We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best place in Killarney!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Killarney Royal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Killarney Royal
Ranked #11 of 39 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Sea Ranch Lakes, FL
2 reviews
“Best place in Killarney!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2010

I traveled with four daughters who enjoyed the place as much as I did. From the moment we arrived they made sure we had food even though the kitchen was closed. The bar and people there are great! The rooms were comfortable, the staff friendly and always helpful. It felt so good to be there and we all had a wonderful stay. This was the perfect place to be and within easy walking distance of all the pubs and stores you would want to see.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mbkinfla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

945 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    742
    158
    28
    8
    9
See reviews for
217
433
21
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2010

We enjoyed our stay here. for four nights. The breakfast was very good, lots to choose from. The staff was friendly and helpful. Good location. Great afternoon tea in the charming lobby. Our room was large and comfortable. No view #213. It could use a bit updating decor wise. Overall I would highly recommend the Park.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RemyBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killarneyroyal, Manager at Killarney Royal, responded to this review, 3 August 2010
Dear RemyBoy,

Thank you for your recent review and for your recent stay with us at Killarney Royal.

I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your lovely comments about our hotel and our staff, which I will be sure to pass on to them.
We strive to make our guests feel as comfortable, as they are in their own home and I am delighted that you had such a comfortable and enjoyable stay.

Thank you again for your review , it would be my pleasure to welcome you back to the Killarney Royal, hopefully in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,
Brian Scally
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2010

I'm not a big hotel reviewer but this hotel is worth a mention. My girlfriend and I are just back from a lovely 4 night stay in the Killarney Royal, of which is our second trip to this hotel. Our first a surprise weekend by me on Valentines went down a treat.

The staff were very friendly and accommodating, we couldn't ask for any more. The food was also excellent and reasonable priced coupled witha great atmosphere this hotel is definitely worth a visit. I know I'll be returning.



This was my second trip with my girlfriend to the lovely Killarney Royal Hotel. It truly is a jem of a hotel in the heart of Killarney.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank larchfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killarneyroyal, Manager at Killarney Royal, responded to this review, 19 July 2010
Dear larchfield,

Firstly, I would like to thank you for staying with us at Killarney Royal and for taking the time to write such a wonderful review on tripadvisor.

I was delighted to read that you had such a wonderful recent stay with us. Thank you for your wonderful comments about the hotel and our staff. It gives us a real morale boost as a team to hear such positive feedback, and for that, thank you.

Everyone enjoyed seeing you again and look forward to seeing you in the not so distant future.

Kind Regards,

Brian Scally
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mayo
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2010

Being our second time to killarney but never to this particular hotel we had high expectations of the quality we were looking for and werent let down,
The royal hotel is in many ways a getaway from home, the minute we walked in we were met by chatty staff and a friendly atmosphere,
The reception staff were so quick and freindly we couldnt wait to get out and explore, Our room was bigger than expected, So Spacious and fresh air blew through on the hot summers day,
The bar and reception area is so cozy and tradtional you would never need to leave. The barstaff were so frendly they really put in such a huge effort to help us feel welcomed and give us the general feel of the area itself, this was our first holiday in ireland in some time but with the weather perfect the service and offers didnt let us down, The Royal kilarney really topped off our holiday.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AidanF75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killarneyroyal, Manager at Killarney Royal, responded to this review, 19 July 2010
Dear Aidanf75,

Thank you so much for staying with us at Killarney royal and for taking the time to review Killarney royal on trip advisor.

We are delighted that you had an enjoyable time with us and your kind words are much appreciated. It is very important to us that we exceed in customer expectations. We cant take credit for the weather we have been having but it really has enhanced our guests expereince of Killarney. I hope you will return to us on your next visit to Killarney, it was a pleasure having you.

Kind regards,

Brian Scally
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wexford
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2010

Just home from an absolute lovely weekend in Killarney and already booked another weekend in August in the Killarney Royal. From the minute we walked in the door to the day we checked out, we were treated so well. The staff were so accommodating and helpful throughout our stay. The food and rooms were equally fabulous and i am looking forward to going back in August!!!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rossie2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killarneyroyal, Manager at Killarney Royal, responded to this review, 14 July 2010
Dear rossie2010,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor.

It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and we are delighted to
hear you enjoyed your stay so much you booked another visit in August.
I look forward to greeting you at our door and will have all your requirements
set in place awaiting your return.

Kind Regards,

Brian Scally
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park Ridge, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2010

My brothers and I used this hotel as a base for our golf trip last week and couldn't have been treated better. We arrived late in the evening and were let in by one of the great gentlemen in the country, John Harrington. He fixed us up with some vegetable soup, brown bread and butter and Guinness. For the next three days he helped us with directions, hospitality and friendship. The rooms are huge and quiet. Use the detachable remote to work the AC if you need it. The breakfasts are cooked or continental depending on your time; both are good and the breakfast staff is as pretty as it is kind and helpful. This hotel is in the very heart of the city, parking is across the street and is free and no one will treat you better.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karyatids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killarneyroyal, Manager at Killarney Royal, responded to this review, 14 July 2010
Dear Karyatids,

Firstly, I would like to thank you for staying with us at Killarney Royal, and for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor.

I was delighted to read that you and your brothers had such an enjoyable stay with us. I would like to also thank you for your kind words about the hotel, our staff, and service. We strive to exceed customer expectations and John is at the heart of this. He thanks you, I thank you and all look forward to a return visit.

Please contact me directly so I may personnally oversee your next visit.

Kind Regards,

Brian Scally
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2010

So glad we stayed at the Royal. Great value for the price, the Royal combines old world charm with all the modern amenities. The rooms were spacious, the restaurant was fabulous (best food we had in Ireland), and the staff was so friendly and helpful. They assisted us with booking several day trips and always followed up to make sure we were comfortable and enjoying our visit. We stayed several days and had a wonderful time, would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kshea55229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.1 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 39 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
0.2 mi away
International Hotel Killarney
1.0 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#6 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Malton Hotel
The Malton Hotel
#14 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,028 reviews
1.5 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#9 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,931 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Ross
The Ross
#4 of 39 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Killarney Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Killarney Royal

Property: Killarney Royal
Address: College Street, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Killarney
#5 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#10 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#18 Business Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Killarney Royal 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Killarney Royal Hotel is a 4 star luxury property. It is a family run property with 32 individually designed bedrooms. It is located 2 minutes walk from the town centre, railway and bus station. The Killarney Royal Team are with the Scally family for many years and deliver service with pride and passion. It would be our pleasure to welcome you to your 'home away from home'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Killarney Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Killarney Royal Hotel Killarney
Royal Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing