We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B ... clean, friendly hosts, great location”
Review of Ross Castle Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Killarney
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ross Castle Lodge
Ranked #30 of 143 Killarney B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Denis and Rosaleen were very helpful and friendly and the accommodations, food and setting were just perfect. The house was very clean, spacious and comfortable. The Wi-Fi connection was great and I enjoyed the sitting room, the gardens, and everything at Ross Castle B&B. I highly recommend this B&B for anyone. It’s off the beaten path but not too far from Killarney.

It took about 90 minutes to drive to Portmagee (in case you want to go to Skellig Michael). Dingle was about 90 minutes away also. There’s so much to do and see in the area and Ross Castle is perfectly located.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Di_laffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (194)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 194 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2013

First of all, Rosaleen is just about one of the nicest women you will meet in Killarney. She couldn't have been kinder, yet kept the perfect balance in giving guests privacy during their stay.

We stayed for two evenings and breakfast each day was delicious. I had a healthier breakfast one day with all organic fruit and yogurt, and went for a full irish the next which was scrumptious. The place is spotless and the beds are comfortable. Wifi worked without any problems. Showers have great pressure. They also have some beautiful gardens.

Location is 2 min drive from town and 15 minute walk. I have stayed right in Killarney as well at some of the bigger hotels, and I would definitely recommend staying here instead. Thanks !

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catalinazxz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

We had the most marvellous three night stay at Ross Castle Lodge. Our room was really large and very comfortable, with great pillows and a large bathroom. Breakfasts were excellent with a wide choice including beautiful fresh fruit and the best porridge. Rosaleen was absolutely charming, and gave us suggestions and advice on what we could do each day. Nothing was a problem for her.

The B&B is about 1 kilometre out of the centre on a quiet and very pleasant road. It has beautiful gardens and is directly opposite an entrance to the Killarney National Park. You can walk through the park to the centre or along the street in about twenty minutes. It's also very near Ross Castle where you can take a picnic on a warm evening and sit on the grass by the lake. When we saw the chaos of buses and traffic in the centre we realised how fortunate we were to be staying on Ross Road.

This was the most relaxing and overall the best of all our accommodation during our trip to Ireland.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mbloggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Rosaleen was extremely friendly and helpful, she provided us with a great breakfast in the morning and a useful guides to things to do and see around Killarney. Gluten-free bread and cereal was provided without problems. There were racing-days next to Ross Castle Lodge but the city centre was easily reached by foot within 15 minutes.
The rooms were fabulous and spacious and had good quality beds.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Helge P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Stayed here September 2012 and again this July 2013 again a truly lovely experience. Rooms food, location and care is superb. So relaxing. It is located very near Ross Castle which makes for a lovely stroll before breakfast. There is a lovely walk just across the road that will take you into Killarney. It is set in a lovely quiet area which makes for a great nights sleep.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peglimerick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

My wife and I stayed at Ross Castle Lodge during the second week in June. Beautiful, comfortably sized room, very gracious and welcoming hosts and a great location from which to explore the Killarney area. Located on a quiet street. We would drive up to the end of the street (.7 mile) in the evenings, park our car (on-street, free parking) and then have a 3-minute walk into the heart of Killarney. Cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Our stay at Ross Castle Lodge was perfect. Denis and Rosaleen were so gracious and made us feel like we were staying with good friends. Rosaleen's attention to detail was impeccable; she thought of everything to make us comfortable. She and Denis worked together to make our visit to Killarney unforgettable. We plan to return some day and continue to explore southern Ireland!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jcmorden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
2.9 mi away
Killeen House Hotel & Rozzers Restaurant
1.1 mi away
Brook Lodge Hotel
Brook Lodge Hotel
#28 of 38 in Killarney
326 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sika Lodge B & B
Sika Lodge B & B
#11 of 143 in Killarney
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Applecroft House
Applecroft House
#26 of 143 in Killarney
212 reviews
2 mi away
Gleann Fia Country House
Gleann Fia Country House
#19 of 143 in Killarney
271 reviews
0.9 mi away
Guaire House Killarney
Guaire House Killarney
#21 of 143 in Killarney
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ross Castle Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ross Castle Lodge

Address: Ross Castle Lodge Ross Road, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 143 B&Bs / Inns in Killarney
Price Range: £25 - £32 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Star B&B set on the edge of Killarney town amidst magical woodland and lakeshore walks. Only 600 meters from famous Ross Castle on beautiful Lough Leane and opposite the entrance to Killarney National Park. Our newly decorated bedrooms are elegant and spacious with all essential facilities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ross Castle Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing