
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

I stayed in the Ross hotel with a group of my friends last weekend, the 3rd of May 2014. I cannot recommend this hotel enough. The hotel is amazing, the staff could not do enough for us during out stay. They went over and above to ensure that we had an enjoyable stay. We dined in the restaurant that evening and the food was exceptional. I cannot thank Ciara, and the girls at reception enough. The Ross hotel is the perfect location to celebrate any occasion.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dinglesleaheadtours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRossHotel, Manager at The Ross, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Dear Dinglesleaheadtours,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review here of the Ross. We were absoutley delighted to have the Dingle contingent stay with us last weekend and all the staff commented on how lovely your group were so thank you for that. Enjoy the wedding and hopefully we will see you here in the not too distant future.

Have a lovely summer.

Le meas,

Ciara Treacy
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

I stayed at the Ross hotel on May weekend 2014 with a group of friends and cannot speak more highly about the hotel. The service is that of a 5 star and the friendly, accommodating staff could not do enough for my group and I. The hotel location is fantastic, in the center of Killarney town and the views from the rooms are great. The evening meal was superb and equally, the breakfast was of a very high quality with great choice. The reception, restaurant and night porter staff offered great service. Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank May0320142014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRossHotel, General Manager at The Ross, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Dear May0320142014,

Delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the Ross here last weekend. Thanks so much for taking the time to post a review. We hope that you might have a reunion with the gang at another stage and we would love to have you all stay with us again!

Best wishes,

Ciara
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

The Ross is a small boutique hotel situated right in the centre of Kilarney and decorated in an innovative quirky style. For some reason we booked a junior suite rather than a standard room and am I glad we did. A lovely room at the front of the hotel with a separate lounge area and fireplace. It was so nice we wished we could have stayed longer as there is a lot to do in Kilarney. The hotel staff were very helpful and the breakfast we had was delightful. As it situated close to the centre if town parking can be a problem, but there is plenty of public parking available close by. We would thoroughly re comment this hotel, it's one go the nicest we have stayed in in Ireland. If you are looking for traditional Irish meals we can recommend the Laurels as a place that has great Irish meals

Room Tip: Choose a junior suite, the additional cost is worthwhile
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stewart B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRossHotel, General Manager at The Ross, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Dear Stewart B,

Thanks for your review and we wished you could have stayed longer too! We are really happy that you were impressed by our junior suite and it fitted your needs nicely. Breakfast in The Ross we believe should be the best possible for a great start to the day and we are very happy you enjoyed this too.

Safe travelling around the rest of Europe.

Best wishes,

Ciara
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

The Ross provides and intimate and quirky atmosphere from the minute you enter the hotel! The staff were so friendly and helpful and even upgraded our room (this proves how booking through the hotel by phone is much more beneficial than through budget sites as they don't add nice personal touches and extras). The rooms were spotless and were cleaned immaculately during our stay as we aren't the tidiest pair. The beds were so comfortable!! The cocktail bar is the best in town. The food in the cellar restaurant was delicious!! The choices were divine and it is a great choice for the fish lover! Presentation and everything was done to perfection! Cannot fault a thing with the restaurant! Overall this is a must stay if you want to be in the centre of things and stay in a lush boutique setting! Only downside was our room and no tea making facilities!! Would definitely return!! X

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grainneoc91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRossHotel, General Manager at The Ross, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Dear GrainneOC,

Thank you for your fantastic review. We are delighted you enjoyed The Ross. We are thrilled with the special mention of Cellar One, we do indeed have a large variety of fish options and chef Ian and his team work really hard using the best local ingredients to make our dishes shine through taste and presentation.
We have tea and coffee facilities available on request. We will make special note to have these in your room should you stay again.

Best wishes,

Ciara
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.1 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
1,492 reviews
0 mi away
International Hotel Killarney
0.8 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#7 of 38 in Killarney
2,361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Killarney Royal
Killarney Royal
#11 of 38 in Killarney
1,008 reviews
0.2 mi away
Great Southern Killarney
Great Southern Killarney
#15 of 38 in Killarney
2,357 reviews
3 mi away
Killeen House Hotel & Rozzers Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ross? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ross

Address: East Avenue, Killarney V93 A2X2, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#3 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#12 Business Hotel in Killarney
Price Range: £93 - £206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ross 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ross is perfectly situated in the famously scenic south west of Ireland. A seamless fusion of luxury and cool, The Ross provides the services and amenities of a luxury hotel within a stylish and chic environment. The 29 bedroomed Ross is also home to the dramatic Cellar One Restaurant, The Lane - a hip and lively cafe bar and the Pink Lounge, which is home to 50 different types of Gin from all over the world. Just steps from Killarney National Park, local bars and restaurants, The Ross is simply the best address in town! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Ross reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ross Hotel Killarney
Ross Hotel Killarney
Ross Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing