We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“always a pleasure to stay here”
Review of Killarney Royal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Killarney Royal
Ranked #12 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Tralee, Ireland
1 review
“always a pleasure to stay here”
Reviewed 29 August 2013

we were already in our 5th visit here and have to say that each time is a pleasure to stay in this hotel. huge rooms, lovely atmosphere and staff and plenty things to do inside the hotel. will definitely stay here again and again, as we really liked it!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killarneyroyal, Manager at Killarney Royal, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Dear Mary K

Thank you for writing such a sparkling review on Tripadvisor. We were most pleased to welcome you back once again to the Killarney Royal. We love to see familiar faces come through the door here to us.

We are delighted for the 5th time that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and we hope that your 6th and further more stays here with us will be just as pleasent

Regards
Brain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

959 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    754
    159
    29
    8
    9
See reviews for
220
440
21
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
70 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We were supposed to check in International Hotel, but was given Killarney Royal instead. It turned out to be one of my best stays in Ireland!
The twin room was so spacious and the furniture looked classy. We had dinner in their restaurant and their service was top-notched. Food was delicious and served in big portion.
Hotel location was great, easy to find pubs & restaurants, and it's right beside an outlet store.
I had to check out the room early in the morning, and I was informed that there was no convenience store which opens at 6am plus. The restaurant was closed but the guy let us in and prepared some coffee & toast for us. I was very impressed with his service as he went the extra mile to make sure we do not leave with hungry stomachs.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jyunqing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killarneyroyal, Manager at Killarney Royal, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Dear Jyunqing

Thank you ever so much on your kind words about the Killarney Royal.
Customer service is very important to us here, and so I am glad that you got to experience what we have on offer & our staff do enjoy their work very much.

I am thrilled that you had a comfortable stay here with us & that you enjoyed all aspects of it.

It is a pity that your stay was so short, but we will be glad to welcome you back in the future & John that looked after you that morning your kind words have been passed onto him

I hope to welcome you back through the doors here again & for a longer stay

Regards
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kildare
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We have stayed here in the Killarney Royal for over 10 years now, and we are always greeted with such friendliness all the staff are wonderful and nothing is a problem to them. Special thanks to Maura John and Billy who have looked after us girls for many years and hopefully to many more years of us going there.The hotel is right in the centre of the town easy access to shops bars and a must is a walk in the national park, the locals are so lucky to have such amenities close by. Why not have a evening meal in their nice relaxing dining room food is fantastic, and of course the selection for your breakfast is superb . We stayed there from 20th to 24th august and already looking forward to our return .
Martha Mullen

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marthavineyard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killarneyroyal, General Manager at Killarney Royal, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Dear Martha & The Golden Girls

I am delighted that you had such a great experience during your recent stay - its particularly pleasing to hear that your dining experience was so memorable in the candle room & that the breakfast was as good as you mentioned. My colleagues do always endeavor to give the very best in food quality & service standards

Thank you ever so much for your repeat business & we look forward to having ye all here again for the 11th year and further more

Best wishes
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We stayed here for one night, found this hotel through TripAdvisor from reading other reviews.

On entering the foyer the place looked very homely and we were greeted by a lovely lady who checked us in, she was so friendly, she was very informative about the hotel amenities and gave us local knowledge about the area and even brought us to our rooms, it was lovely to have such a warm welcome and be so hospitable.

On entering our rooms, we were in shock at the size of them for a standard room, they were enormous, so much space, even the bathrooms were huge. The decor was well appointed and everything was spotless, room had everything regarding bathrroom toiletries, tea/coffee, iron, tv etc.

We ate in the bar that night and we had a lovey meal and were taken care of by a great man who served us, he was so friendly and chatty, all the staff were so nice in this hotel,

The beds were very comfortable and most of us had a great night sleep, except for one who's window was near some generators or air conditiong units outside the window which kept making noise all night, we didn't say to the girl when checking out and she kindly offered us €15 off the cost of our stay, which was a lovely touch.

The only other thing we could fault was the breakfast, on being in other four star hotels we felt the presentation of the breakfast buffet could have been better displayed in presentation and choice, and also we felt the service was a bit lazed when having breakfast, nobody came near to ask were we ok for everything, we had to go and ask for assistance twice for items we needed.

We would recommend this hotel, but it would might be worth asking to have a room away from the generators or air conditioning units that are at one side of the building.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valerie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killarneyroyal, Manager at Killarney Royal, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Dear Beego 33
I am delighted to read you had the most enjoyable stay here at the Royal Hotel.
We love to hear that our guests have enjoyed their stay with us and discovered the wonderful treats available at the doorstep of the hotel.

I am glad to read your comment on the breakfast as it is reviews like yours that help us improve and become better each day. Thank you for bringing this to my attention


Your kind words have been passed on to our team and we look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us

Kind regards
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast,
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Only stayed the one night on the 16th August but the staff were very friendly, the air conditioned room was splendid and the breakfast was first class. It has a great central location with easy access to local pubs and restaurants. Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Belfastcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killarneyroyal, Manager at Killarney Royal, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Dear Belfastcouple

Thank you ever so much for your kind words & review.
I am delighted to hear that ye had a fantastic stay here in Killarney.

We are delighted that ye enjoyed the breakfast food & all other aspects of the hotel.

Your kind words have been passed on to our team and we look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us

Regards
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Just returned from a golfing trip to Ireland. Spent 4 nights at the Killarney Royal and it was by far the best hotel of the trip. Great location and nice spacious rooms. The staff are what really set this hotel apart. Everyone goes out of their way to ensure you have a wonderful stay. Billy and Michael at the bar were the best.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UGAchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killarneyroyal, Manager at Killarney Royal, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
Dear UGAchris

I wish to' Thank you' for taking time to post such a wonderful review of our Hotel.

I am especially pleased you enjoyed all aspects of you stay with us, and am delighted we have exceeded your expectations. My Staff and I are thrilled to know that we made your stay as memoriable as possible and your kind words have been passed onto them espically Billy & Michael

We look forward to welcoming you & your group back to us again

Regards
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Stayed here for two nights, from the moment we arrived every staff member we met was so friendly and helpful. You can tell they enjoy their work and there is a friendly,relaxed atmosphere in the hotel because of their great attitude. The standard room is much bigger than usual and the his and hers sinks and spacious bathroom was a bonus. The extra touches really make the place, such as fresh water and ice offered at your door each evening.would highly recommend the hotel, found it spotless, really well kept, good food, great staff and great location.would proudly recommend this hotel to any friend or tourist - best cead mile failte I've seen in a while! Niamh, ray and Sarah clavin

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Niamhclavin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killarneyroyal, Manager at Killarney Royal, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
Dear Niamh

Thank you ever so much on your kind words about the Killarney Royal.
Customer service is very important to us here, and so I am glad that you got to experience what we have on offer & our staff do enjoy their work very much so & are always delighted to meet new & repeat guests.

I am thrilled that you had a comfortable stay here at the Royal Hotel & that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay

I hope to welcome you back through the doors here again

Regards
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.1 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,338 reviews
0.2 mi away
International Hotel Killarney
0.1 mi away
The Malton Hotel
The Malton Hotel
#14 of 38 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#8 of 38 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,127 reviews
1.5 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#7 of 38 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,060 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Ross
The Ross
#4 of 38 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Killarney Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Killarney Royal

Property: Killarney Royal
Address: College Street, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Killarney
#5 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#11 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#18 Business Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Killarney Royal 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Killarney Royal Hotel is a 4 star luxury property. It is a family run property with 32 individually designed bedrooms. It is located 2 minutes walk from the town centre, railway and bus station. The Killarney Royal Team are with the Scally family for many years and deliver service with pride and passion. It would be our pleasure to welcome you to your 'home away from home'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Killarney Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Killarney Royal Hotel Killarney
Royal Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing