We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Killarney Oaks Hotel
Ranked #29 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 October 2012


I Stayed at the Killarney oaks hotel recently. We attended my cousins wedding, it was the best wedding I was ever at, the food was fabulous. There was a beautiful room, and by friendly staff. The bedrooms were lovely and modern and it was clean and spacious. There was a great choice of breakfast. We had a wonderful stay and I will be back.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ecvc123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichHalpin, Manager at Killarney Oaks Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2012

Hi Ecvc123

Thanks for taking the time to review your experience of your cousins wedding. We are do pleased you found so many positive aspects to your stay. We are well known for the excellence of our Wedding Receptions and its great to know we are still doing things well.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future,

kind regards

Louise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (434)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

346 - 352 of 434 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2012

We were recently married here and couldn't have had a better day. The staff (particularly Richard and Billy) couldn't do enough for us, the food was delicious and the service was great. We would heartily recommend this hotel for Weddings and will be back for a visit!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kirsty W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichHalpin, Owner at Killarney Oaks Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2012

Hi KGWB_12

We really appreciate you taking the time to review your experience of your wedding here with us. Both Richard and Billty do sterling work with our Wedding parties and it is so nice to have their work acknowledged. The food here is widely recognised as being excellent and thank you for mentioning this. Please know that if you return to Killarney a warm welcome will await you at the Killarney Oaks Hotel. We trust you both are enjoying your married life together.

kind regards

Eamon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

I'm afraid I can't review the food here as after waiting half an hour for a waiter to come near us without success we left.
Anywhere that treats customers with this level of contempt deserves no business.
When we arrived at a different hotel for food after here I was there no more than 2 mins and had already been attended by 3 separate smiling staff members the contrast between good service and terrible could not be more stark!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank Nigel O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichHalpin, General Manager at Killarney Oaks Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2012

Hi Troybadoo,

We have seen your review which you sent in last Sunday. The Acorn Bar is a very popular location and Sundays are very busy. In fact, last Sunday, I was on duty in the Bar all afternoon. I cannot understand how you were sitting there for half an hour as I personally approached all the tables to ensure a swift service. Just today, I reviewed our cameras and there is no sign of anyone sitting without anything in front of them for any period of time. I must point out that we are a Bar and as such do not put menus on the table.

kind regards

Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Good hotel just a bit away from the centre of the town but otherwise the hotel is grand. We had a family room and had no complaints. It could do with leisure centre but We knew this before we booked it.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank boydie77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichHalpin, Manager at Killarney Oaks Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2012

Hi boydie77,

thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Killarney Oaks Hotel. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and found the family room comfortable. All our rooms have a double and single bed and some have a pull out double sofa bed so we can comfortable accommodate families.

The Killarney Oaks Hotel is located about 2 km from Killarney town centre and there is a very scenic walk into town which would take about 20 minutes. Facing the hotel is the National Park with 25,000 acres of walks along the lake and as far as Torc Waterfall. For any guests who wish to use a leisure centre the Killarney Sports and Leisure Centre offers excellent value for money and is easily accessible to families.

We hope we may have an opportunity to welcome you back again

kind regards

Richard Halpin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2012

Stayed here as we were going to a concert at the INEC. It is within walking distance to the INEC but it is a good bit out from the town centre. As it was a busy night we waitied for over an hour to get a taxi into town we would have walked it in that time. When we arrived we ate in the bar. I was disappointed with the food it was distinctly average. One of the girls had garlic mushrooms & it was exactly what you would get from the frozen food aisle in a supermarket. Overall though the rooms were nice & we got a good nights sleep. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunshine978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichHalpin, Manager at Killarney Oaks Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2012

Hi Trish978

thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Killarney Oaks Hotel. We are so pleased you have a good overnight and enjoyed your sleep. The Killarney Oaks is very well located for any guests who wish to attend one of the many concerts in the INEC. As you mention, we are just a short walk away. However, it would be about a 20 minute walk to the centre of Killarney. On the night in question, with a packed concert venue, it did take a little longer to get a taxi unfortunately but we do offer a complimentary telephone line direct to the Taxi company and they generally are with us in a few minutes.

We were disappointed with your comments on our Bar food. We have recently upgraded our Bar menu offering a wider selection of snack options and have received very positive comments on the changes. However, we will take your comments on board and thank you for your comments.

If you are in Killarney again, you can be sure of a warm welcome at the Killarney Oaks.

kind regards

Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2012

My wiffe and I just spent 2 nights in this hotel and it was excellent value.
The food was very good and presented excellently. The room was nice but there were a couple of small items that need attention. I think the maintenance man should do a little more. The staff were nice and friendly.
It's a little out of the town but we walked into the town for a few drinks and got a taxi back which was reasonable.
We would definately consider staying at this hotel again on our next visit to Killarney.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichHalpin, Manager at Killarney Oaks Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2012

Hi Alan G,

thanks for taking the time to review your stay at the Killarney Oaks Hotel. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and found the whole experience to be excellent value for money. Your comments about the food are very valued as we have introduced a new menu and are delighted to know that we have indeed made the right decision about the changes we made. We have noted your comments about the maintenance men. We will take your comments on board.

You can be assured that you will receive a warm welcome on your return to us,

kind regards

Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Just spent 3 nights in this hotel bed/breakfast and evening meal in our deal which was excellent value,food was lovely,rooms nice, staff nice and friendly the only thing this hotel needs is air condition in the bedrooms, would return again...

Room Tip: "nice quiet hotel"
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 48eileen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichHalpin, Manager at Killarney Oaks Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2012

Hi 48Eileen,

thank you for taking the time to write about your stay with us. We appreciate all your positive comments about the rooms, food and service. We have invested heavily in the training of our staff and are delighted to receive your comment on their friendliness. As all our bedrooms have windows that open we do not have an air conditioning system.

We are delighted you would return to us again and look forward to welcoming you back

kind regards

Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.4 mi away
Victoria House Hotel
Victoria House Hotel
#7 of 38 in Killarney
555 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Heights Hotel Killarney
The Heights Hotel Killarney
#31 of 38 in Killarney
419 reviews
1.1 mi away
Randles Hotel
Randles Hotel
#21 of 38 in Killarney
1,236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
Innisfallen Hotel
Innisfallen Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fossa
54 reviews
1.7 mi away
Brook Lodge Hotel
Brook Lodge Hotel
#23 of 38 in Killarney
321 reviews
1.4 mi away
International Hotel Killarney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Killarney Oaks Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Killarney Oaks Hotel

Address: Muckross Road, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Price Range: £67 - £182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Killarney Oaks Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Killarney Oaks Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing