We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Most Enjoyable”
Review of Killarney Royal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Killarney Royal
Ranked #12 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Most Enjoyable”
Reviewed 16 August 2011

Stayed in the Royal Hotel for 3 nights 10th to 13th August. The trip was a present for my mother's 90th birthday. She got a lovely room as requested and she really enjoyed her breakfast in bed each morning. We had dinner on two evenings in the restaurant and it was delicious. The decor in the rooms was first class and the standard of cleanliness top notch. However, the real stars were the staff who were always helpful and polite and very professional. Well done to all of them. We had a lot of fun with the putter and golf ball which are to be found in every room. The hotel is well situated in the centre of the town of Killarney and is within walking distance of all the shops and pubs etc. The only minor complaint was regarding the lack of car park which can be a problem for patrons who have difficulty walking. All in all, it was a really wonderful experience and I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants something a little different.

Room Tip: We asked for a nice room for elderly mother. She got a lovely room on 1st floor, near the lift &...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MTK53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killarneyroyal, Manager at Killarney Royal, responded to this review, 24 August 2011
Dear MTK53,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor, one which was full of very kind comments. I am so glad that your mother enjoyed her stay here with us, especially as it was such a milestone for her. We do try our upmost to accommodate any requests which are asked of us to make your stay that extra bit more comfortable and enjoyable. I will relay your very kind words to all of our team. Such positive comments always boost staff moral.

Again, I would like to thank you for such a wonderfull review and I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Royal Hotel.

Kind Regards,
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

959 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    754
    159
    29
    8
    9
See reviews for
220
440
21
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2011

The Killarney Royal Hotel is a wonderful property.The food is awesome, the team are super friendly and helpful and really are great at giving that true irish welcome.WELL DONE. Keep it up. I love the décor of the hotel, its so warm and cosy.The hotel is old world , and I think that’s what makes it so special. The modern amenities (free wifi, plasma tv ) make it an a1 place to stay. The free parking was a bonus we didn’t expect that due to the Hotel’s central location. The parking lot is 2 mins walk from the Hotel.Our bedroom had a big king size bed super comfy, and the bedroom was perfect for me and my hubby. It was the best nights sleep we had over our vacation. We paid €189 bb for 1 night and it was worth every penny. We are thinking of coming back next year for our family reunion to take exclusive hire of the property. Killarney Royal made our holiday.Cheers

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sara_1072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killarneyroyal, Manager at Killarney Royal, responded to this review, 24 August 2011
Dear Sara_1072,

Firstly I would like to thank you for such a positive review and also for taking the time to do so. It was a pleasure to read from start to finish. I am delighted that you enjoyed our cuisine and that you found your room so comfortable. A good nights sleep is always so important when taking time out from our busy schedules.

I would also like to thank you for your kind words in relation to our staff, I will be sure to pass on your kind comments to the team.

Once again, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay here with us and please contact me personally should you require any information with regard to your family reunion. It would be my pleasure to welcome you and your family here for such a special occasion.

Kind regards,
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2011

Recieved great friendly welcome on arrival and were given lots of tips on the town itself. our room was very spacious and had the most comfortable bed in the world. the room was spotless and beautifully decorated. would heartily recommend this hotel. we will be back!

Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ramblingeire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killarneyroyal, Manager at Killarney Royal, responded to this review, 23 August 2011
Dear ramblingeire,

I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us at the Killarney Royal Hotel. Thank you for your kind words regarding our staff, I will be sure to pass them on to the whole team.
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on tripadvisor and for your positive feedback.
We hope to welcome you back to the Killarney Royal Hotel in the not so distant future.

King Regrds,
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 4 August 2011

The Killarney Royal hotel is really nice with great rooms, we stayed in a suite which was great. The room was very homely and had a touch of class. Food and drink was also great and the staff were helpful.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darmob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killarneyroyal, Manager at Killarney Royal, responded to this review, 8 August 2011
Dear Darmob,

I would like to thank you for your positive review on tripadvisor and also for taking the time to do so. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay here with us, from the cuisine to the accommodation. We strive to create a "home away from home" atmosphere for all of our guests and it was great to read that you captured that essence in your room.

Again thank you for your kind words and I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Royal hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2011

My husband and I spent four wonderful, comfortable nights at the Killarney Royal. Wonderful, professional staff met all of our expectations. The room was clean and the bed and bedding were very comfortable.
Breakfast in the morning was good, the service was perfect and welcoming.
This hotel was in a very central location, yet very quiet for sleeping at night. We would recommend it to our family and friends and would definitely use it on our next visit.

Room Tip: ask for a room in the back, away from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nif22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killarneyroyal, Manager at Killarney Royal, responded to this review, 8 August 2011
Dear Nif22

Firstly I would like to thank you for taking the time to post your review on tripadvisor and also for your very positive feedback. I am delighted that your stay with us was a comfortable and pleasent one, something that is very important while taking time out!

Thank you for your positive comments in relation to all of the staff members. I will be sure to pass on your kind words to them.We also really appreciate ay recommendation you will have for your family and friends and it would be my pleasure to welcome them here to the Killarney Royal.

I hope to welcome you back to the Royal hotel very soon.

Kind Regards,
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2011

the staff were amazing, so nice , plenty of good advise from the minute we walked in, small hotel, but room ( ours anyway ) huge, we had tried to change our booking to family room , but booked out , however pur room could have housed us with room to spare, old style hotel antique furniture , yet two flat screen tvs in our room , which was split , sitting area , couches, chairs tables , golf putters flat screen tv , then down two stairs to bedroom part , large comfortable bed and another flat screen tv, then large bathroom with comp elemis products.. dressing gowns and slippers also there for duration of stay, chocs and bed turn down , ice and watre also refreshed in evenings , plants also lovely in room , just all so nice, breakfast also great , no dry carvery, table service , full fry to order , eggs as you like , kippers, plaice , porridge with honey & fruits, smoked salmon , home made brown bread and lots ots more .. this hotel provides things that are not available in bigger chains , absolutly fab...thankyou and hope to see you soon k & c

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hemints
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killarneyroyal, Manager at Killarney Royal, responded to this review, 8 August 2011
Dear Hemints,

I would like to thank you for choosing the Killarney Royal for your minibreak and for taking the time to post such a wonderfull review of your stay here with us. I was delighted to read that you found your room both comfortable and spacious and also enjoyed our mix of old and new style decor.

It was great to read that you also enjoyed our breakfast. We do try to provide an extensive choice of cuisine on our menu to suit all of our guests.

Again I would like to thank you for your review and it would be my pleasure to welcome you and hopefully your family back to the Killarney Royal in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards,
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2011

Stayed for a quick Saturday night trip, my first time in Killarney, the hotel service was very professional and the rooms were comfortable and well decorated. Breakfast the following morning was excellent. If I was going back I would definitely consider this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gastronomoIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.1 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,338 reviews
0.2 mi away
International Hotel Killarney
0.1 mi away
The Malton Hotel
The Malton Hotel
#14 of 38 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#8 of 38 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,127 reviews
1.5 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#7 of 38 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,061 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Ross
The Ross
#4 of 38 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Killarney Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Killarney Royal

Property: Killarney Royal
Address: College Street, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Killarney
#5 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#11 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#18 Business Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Killarney Royal 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Killarney Royal Hotel is a 4 star luxury property. It is a family run property with 32 individually designed bedrooms. It is located 2 minutes walk from the town centre, railway and bus station. The Killarney Royal Team are with the Scally family for many years and deliver service with pride and passion. It would be our pleasure to welcome you to your 'home away from home'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Killarney Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Killarney Royal Hotel Killarney
Royal Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing