We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious food and fantastic trad music” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Jarvey's Rest Traditional Irish Pub

The Jarvey's Rest Traditional Irish Pub
Ranked #21 of 182 Restaurants in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$27
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, European, Pub, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Jarvey's Rest Traditional Irish Pub is located in the heart of Killarney National Park. The pub is a landmark pub in Co. Kerry and serves the best of Irish Food. Enjoy a wide selection of drinks including craft Irish beers, whiskies and Irish coffee. Enjoy live entertainment on Tuesdays, Wednesdays, Thursdays, Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays.
Edina, Minnesota
Level Contributor
48 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Delicious food and fantastic trad music”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

We ate here on our first night upon recommendation from our B&B hostess up the road (Friars Glen - also excellent!), and we're so glad we did. Enjoyed fantastic fish and chips and fish stew with hearty brown bread, but truly loved the treat of the traditional music and dancing. Would stop again!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank MNTraveler_wKids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

628 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    320
    185
    64
    33
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
essex
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Irish Night”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

Wow amazing night. Food was excellent and entertainment was lovely - Irish traditional music, singing and dancing after the meal. Thoroughly enjoyed the night

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank territandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coconut Creek, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Yummy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

The food was amazing. I had the Lentil Pie with Root Vegetables. Yummy is the best way to explain it. Also had the dessert platter which was delectable.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank tfoldessy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clonmel, Ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great fish and chips”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Lovely old pub atmosphere with good music and good food. Pints are quiet good also !!If your staying in the hotel beside it you will enjoy the craic with the other tourists coming and going.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Irish Nights a complete unticlimax”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We were so looking forward to this night and we were so left down.
The meal was like something that you would get out of a packed and re-heated in a microwave.
The group was trying to bite time by speaking for too long about the instruments as if they did not have enough music material to play.
Also what they played was not uplifting as you would expect in an Irish night show where your legs should be moving to the music even without you knowing it.
The dancers were ok but doing 1 dance and disappearing to come back then after a while for another one and disappearing again.
We left before the end of the first half like lots of other tourists.
To understand what a Irish night should be like a good example of same is Bunratty Barn's Irish nights

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Natascia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Jarvey's Rest Traditional Irish Pub also viewed

 
Killarney, County Kerry
Killarney, County Kerry
 
Killarney, County Kerry
Killarney, County Kerry
 

Been to The Jarvey's Rest Traditional Irish Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing