We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel”
Review of Killarney Royal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Killarney Royal
Ranked #11 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We stayed two nights in Killarney. It was one of our favorite parts of our trip. The staff was friendly and most helpful. Mike at the bar made the evening most enjoyable! We would recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Ireland.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Joyce H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killarneyroyal, Manager at Killarney Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2013

Dear Joyce H
And a million thanks for the great review here on Trip Advisor - we are very grateful to you.

Hopefully we played our part in giving you a bucket-load of happy Irish memories as you made your way home to. The last line in your review is by far the best part of it all for us, and that is when you say you would recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Ireland.

We hope to see you back through the doors of the Killarney Royal again

Regards
Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (988)
There are newer reviews for Killarney Royal
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

547 - 553 of 988 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2013

My husband and I just returned from a 9-day Ireland vacation last night. We stayed in 9 different hotels. This was the worst of all of them. They tout themselves as the "sister property" to the Hayfield Manor in Cork. We stayed at the Hayfield Manor in Cork and it is an elegant, well kept, beautiful, charming hotel. Killarney Royal has none of these qualities. The room was old, not very clean, furnished with mismatched, white painted furniture that looked like it was purchased at a garage sale, then painted white to make it "match" (unsuccessfully I might add). The bed was comfortable. That's about the only good thing I can say about it. Look elsewhere. And PS: Do NOT eat in The Candle Room Restaurant. Overpriced, terrible tasting, overcooked, previously frozen food. I could do better going to a grocery store and purchasing items for a picnic (and still have 150 Euros left).

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killarneyroyal, Manager at Killarney Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2013

Dear PAM W

Thank you very much for your feedback on your recent stay.

With regards to the few issues in the Restaurant, it is most certainly not our usual standard.
We are known and loved in the food trade as a place that offers excellent locally sourced 100% fresh Irish food at an exceptional price of €28.90 for our full dinner menu.

I would ask that you contact me here at the Hotel to discuss the matters raised above as we pride ourselves on our customer service and our quality, and I feel that some of the views expressed are misleading and unfair.

I look forward to hearing from you and we are grateful for your time on writing your review

Regards
Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the Killarney Royal, a lovely hotel right in the center of Killarney. The staff was friendly, welcoming and very helpful. We had nice, spotlessly clean, large rooms. The lobby and pub are inviting and the entire place is charming and comfortable. Downtown Killarney with all of it's pubs, shops and attractions is right outside the door. I look forward to staying at the Lillarney Royal on my next visit to Ireland.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M Bonnie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killarneyroyal, General Manager at Killarney Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2013

Dear M Bonnie D

Many thanks for taking the time to write a very complimentary review of your recent stay.
We do always try our best to exceed the expectations and we are very happy that you were suitably impressed. We are delighted you enjoyed all aspects of the Hotel & what Killarney Town has to offer.

We look forward to welcoming you back through the doors of the Killarney Royal Hotel.

Regards
Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Lisa at the front desk was kind enough to book coach tours for us, ensure a new parking voucher was placed in our car each day, and after chatting one day with her about local cheeses, she gave us some cheeses and crackers on the day we drove to our next destination. The breakfast was excellent, the bar was great for lunch, and the main restaurant was perfect for dinner.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg_and_Claude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killarneyroyal, Manager at Killarney Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2013

Dear Greg & Claude

I am delighted that you had such a great experience during your recent stay - its particularly pleasing to hear that your dining experience was so memorable in the Candle Room, Bistro and at breakfast.
My colleagues do always endeavor to give the very best in food quality & service standards

Marie at the front desk was delighted to look after both of you during the stay & is glad that the cheese plate she prepared for the journey was enjoyed.
We look forward to welcoming you back through the doors of the Killarney Royal Hotel

Best wishes
Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We stayed in this hotel. Rooms are large and the location is right in the town. Easy to walk everywhere. The staff was terrific especially Billy and John who knew out names and welcomed us every time we returned. The hotel is beautiful and so comfortable. The restaurant and bar had excellent food.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kielydogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killarneyroyal, General Manager at Killarney Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2013

Dear Kielydogs

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We do pride ourselves on our level of service and our staff so your kind words are much appreciated.

Billy & John are extremely happy that you enjoyed your stay with us & they thank you for your kind words also.

We look forward to welcoming you back through the doors of the Killarney Royal Hotel

Best wishes
Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We spent three nights at the Killarney Royal and found that every aspect of it was wonderful.

The biggest asset of Killarney Royal is its extremely courteous and kind staff, who managed to handle easily our many demands, initially in our booking the rooms (and our changing them incessantly) and then in planning our activities in and around Killarney. The staff made us feel right at home.

When one member of our party accidentally left his prescription medication in the hotel upon leaving, the front desk managed to find it and arranged to have it brought to our new location by taxi, which worked out very well for us.

Rooms are large and well apportioned. The putter and ball return in each room is a fun thing to have around.

Breakfasts are grand. I especially enjoyed the kippers and the local yoghurts.

The location in central Killarney is especially nice for evening pub crawls and traditional music.

All in all a very enjoyable stay at Killarney.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killarneyroyal, General Manager at Killarney Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2013

Dear Alan

We all greatly appreciate the exceptional review thank you for spending the time to write this about your stay - we certainly take on board all your thoughts and note that you were overall very happy with your experience. Everyone of the team here strives to make all our guests happy & will be most pleased that you had a really great time.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards
Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Nice place to stay. Not in the same class as their other hotel, Very nice staff. Pretty and in a good area of town. Good stop for seeing some of the most beautiful areas of Ireland. We stayed 2 nights, but had a hard time trying to compare it to Hayfiel Manor.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kenkoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.1 mi away
The Malton Hotel
The Malton Hotel
#15 of 38 in Killarney
2,236 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#2 of 38 in Killarney
1,428 reviews
1.5 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#9 of 38 in Killarney
2,306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#10 of 38 in Killarney
2,261 reviews
0.2 mi away
International Hotel Killarney
0.2 mi away
The Ross
The Ross
#4 of 38 in Killarney
926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Killarney Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Killarney Royal

Address: College Street, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Killarney
#5 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#9 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#18 Business Hotel in Killarney
Price Range: £104 - £219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Killarney Royal 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Killarney Royal Hotel is a 4 star luxury property. It is a family run property with 32 individually designed bedrooms. It is located 2 minutes walk from the town centre, railway and bus station. The Killarney Royal Team are with the Scally family for many years and deliver service with pride and passion. It would be our pleasure to welcome you to your 'home away from home'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Killarney Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Killarney Royal Hotel Killarney
Royal Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing