We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”
Review of Killarney Royal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Killarney Royal
Ranked #11 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast,
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Only stayed the one night on the 16th August but the staff were very friendly, the air conditioned room was splendid and the breakfast was first class. It has a great central location with easy access to local pubs and restaurants. Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Belfastcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killarneyroyal, Manager at Killarney Royal, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Dear Belfastcouple

Thank you ever so much for your kind words & review.
I am delighted to hear that ye had a fantastic stay here in Killarney.

We are delighted that ye enjoyed the breakfast food & all other aspects of the hotel.

Your kind words have been passed on to our team and we look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us

Regards
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

972 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    765
    160
    30
    8
    9
See reviews for
223
448
21
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Just returned from a golfing trip to Ireland. Spent 4 nights at the Killarney Royal and it was by far the best hotel of the trip. Great location and nice spacious rooms. The staff are what really set this hotel apart. Everyone goes out of their way to ensure you have a wonderful stay. Billy and Michael at the bar were the best.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UGAchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killarneyroyal, Manager at Killarney Royal, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
Dear UGAchris

I wish to' Thank you' for taking time to post such a wonderful review of our Hotel.

I am especially pleased you enjoyed all aspects of you stay with us, and am delighted we have exceeded your expectations. My Staff and I are thrilled to know that we made your stay as memoriable as possible and your kind words have been passed onto them espically Billy & Michael

We look forward to welcoming you & your group back to us again

Regards
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Stayed here for two nights, from the moment we arrived every staff member we met was so friendly and helpful. You can tell they enjoy their work and there is a friendly,relaxed atmosphere in the hotel because of their great attitude. The standard room is much bigger than usual and the his and hers sinks and spacious bathroom was a bonus. The extra touches really make the place, such as fresh water and ice offered at your door each evening.would highly recommend the hotel, found it spotless, really well kept, good food, great staff and great location.would proudly recommend this hotel to any friend or tourist - best cead mile failte I've seen in a while! Niamh, ray and Sarah clavin

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Niamhclavin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killarneyroyal, Manager at Killarney Royal, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
Dear Niamh

Thank you ever so much on your kind words about the Killarney Royal.
Customer service is very important to us here, and so I am glad that you got to experience what we have on offer & our staff do enjoy their work very much so & are always delighted to meet new & repeat guests.

I am thrilled that you had a comfortable stay here at the Royal Hotel & that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay

I hope to welcome you back through the doors here again

Regards
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monterey, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Excellent location, great facility, large and comfortable room, clean bathrooms, friendly staff,
and great restaurant and breakfast. We highly recommend this hotel. We drove from Galway and stayed in the Killarney Royal for two nights while visiting County Kerry.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killarneyroyal, Manager at Killarney Royal, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
Dear Ken P

Thank you very much for your great review. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay Customer service is very important to us here, and so I am glad that you got to experience what we have to offer.

Your review will be passed onto the team here.
We hope to see you back here again for another visit

Regards
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

This hotel is well situated in the center of town, with plenty of shopping and entertainment within walking distance. The staff are exceptional - very kind and attentive. We enjoyed both breakfast and dinner in the restaurant, as well as after dinner drinks in the lounge area. The rooms are sunny and comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa27516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killarneyroyal, Manager at Killarney Royal, responded to this review, 18 August 2013
Dear Lisa

Thank you ever so much for your kind words & review.
I am delighted to hear that you had a fantastic holiday experience here in Killarney.

We are delighted that you enjoyed the food & all other aspects of the hotel.

Your kind words have been passed on to our team and we look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us

Regards
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Great location right in the center of town. Fantastic staff from being met at the door everyone wanted to help.
Sister hotel in Cork could really learn a thing or two from the way quests are treated.
Large room with very comfy bed and the best breakfasts we had for the entire trip.
The bar at night is lively and serves great bar snacks if that is your mood but the restaurant is also top class.
all in all a gem of a hotel they don't build em like this anymore

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank 55howard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killarneyroyal, Manager at Killarney Royal, responded to this review, 18 August 2013
Dear 55howard

Thanks you very much for your great review, the staff here truly are our biggest asset, they are a very kind hard working staff and I am delighted that you were able to stay with us and experience this.
The bar does have a great atmosphere and this makes it all the more enjoyable for our guest

We hope to see you back again in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Brian
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

My husband and I stayed here three nights as part of a group traveling through Ireland. We loved everything about this hotel. Our room was large, sunny, and well-decorated. The bathroom was bright and clean with every convenience. The staff were friendly and helpful. The lobby area with comfortable furniture was a cozy place to sit with friends and relax with a cup of tea. The breakfast was delicious and the staff could not have been more accommodating. The Killarney Royal was a highlight of our Ireland trip - it truly felt like a home away from home. We highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a wonderful hotel in Killarney.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drspoon2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killarneyroyal, Manager at Killarney Royal, responded to this review, 18 August 2013
Dear Drspoon2010

Thank you very much for taking time to post your wonderful review on Tripadvisor. I am delighted to hear how much you & your husband enjoyed the comforts of your bedroom, and of the entire Hotel.It is comments like this that help us continue to improve and maintain our services.

We do our very best to make sure our guest feel relaxed & at home

I will certainly pass on your kind comments to all my Staff. Hopefully, I will have the pleasure of welcoming you to Killarney Royal in the future.

Regards,
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.1 mi away
The Malton Hotel
The Malton Hotel
#16 of 38 in Killarney
2,143 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
1,386 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#10 of 38 in Killarney
2,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
International Hotel Killarney
0.2 mi away
The Ross
The Ross
#4 of 38 in Killarney
898 reviews
1.5 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#8 of 38 in Killarney
2,158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Killarney Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Killarney Royal

Property: Killarney Royal
Address: College Street, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Killarney
#5 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#10 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#18 Business Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Killarney Royal 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Killarney Royal Hotel is a 4 star luxury property. It is a family run property with 32 individually designed bedrooms. It is located 2 minutes walk from the town centre, railway and bus station. The Killarney Royal Team are with the Scally family for many years and deliver service with pride and passion. It would be our pleasure to welcome you to your 'home away from home'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Killarney Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Killarney Royal Hotel Killarney
Royal Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing