We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Gem in the heart of Killarney!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ross

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Ross
Ranked #4 of 39 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Monaghan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Gem in the heart of Killarney!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2010

Really loved this very modern hotel. Decor was ultra chic!!, Staff could not have been nicer or done more to help us enjoy our stay. Room was fab and the food was yummy!! Had the nicest ever strawberry dacquiri, and not over priced either! Will def stay in this hotel if we ever return to Killarney.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MonaghanDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

858 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    710
    124
    17
    5
    2
See reviews for
112
387
21
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cork
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2010

Just back from a fantasic night in The Ross Hotel. We had a fab room and as it was Halloween night the atmosphere and decor in the Pub was unreal! Everybody dressed up for the occassion. We used the Killarney Park leisure centre and thoroughly enjoyed it. Thanks, Mary & Mike

Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank maryryanCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monmouth Beach, New Jersey
Level Contributor
98 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2010

We loved the Ross Hotel and everything else about our stay in Killarney! It was one of our favorite spots in Ireland. The hotel is a charming gem! More people need to know about it!! It's in an ideal location across from Killarney Natl Park. The rooms are really comfortable, hip and spacious. The decor in the rooms, lobby, bar and restaurant is hip and trendy with a comfortable vibe. We loved the food and dined often in the bar. The breakfasts, which are included, are exceptional. And the staff - Kiara, Mary and Eileen in particular - were so wonderful to us we were truly sad to leave them. And since the hotel is the sister property to the Killarney Park, you get the amenities of a larger 5 star property - spa, gym, parking, etc. All in all, it exceeded our expectations.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GMM0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travel_GalKerry, Manager at The Ross, responded to this review, 1 November 2010
Dear GMMO,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review of our hotel and indeed for choosing to stay with us at The Ross.
It was great to read that you enjoyed your recent stay. We are delighted to hear the wonderful comments especially regarding our staff as this is incredibly important to us.
We hope to see you again soon and I hope you missed all the fuss regarding the Midterm Elections over in NJ !
Best wishes,
Ciara
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irealnd
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2010

Have just returned home after a weekend at the Ross with a large group and have to say our experience was fantastic. We were taken aback at how pleasant and helpful all the staff were, which made the stay so much nicer. The food in the restaurant was top notch, the rooms beautifully appointed and the location, in the heart of the town fantastic. Well worth a stay!

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fitzy777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2010

Just arrived home after our night in The Ross. We loved it. As there was a mid-week deal, we decided to treat ourselves to a suite (€50 extra). Delighted we did. From the moment we arrived, we started to unwind. The staff, for the duration of our stay were friendly, helpful and down to earth, even though they were in one of the trendiest hotels I've ever been in. The interior designer responsible for hotels decor is a genious. It's chic, modern and daring, but relaxing and warm. The suite was more muted than the common areas...contemporary with some original features....namely the two huge sash bay windows. It was also spotless. The carpet looked as if it had just been laid. The only reason this hotel isn't a 5 star, is because it doesn't have a spa, but you can use the spa/pool in the sister hotel accross the road (also lovely). I can't believe I've never heard of this hotel before, even though I only live an hour away. We'll definately be back

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RabidMongoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level Contributor
83 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2010

This was a nice hotel close to the city centre. Unusual car park across the road at another hotel. No car parking out the front of the Ross. Had to go over the road and walk back with luggage. Hotel itself is very nice. The staff were excellent. Young lady at front desk very friendly and helpful. Rooms very nice and sa good size. Rooms were clean and nice bathroom.
Only trouble was a lot of noise from pub next door until about 12.30am on a Sunday night.

Otherwise a good hotel and would recommend.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CoveCobra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2010

Great welcome, friendly helpful staff in all departments. Couldn't fault it! Onerecent review remarked on lack of tea/coffee facilities in bedroom, but all you need to do is ask and you shall receive! Lovely spotless bathroom. Can't wait to go there again.
Charlotte in Berkshire + sisters in Ireland.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lottie42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.1 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 39 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#6 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,069 reviews
0.0 mi away
International Hotel Killarney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Malton Hotel
The Malton Hotel
#14 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,029 reviews
1.4 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#9 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,940 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Fairview
The Fairview
#17 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ross? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ross

Property: The Ross
Address: Rossbay Ross Road, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#3 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#10 Family Hotel in Killarney
#12 Business Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ross 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ross is perfectly situated in the famously scenic south west of Ireland. A seamless fusion of luxury and cool, The Ross provides the services and amenities of a luxury hotel within a stylish and chic environment. The 29 bedroomed Ross is also home to the dramatic Cellar One Restaurant and The Lane - a hip and lively cafe bar. Just steps from Killarney National Park, local bars and restaurants, The Ross is simply the best address in town! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TravelUp, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your The Ross reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ross Hotel Killarney
Ross Hotel Killarney
Ross Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing