We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly recommend” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Plaza Bar & Grill

Plaza Bar & Grill
Ranked #89 of 182 Restaurants in Killarney
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, International, European, Pub
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Highly recommend”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

We went for a short holiday and stayed in the Killarney Plaza. We decided to grab a quick bite in the plaza bar and we were highly surprised. The food was excellent and the staff were very efficient, friendly and tolerant of our two noisy children! We ate there two further times and the service and food was great each time. Portions are very generous and in all I would recommend this to anybody looking for good food that is reasonably priced.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Caroline D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    15
    5
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Surprised by this restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

My husband and I enjoyed our last evening in Killarney, a quiet Sunday evening, with a delicious dinner and a bottle of wine at the hotel.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Travelalot79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Poor Service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

We ate in the bar and were having a few drinks after that. Then the bill was deposited on our table without a word. The fact is we wanted to have another drink. When I complained, the head guy said that's the way they finish off the fact that they have finished serving food (as if that was of some importance to me). When I said I felt like they didn't want our business even though we were staying at the hotel he began to argue with me! Doh! We just left.

Add to that the fact that although the bar was hardly crowded, we had to wait and then waive to get service.

This is a nice hotel, and the staff on the front desk are really helpful. Bottom line, stay here and have your dinner and a drink somewhere else.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

We stayed in Killarney two nights over Valentines! Unfortunately we didn't get to stay in this hotel but we will definitely be staying here if we return. We did have a delicious meal and some drinks Valentines night. The food was absolutely delicious, we both ordered the Chicken burger, it was so tasty and a great size portion for the price. The service was prompt and the staff were so friendly, great service! The atmosphere also made the night aswell, as the hotel we were staying in serious lacked the Valentines busy atmosphere. One of the staff members also mentioned she had spent all day looking for the heart shaped candle holders, that were such a great idea alongside the rose petals on the tables, definitely worth it! :D Beautiful hotel,we thoroughly enjoyed our time here and very reasonably priced.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ciwi2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
130 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Wonderful lunch.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

Three of us stopped into the Killarney Plaza Bar & Grill for lunch and we were all very pleased with the room, the service, and the food. We were seated at a table right inside the window at the corner so we were able to view the action on the street as well as the beautiful staircase inside the hotel. It was by far the best table in the house for three weary travelers, who simply had to take a break from a fun, but hectic day, without missing anything!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank nairb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Plaza Bar & Grill also viewed

 
Killarney, County Kerry
 

Been to Plaza Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing