We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Stay In Killarney”
Review of Killarney Royal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Killarney Royal
Ranked #11 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Our stay in Killarney Royal was nice. The parking area is just across the street, it was hard to find at first but convenient once we found it. It's an older hotel, which gave it a lot of charm. However, you could tell it's age in the room especially in the bathroom. Also, our room was next to the laundry room and it was kind of loud in the afternoon. The staff were all very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bethany S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killarneyroyal, General Manager at Killarney Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

Dear Bethany S
Thank you for your review on tripadvisor.
I am glad to hear that you had a "pleasant" stay at the Killarney Royal Hotel. We thrive to ensure all our guest have a pleasant and comfortable stay with us.

Yes you are right we are an older hotel and we are constantly refreshing the look of the hotel with the highest quality of materials are used so that hotel still retains an elegant period style that is appropriate to its age and to the design of the building.

I am glad you enjoyed the staff at the Killarney Royal they are a true assist to the hotel with many long standing members.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Killarney Royal Hotel

Regards
Bryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (988)
There are newer reviews for Killarney Royal
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

438 - 444 of 988 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2014

This is an excellent place to stay in Killarney. It is centrally located and the staff are wonderful.
They are so helpful and knowledgeable.
The rooms are spacious and very clean.
It is truly a great hotel and one we will definitely return to.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jmccole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killarneyroyal, Manager at Killarney Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear jmccole

Thank you for such a wonderful review here on TripAdvisor. I am so happy to learn that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay here with us. Your kind words on our staff, location and rooms were greatly appreciated.

I look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Killarney Royal again in the near future.

Warmest Regards,
Bryan Scally

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

I received such wonderful help from Catherine and Brian when I was in a dire situation that it prompted me to write my 1st TripAdvisor review. Their service, and that of all of the staff, was exceptional. Killarney Royal Hotel is a gem. Convenient to anything in town, welcoming lobby, large rooms and good wifi were also appreciated. Breakfast was quick when needed but we could linger if we wished. Flexible staff would always try to put our group together when requested. Pub should also not be missed! Hope to stay longer next time. Thanks again for your kindness!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rajuncat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killarneyroyal, General Manager at Killarney Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Dear Rajuncat

What an absolutely outstanding review!

We thank you both most sincerely for writing and posting such a glowing and complimentary account of your stay with us.

I am delighted to hear there will be a next time and we look forward to welcoming you back through the door of the Killarney Royal once again.

Regards
Bryan Scally

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Great hotel in the heart of the city. Nice, easy walk to all the restaurants and Pubs in the heart of Killarney. The rooms are all different, large and up to date. The staff is there to greet you and ensure you have a pleasant stay. John, the porter was especially courteous and caring!
The Irish breakfast was wonderful. I can't wait to get back to Killarney. It was truly one of the highlights of our Ireland visit.

Room Tip: All the rooms are unique. Our group were in 3 different rooms and they were all A+.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killarneyroyal, Manager at Killarney Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear Bob B

Thank you very much for such a sparkling review here on TripAdvisor. It was an absolute pleasure to read from beginning to end!

All the team really appreciated your wonderful comments on our location, rooms, service and food. I will ensure to pass on your kind comments to John - who is already looking forward to your next visit!

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Killarney Royal again in the future.

Best Regards,
Bryan Scally

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

4 of us recently stayed at the Killarney Royal for 6 nights-the experience was as close to perfect as you could expect. The most important aspect was the friendly customer first-attitude of the staff. They could not say "no". John, the night porter, would be at your call to help you with anything you needed. He was there with a cup of coffee and a newspaper first thing in the morning, gave you a bottle of ice cold water on the way to the course and made sure you were set with everything you needed the next morning. We did not know when he slept. Thanks John!!! The staff in the dining room would open early and stay late and make us just about anything we wanted. The front desk would give us solid recommendations on where to eat or go and we were never disappointed The rooms were fresh and clean and still maintained the charm of feeling like you were in Ireland-not a cookie cutter like a Marriott. The location is right in the Killarney - you can walk anywhere--perfect. The Killarney Royal may be rated a 4 star hotel but I would consider it 5 star. There is not a single complaint about anything at the hotel. I have travelled many places and stayed at many hotels this would rank as one of my best vacation experiences

Room Tip: I had room 209-very comfortable-the linens are fantastic!!!
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mp4378
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killarneyroyal, General Manager at Killarney Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear mp4378

Wow what an outstanding review you have given the Killarney Royal. It was a joy to read from start to finish.

The team at the Killarney is one of our best assets, and I am happy that you were able to avail of their expertise while you visited! They really go to all ends to make sure everyone has a super holiday experience. Your kind words have been passed onto John and all the staff.

As you said yourself it is like a 5 star hotel and we are proud of this.
Thank you once again on your kind words of all aspects of the Hotel.

I do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Killarney Royal again in the near future.

Best Regards,
Bryan Scally

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

More hotels in Killarney than the whole of Northern Ireland combined so you won't be spoilt for choice. The Killarney Royal is a beautiful boutique hotel, our room was large and spacious, our bathroom was huge and modern, although the glass panel in the bathroom door(net curtain also) wasn't to my taste. No onsite parking which i wasn't happy with, but the friendly staff and beautiful decor made up for that. Located in the town so perfect for walking to the pubs and restaurants. We only ate breakfast here but that was beautiful, the breads and croissants ect are all baked fresh every morning and it is the touches like this that make the hotel stand out in my mind. The waitress's both mornings were wonderful and very helpful to everyone.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank FW86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killarneyroyal, Manager at Killarney Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear FW86,

Thank you for your recent review of the Killarney Royal here on TripAdvisor. I was happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Thank you very much for your kind words on our staff, location and breakfast. I will ensure to pass on your review to the rest of the team.

Because we offer such a central location, unfortunately, we cannot provide a private car park for our guests. However, we do offer a complimentary valet parking service, so guests do not have to worry about parking the car themselves.

Thank you once again for sharing your review and moreover, choosing the Killarney Royal for your recent visit to Killarney. I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Killarney Royal again in the future.

Best Regards,
Bryan Scally.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Just got back from a 7 day golf trip to Ireland. Stayed at hotel for 3 nights. This was our 3rd time at this hotel----always great. Rooms are large and clean. Breakfast service is excellent and tasty.John at the hotel will make your stay memorable---at the bar into the late hours,,,,and hot coffee and water every morning for our bus ride out to the various courses in the area. Location is ideal,,,,,walking distance to many,many, great pubs.

Room Tip: higher floors get you a bit away from the little street noise there is.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killarneyroyal, General Manager at Killarney Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear GregB

Thank you so much for your recent sparkling review here on trip advisor, all the team here were delighted with your kind comments.

I am delighted to hear once again you enjoyed your stay. It is always great seeing old and new friends coming back to stay with us. Thank you so much for your wonderful comments on the hotel. John truly is a great assist to the Killarney Royal and has been with us for over 20 years now.

We look forward to welcoming you back through the doors of the Killarney Royal for the fourth time on your next golf trip to Ireland

Regards
Bryan Scally

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.1 mi away
The Malton Hotel
The Malton Hotel
#15 of 38 in Killarney
2,236 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#2 of 38 in Killarney
1,429 reviews
1.5 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#9 of 38 in Killarney
2,306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#10 of 38 in Killarney
2,261 reviews
0.2 mi away
International Hotel Killarney
0.2 mi away
The Ross
The Ross
#4 of 38 in Killarney
926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Killarney Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Killarney Royal

Address: College Street, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Killarney
#5 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#9 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#18 Business Hotel in Killarney
Price Range: £104 - £219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Killarney Royal 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Killarney Royal Hotel is a 4 star luxury property. It is a family run property with 32 individually designed bedrooms. It is located 2 minutes walk from the town centre, railway and bus station. The Killarney Royal Team are with the Scally family for many years and deliver service with pride and passion. It would be our pleasure to welcome you to your 'home away from home'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Killarney Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Killarney Royal Hotel Killarney
Royal Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing