We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Ross

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Ross
Ranked #4 of 39 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Limerick
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2009

I have just returned from a one night business stay in the Ross and found it to be the perfect working retreat. The rooms are spacious with lovely modern decor, the bathrooms are spotless with an interesting window between the bath and bedroom! The breakfast was indulgently delicious, I had cinnamon museli followed by salmon on a bagel with cream cheese - refreshing move from the conventional fry or cornflakes! Staff are friendly and accomodating and the location is perfect- right in the heart of the town. My only reservation was that use of the leisure facilities incurs a charge of 10euro per person. This is not stipulated in their brochures or website and I was dissapointed to hear of this unexpected charge to what is quite a basic gym in their sister hotel. overall though a great hotel

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tippitchyfeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

868 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    718
    126
    17
    5
    2
See reviews for
114
394
21
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Wake Forest, North Carolina
Level Contributor
159 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2009

My wife and I just got back from an 8 day vacation in Ireland. On our 4th day, we slept at The Ross hotel in Killarney. We left with nothing but great impressions of the hotel. We arrived late in the afternoon to the boutique hotel. After taking in our bags, I was told that I could park (for free) down the street at their sister hotel. While I was parking the car, my wife was treated to a cup of tea and cookies by the hotel staff - a nice perk! We then were led up to our suite on the second floor. The room itself was fantastic. It was very roomy, and had great views overlooking the busy street in front of the hotel. The modern decor was tasteful, not tacky, and the comfortable room and bed led to a great stay. We also enjoyed drinks and dessert later that evening in their very trendy bar, which was a great experience. To cap things off we had breakfast in their very fashionable dining room in the morning. The food was quite good. Altogether our stay was fabulous and I would highly recommend the hotel to others!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lilroy0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Navenby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
153 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2009

The incredibly stylish Ross is ideally situated right in the middle of Killarney. Although access is slightly awkward at busy times, free parking is available at the sister hotel, the Killarney Park Hotel, which is merely 200 metres away. Our room was really great, with a supremely comfortable bed. While there was some noise from the bar outside, this was to be expected froma city centre hotel and not overly distracting or annoying - mind you we were out til late! The bar area is amazing, with contemporary design and incredible lighting. The restaurant is also extremely stylish and a wonderful place in which to eat. Unfortunately, the food while beautifully prepared, is simply too complex with far too much going on on the plate. My pork escalope would have been perfect with the wonderful wild mushroom sauce, but the mozarella and herb filling did not complement the sauce. Equally, my partner's chicken was delightfully filled with cheese and basil but there was simply no need for chilli and herbs in the (white?) polenta. Breakfast, however, was superb. We would stay here again if in Killarney, but plan to eat elsewhere - but please don't let that put you off!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WanderingIslander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
co.clare
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2009

Just back from a much awaited weekend in Killarney our first since having baby 7 months ago,but alas im more tired now than i was when i left here last friday!!!!first impressions of the Ross are good,staff,food all lovely.........but then it went downhill we were put in rm 308 and even in early evening i could hear the street below but being optomistic said to myself it would quieten down.how wrong i was.the Courtney bar at side of hotel has live music til 2am but even after that the drunken occupants stayed roaring&shouting til 4 or 5am.i rang reception twice-no joy.Next morning we were offered a different room but frankly a different county would have been more appropriate.
Eventually we came to an agreement we would stay in their sister hotel The Killarney Park.for a 5 star the rooms are very average but again terrific staff esp.Norma.
but again no sleep,we were in room 358 but you came still hear the music form the function room and some brats were let loose,probably by drunken irish parents,to run up and down the corridor playing at 1am!!!!! and i might add even after all this stress we didnt get 1 penny off our bill.never again........only suitable for stgs,hens or the deaf.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank spud0972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
80 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2009

The first place I have ever stayed that I have have not one negative thing to say about . Beautiful hotel and amazing decor. Ate in restaurant and bar, both great. have already recommended it to all my friends

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingAnnie007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belfast
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2009

Stayed here for 2 night mid-week break with dinner on a tour of ireland. Nicest hotel by far out of 6. Decor very modern, lovely lounge, bar and restaurant. Rooms good size and again decor lovely. Staff very friendly and efficient. Food in restaurant was really good and we enjoyed our meal there. Also ate in bar, again food really good and bar staff very helful. would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Killarney. Great location, though a bit difficult to unload your luggage. No parking at hotel although parking availabe at sister hotel just across the road.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anonBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2009

Arrived after long drive & longer traffic jams to this gem. We just loved the decor,so fresh & vital and the smallest details attended to,another reviewer says 'blown away' & that describes our reaction too. Stayed in the suite,tempting us not to move out the door! Terrific location & as leisure facilities across the road were available to us,we checked these out and you can be assured of same high standard.
The food...well we're real foodies and actually did something we NEVER do,we ate there both nights! Delicious! I can still taste the chillie & mango(fresh) dressing that came with my lovely salmon!
Kerry hospitality at its best from all the staff. Your loss if you stay elsewhere!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kate-the-red
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.1 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 39 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,318 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#6 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,097 reviews
0.0 mi away
International Hotel Killarney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#7 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,003 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Malton Hotel
The Malton Hotel
#14 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,059 reviews
3.0 mi away
Killeen House Hotel
Killeen House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Aghadoe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ross? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ross

Property: The Ross
Address: Rossbay Ross Road, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#3 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#10 Family Hotel in Killarney
#12 Business Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ross 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ross is perfectly situated in the famously scenic south west of Ireland. A seamless fusion of luxury and cool, The Ross provides the services and amenities of a luxury hotel within a stylish and chic environment. The 29 bedroomed Ross is also home to the dramatic Cellar One Restaurant and The Lane - a hip and lively cafe bar. Just steps from Killarney National Park, local bars and restaurants, The Ross is simply the best address in town! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ross reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ross Hotel Killarney
Ross Hotel Killarney
Ross Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing