We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay at the Killarney Royal”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Killarney Royal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Killarney Royal
Ranked #9 of 39 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay at the Killarney Royal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the Killarney Royal, a lovely hotel right in the center of Killarney. The staff was friendly, welcoming and very helpful. We had nice, spotlessly clean, large rooms. The lobby and pub are inviting and the entire place is charming and comfortable. Downtown Killarney with all of it's pubs, shops and attractions is right outside the door. I look forward to staying at the Lillarney Royal on my next visit to Ireland.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M Bonnie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killarneyroyal, General Manager at Killarney Royal, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Dear M Bonnie D

Many thanks for taking the time to write a very complimentary review of your recent stay.
We do always try our best to exceed the expectations and we are very happy that you were suitably impressed. We are delighted you enjoyed all aspects of the Hotel & what Killarney Town has to offer.

We look forward to welcoming you back through the doors of the Killarney Royal Hotel.

Regards
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

954 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    751
    158
    28
    8
    9
See reviews for
220
437
21
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Level Contributor
258 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

Lisa at the front desk was kind enough to book coach tours for us, ensure a new parking voucher was placed in our car each day, and after chatting one day with her about local cheeses, she gave us some cheeses and crackers on the day we drove to our next destination. The breakfast was excellent, the bar was great for lunch, and the main restaurant was perfect for dinner.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg_and_Claude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killarneyroyal, Manager at Killarney Royal, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Dear Greg & Claude

I am delighted that you had such a great experience during your recent stay - its particularly pleasing to hear that your dining experience was so memorable in the Candle Room, Bistro and at breakfast.
My colleagues do always endeavor to give the very best in food quality & service standards

Marie at the front desk was delighted to look after both of you during the stay & is glad that the cheese plate she prepared for the journey was enjoyed.
We look forward to welcoming you back through the doors of the Killarney Royal Hotel

Best wishes
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

We stayed in this hotel. Rooms are large and the location is right in the town. Easy to walk everywhere. The staff was terrific especially Billy and John who knew out names and welcomed us every time we returned. The hotel is beautiful and so comfortable. The restaurant and bar had excellent food.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kielydogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killarneyroyal, General Manager at Killarney Royal, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Dear Kielydogs

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We do pride ourselves on our level of service and our staff so your kind words are much appreciated.

Billy & John are extremely happy that you enjoyed your stay with us & they thank you for your kind words also.

We look forward to welcoming you back through the doors of the Killarney Royal Hotel

Best wishes
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

We spent three nights at the Killarney Royal and found that every aspect of it was wonderful.

The biggest asset of Killarney Royal is its extremely courteous and kind staff, who managed to handle easily our many demands, initially in our booking the rooms (and our changing them incessantly) and then in planning our activities in and around Killarney. The staff made us feel right at home.

When one member of our party accidentally left his prescription medication in the hotel upon leaving, the front desk managed to find it and arranged to have it brought to our new location by taxi, which worked out very well for us.

Rooms are large and well apportioned. The putter and ball return in each room is a fun thing to have around.

Breakfasts are grand. I especially enjoyed the kippers and the local yoghurts.

The location in central Killarney is especially nice for evening pub crawls and traditional music.

All in all a very enjoyable stay at Killarney.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killarneyroyal, General Manager at Killarney Royal, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Dear Alan

We all greatly appreciate the exceptional review thank you for spending the time to write this about your stay - we certainly take on board all your thoughts and note that you were overall very happy with your experience. Everyone of the team here strives to make all our guests happy & will be most pleased that you had a really great time.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton Florida
Level Contributor
68 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

Nice place to stay. Not in the same class as their other hotel, Very nice staff. Pretty and in a good area of town. Good stop for seeing some of the most beautiful areas of Ireland. We stayed 2 nights, but had a hard time trying to compare it to Hayfiel Manor.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kenkoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tralee, Ireland
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

we were already in our 5th visit here and have to say that each time is a pleasure to stay in this hotel. huge rooms, lovely atmosphere and staff and plenty things to do inside the hotel. will definitely stay here again and again, as we really liked it!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killarneyroyal, Manager at Killarney Royal, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Dear Mary K

Thank you for writing such a sparkling review on Tripadvisor. We were most pleased to welcome you back once again to the Killarney Royal. We love to see familiar faces come through the door here to us.

We are delighted for the 5th time that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and we hope that your 6th and further more stays here with us will be just as pleasent

Regards
Brain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
69 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

We were supposed to check in International Hotel, but was given Killarney Royal instead. It turned out to be one of my best stays in Ireland!
The twin room was so spacious and the furniture looked classy. We had dinner in their restaurant and their service was top-notched. Food was delicious and served in big portion.
Hotel location was great, easy to find pubs & restaurants, and it's right beside an outlet store.
I had to check out the room early in the morning, and I was informed that there was no convenience store which opens at 6am plus. The restaurant was closed but the guy let us in and prepared some coffee & toast for us. I was very impressed with his service as he went the extra mile to make sure we do not leave with hungry stomachs.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jyunqing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killarneyroyal, Manager at Killarney Royal, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Dear Jyunqing

Thank you ever so much on your kind words about the Killarney Royal.
Customer service is very important to us here, and so I am glad that you got to experience what we have on offer & our staff do enjoy their work very much.

I am thrilled that you had a comfortable stay here with us & that you enjoyed all aspects of it.

It is a pity that your stay was so short, but we will be glad to welcome you back in the future & John that looked after you that morning your kind words have been passed onto him

I hope to welcome you back through the doors here again & for a longer stay

Regards
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.1 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 39 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,318 reviews
0.2 mi away
International Hotel Killarney
0.1 mi away
The Malton Hotel
The Malton Hotel
#14 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#6 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,097 reviews
1.5 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#7 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,000 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Ross
The Ross
#4 of 39 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Killarney Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Killarney Royal

Property: Killarney Royal
Address: College Street, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Killarney
#5 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#8 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#18 Business Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Killarney Royal 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Killarney Royal Hotel is a 4 star luxury property. It is a family run property with 32 individually designed bedrooms. It is located 2 minutes walk from the town centre, railway and bus station. The Killarney Royal Team are with the Scally family for many years and deliver service with pride and passion. It would be our pleasure to welcome you to your 'home away from home'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Killarney Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Killarney Royal Hotel Killarney
Royal Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing