We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable”
Review of The Ross

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Ross
Ranked #4 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 July 2010

My husband and I are just back from a weekend staying in the Ross Hotel. I would agree with all the reviewers before me regarding staff, dining etc, it was excellent. I would like to add though that when you are booking the hotel you must consider that it is in the centre of town, and that can have its advantages and disadvantages. For us the disadvantage was that we stayed in room 309, and it overlooked a bar in the lane at the back of the hotel. We really didn't get much sleep with all the noise that that entails, especially as people were drinking and smoking outside the bar into the late hours. (Just to add we didn't go to bed until 12.30 or 1am, but I think thats earlyish in Killarney!) We could also hear all the noise from the hotel bar, which seems to be 'the place to be' for the younger crowd. All in all though we did enjoy our stay. I had a fab massage and facial in the Hotel Killarney Park, which I would highly recommend. But if I was to stay again, maybe I would go midweek, as I guess that would be a quieter time, given that the bars close earlier and the weekends seem to be very busy with stag and hen parties.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (950)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

844 - 850 of 950 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2010

I've just returned from a fantastic stay at The Ross Hotel in Killarney. A group of us spent the weekend there to celebrate my sister's hen, and we couldn't have asked for a better hotel.

From the outset, the staff couldn't have been more helpful in assisting me with all of the arrangements and organising the rooms (special mention to Anita!!). I rang them on very short notice when previously booked accommodation fell through, and they really made all of the (re)arrangements so much easier. On arrival we were made to feel very welcome, and we were even more pleased when we saw the rooms, which were very comfortable and inviting. Breakfast on both mornings was excellent with loads of choice and great service. We ate in the hotel restaurant on the Saturday evening and again everyone was delighted with the menu options and the quality of the food.

A few of us used the pool and hot tub facilities in the Park Hotel across the road and there were a number of facials and massages that received glowing reviews.

All in all The Ross is an excellent choice for a weekend in Killarney. It's in a great central location, has beautiful, comfortable rooms and the staff are amongst the friendliest and most helpful I've every encountered. I should also mention the bar food which was good enough to lure us back in for brunch after we checked out on Sunday!! I'm already planning a return trip!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aoifeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2010

Have just spent 4 nights at the Ross and everyone of our party of 12 golfers was enthusing about the place from the size of the rooms,the quality of the food in the restaurants to the buzz in the bar but most of all about the friendly helpful staff.We will be back.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brigadier8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2010

My friend and I were traveling through Ireland with no plan other than to see everything we could in 3 days, 1 of which was spent in Kilarney. From the moment we entered the hotel, I knew we were going to have a blast! The hotel staff was more than accomodating with our luggage, to showing us the hotel, and suggesting what to see on our way to the next adventure. The rooms were gorgeous and would stay there over and over again. From the comfortableness of the beds to waking up of the clickty-click of the horse and carriage in front of our hotel exuded passion and romance. It was the one of the best experiences! Thank you The Ross!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jackie6680
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2010

What a wonderful start to our honeymoon. The 'team' at the Ross made us feel so welcome and were so helpful. A special thank you to Eleanor and Marcus and the other lovely people we got to know in the bar and on reception. The complimentary upgrade to a Suite on the 3rd floor was stunning. The use of the Spa and Dining facilities at the sister hotel made the stay even more special - where the staff were equally attentive to every detail. The Ross is a very special base in the heart of Killarney - you certainly know you are in Ireland - the people are so friendly. We are already planning our next trip - to the same lovely place!!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cliff_and_Mon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2010

I visited the Ross as part of a large group of girls for a Hen party. The hotel staff were fantastic and made us feel very welcome, which is not always the way for such groups. We felt like VIP's for the whole weekend. The Hotel it's self is lovely with modern finish and a high standard through out. The rooms were lovely and the beds were really comfy! No tea /coffee making facilities though which was a bit unusual. We also had a wonderful dinner at the hotel as part of the weekend deal, the food was absolutely gorgeous and the wine was very reasonable. Over all the service from the staff, quality of the food, central location and the finish of the hotel make the Ross a great choice for the weekend.

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fraz17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2010

I had the pleasure of staying at the Ross Hotel in May 2010. In total there were 12 of us staying in the hotel for a Hen Party and the hotel staff could not have been more accommodating.
Every aspect of our stay was taken care of by Eleanor, manager. The total price of our stay included Tapas, a cocktail making lesson, a champagne reception before dinner, a three-course meal and breakfast the next day.
It was a brilliant weekend and was made all the better by the hotel, which is just fab. We had nothing but praise for the facilities and staff and would have no hesitation recommending it to others. Brilliant!

  • Stayed: May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melfort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0 mi away
International Hotel Killarney
0.1 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
1,502 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#7 of 38 in Killarney
2,386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Killarney Royal
Killarney Royal
#12 of 38 in Killarney
1,012 reviews
0.2 mi away
Great Southern Killarney
Great Southern Killarney
#15 of 38 in Killarney
2,383 reviews
3.5 mi away
Loch Lein Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ross? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ross

Address: East Avenue, Killarney V93 A2X2, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#3 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#12 Business Hotel in Killarney
Price Range: £101 - £209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ross 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ross is perfectly situated in the famously scenic south west of Ireland. A seamless fusion of luxury and cool, The Ross provides the services and amenities of a luxury hotel within a stylish and chic environment. The 29 bedroomed Ross is also home to the dramatic Cellar One Restaurant, The Lane - a hip and lively cafe bar and the Pink Lounge, which is home to 50 different types of Gin from all over the world. Just steps from Killarney National Park, local bars and restaurants, The Ross is simply the best address in town! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Ross reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ross Hotel Killarney
Ross Hotel Killarney
Ross Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing