We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you Killarney Royal”
Review of Killarney Royal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Killarney Royal
Ranked #11 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 August 2013

I would like to thank all the staff at Killarney Royal for making our short stay in Killarney a memorable experience. Using previous Trip Adviser comments, I spent a long time choosing our two night stay, and all my planning was well worth it. From the first minute when our car was parked for us, we appreciated the care and attention. Our children still share their excitement about receiving free carnival rides. The family room was fantastic, and the restaurant is superb. The great town-centre locations really makes this hotel one of Killarney's best.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killarneyroyal, Manager at Killarney Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2013

Dear Michelle Z

Thank you ever so much for your kind review on your stay here with us.

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and your review will be passed out to the team so they can read your kind words.

Thanks again Michelle we do hope you & your family come back again in the future.

Kindest Regards,
Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,008)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

587 - 593 of 1,008 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2013

Was part of a group of 12 guys in Ireland for a golfing trip and we stayed at the Killarney Royal for the entire week. The staff and team at the hotel made us feel like family and always treated us with respect and kindness and greeted us by name every time. They tried to make every request we made happen. We couldn't have been happier with the service, the food for breakfast and the fun at the bar. Wholeheartedly recommend the place.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rich-beantown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killarneyroyal, Manager at Killarney Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2013

Dear rich-beantown

Thanks you very much for your great review, the staff here truly are our biggest asset, they are a very kind hard working staff and I am delighted that you were able to stay with us and experience this. We hope you & your group enjoyed the rounds of golf during yer time in Kerry.

We hope to see you back again in the near future

Kind Regards,
Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

The staff was very welcoming! The hotel is right in the heart of the city, everything was within walking distance for us! The hotel was warm, welcoming and very clean and the staff was very helpful. The hotel room was clean, the bed was comfortable. We had a smaller room vs. the previous places we had just traveled from. However it fit our needs just fine as we were there for only one night. Parking was a little ways away, this was the first and only time we had to park far away from our hotel. It was a pain to lug our stuff all the way into the hotel, there isn't much room to park to unload on the busy street, although others were doing that. We are young & able to walk so it really wasn't that big of a deal at all. When we left, we got smart & pulled our car up and the staff helped us load it all back up into the car.

Room Tip: maybe see if there is upgrades for a bigger room if you are staying multiple days, if we were I woul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrea T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killarneyroyal, Manager at Killarney Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2013

Dear Andreat54

First of all let me thank you for writing such a wonderful review on your stay here at the Killarney Royal. We are glad that your stay was comfortable. I am very fortunate to have such a dedicated team to work with.

Customer service is very important to us here, and so I am glad that you got to experience what we have to offer.

In regards to the parking we do advise our guest to stop outside the hotel & we take care of their luggage & their car.

Hopefully, I will have the pleasure of welcoming you through our doors in the near future.

Regards,
Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

An amazing hotel in the centre of Killarney. From the minute you walk into the hotel you are greeted with a warm welcome. The staff are all so friendly and nothing is too much trouble. Had dinner in the restaurant on one of our evenings and the food is top class. Rooms are spotless and the bed very comfortable.
Breakfast is great and because the cooked breakfast is fresh and not your usual hot buffet.
Will be returning to this hotel as soon as possible. I am only just home and I already want to go back!

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank jamieh_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killarneyroyal, Manager at Killarney Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2013

Dear Jamieh_8
Thank you for your sparkling review about your stay at the hotel.

I am delighted to read you had the most enjoyable stay here at the Royal Hotel.
We love to hear that our guests have enjoyed their stay with us and discovered the wonderful treats available at the doorstep of the hotel.

Your kind words have been passed on to our team and we look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us

Kind regards
Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

The location if this hotel coupled with the excellent service and high quality of the food and room makes it an excellent choice. Room was large with classic decor. Bed comfortable. Parking around corner.
Would return and look forward to it!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mariakenny70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killarneyroyal, Manager at Killarney Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2013

Dear Maria
First of all, let me thank you for writing such a wonderful review!
It was such a delightful read from begining to end.

I am thrilled that you had a comfortable stay here at the Royal Hotel & that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay.
Customer service is very important to us here, and so I am glad that you got to experience what we have to offer.

I am especially pleased to know that you will be returing to stay with us and I am looking forward to welcoming ye through the doors again

Kind regards
Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

We weren't staying here, but popped in for a drink and apparently lots of other people had the same idea!-- handsome foyer with lots of seating, very comfortable. There is food available in the bar. Would definitely consider staying here on my next visit

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BodhisattvaHand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killarneyroyal, Manager at Killarney Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2013

Dear BodhisattvaHand

Thank you ever so much for your kind words about the Royal Hotel.

I am extremly happy that you enjoyed your experience here and glad to hear your kind words about the decor of the hotel and that it was a comfortable experience . We always love to make our guest & customers feel at home.

Thank you once again for your kind words
Hopefully, I will have the pleasure of welcoming you through our doors in the near future.

Regards,
Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

The hotel is old but very well maintained. The rooms are large, very confortable, clean and quiet (our windows were noy on the main street). We were a group of 8 golfers and stayed there for 5 nights. Great comments from all the members of our group. The personnel is extremely attentive to all your needs and they are even ready to serve breakfast earlier if you need to leave early in the morning. It is well situated and you can walk to all the restaurants and shops nearby.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank St-Bruno123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killarneyroyal, Manager at Killarney Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2013

Dear St-Bruno123

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with other travellers here on Trip Advisor. I must say, your review was ann absolute pleasure to read.

I am so glad that you and your group found the surroundings of your rooms comfortable. I'm sure you appreciated this after a long day on the golf course.

I would also like to thank you for your comments on the staff here at the Killarney Royal. We are very lucky to have such an enthusiastic team here, and I am so glad that you got to experience a taste of their hard work. I will ensure to pass your comments on.

Thank you once again for such a great review and I hope to welcome you back to the Killarney Royal again in the future.

Best Regards,
Brian Scally

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.2 mi away
International Hotel Killarney
0.1 mi away
Great Southern Killarney
Great Southern Killarney
#15 of 38 in Killarney
2,357 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
1,488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#7 of 38 in Killarney
2,351 reviews
2.5 mi away
Aghadoe Heights Hotel & Spa
1.5 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#9 of 38 in Killarney
2,392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Killarney Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Killarney Royal

Address: College Street, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Killarney
#5 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#10 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#18 Business Hotel in Killarney
Price Range: £97 - £276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Killarney Royal 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Killarney Royal Hotel is a 4 star luxury property. It is a family run property with 32 individually designed bedrooms. It is located 2 minutes walk from the town centre, railway and bus station. The Killarney Royal Team are with the Scally family for many years and deliver service with pride and passion. It would be our pleasure to welcome you to your 'home away from home'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Killarney Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Killarney Royal Hotel Killarney
Royal Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing