We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY POOR VENUE” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Killarney Oaks Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Killarney Oaks Hotel
Ranked #28 of 39 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“VERY POOR VENUE”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2013

attended weddind, food was cold and barely edible when it was finally served after a very long waiting time!! Service very sloppy! The place lives up to the very forst impression one receives from its exterior, shabby and a pathetic excuse for a venue for any occasion.

Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
6 Thank Emma P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichHalpin, General Manager at Killarney Oaks Hotel, responded to this review, 6 April 2013
Dear Tripadvisor Viewers,
This is a false and inaccurate review of The Killarney Oaks Hotel, Killarney's Premier Wedding Venue.
I am baffled as why a person would wait for nearly seven months to write such an appauling review. We have tried to contact Emma P to query the review and to clarify which wedding she attended, but we still have not received a reply. as we keep a thorough service timing sheet for each wedding and cannot find any service discrepancies. For these reasons we believe that this is a fraudulant review.

The following are just a small selection of our wedding reviews on Tripadvisor:
“Couldn't ask for better!”
“Best stay ever”
“So good!”
“They made our wedding the most specail day of our lives next to the birth of our daughter”
“New Years Eve.”
“Wedding Wow”
“Loved it will be back”

If you would like to read the full reviews as referenced above you will get a true reflection of our bespoke wedding service.

Kind Regards
Richard Halpin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    220
    87
    28
    22
    27
See reviews for
108
144
7
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2013

We ate here today and can honestly say it had the worst staff & food !! The staff are asleep they spend more time talking to one another behind the bar than paying attention to paying punters coming in the door trying to get served for food,we must have waited at least 30 min before we even got served!and we weren't the only ones waiting !seriouisly management wake up and get your staff to do something besides talking to one another behind the bar !!i can honestly say we will never go there again ...

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Grubadub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichHalpin, Manager at Killarney Oaks Hotel, responded to this review, 19 March 2013
Hello Grubadub

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent experience at the Killarney Oaks Hotel. I am stunned by your comments. Our staff are friendly and highly professional and to have comments regarding lack of attention to customers is alarming considering we have had nothing but positive comments on our comment cards from satisfied customers.

To resolve this I personally reviewed all the inhouse security tapes to see what may have happened. I could not find any showing of our staff having the time to chat behind the bar nor did I see any patrons without having been attended to.

It is such a pity that when you felt you were not being looked after that you did not bring it to my attention. We could have addressed your issues at the time. I was on duty all Saturday and Sunday as St. Patrick's Weekend is a busy time for us and at no time was I informed of any delay or dissatisfaction.

Thank you for taking the time to visit the Acorn Bar at the Killarney Oaks Hotel.

kind regards

Richard Halpin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
138 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2013 via mobile

Ate in hotel bar Sunday 24/2/13 all I can say is that a lot of establishments could learn a lot about quality of food and service from the Oaks.
The place was really busy with Sunday lunches and people were waiting for tables which is a good sign, our server Breda was probably the best I have ever encountered and I travel a lot with work. We had our 1 year old with us and Breda got a high chair, cleared the table and had a baby bowl out to us in 5 mins flat, that is good service and keeps the crying babies happy. The main courses were 5 star quality without doubt. Once our server saw our son was finished his food she asked if we wanted anything more for him and offered to get us ice cream, again this appeared in double quick time. I can only recommend the excellent quality of food and service here. We will be back again soon.
I haven't stayed in the hotel itself but from speaking with friends I gather the rooms are good quality.
We would love to spend a night at the Oaks there is a really good atmosphere there, have a nice meal and a few drinks would make a good night away.
They do have weddings here so it does get much busier when these are on.
All in all I highly recommend this establishment

Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2013

Stayed here a few years ago and asked for a non smoking room, and the rooms stank of smoke then they left the heating on high all night and my husband nearly suffocated in the heat of the place, rang reception and they could not open the window so we ended up been in a sauna for the night, my husband was fuming but refused to complain on check out, he just said to me "never again will we stay here" and we never have! The food was average but the fact that we were trapped in a room with no window freaked me out if there was fire we could not unlock windows. Terrible stay and never ever again. (:(

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fionulla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichHalpin, General Manager at Killarney Oaks Hotel, responded to this review, 19 January 2013
Good evening Fionulla,

I am reverting to your complaint about your not so recent stay at the Killarney Oaks Hotel.

Let us take your comments in order:

Firstly you mentioned on the first line of your review that you stayed here a few years ago but then towards the end you have dated your stay was in fact March 2012. I have conducted a search on our reservations system and am unable to find anyone named Fionulla staying with us in March 2012. Could you clarify when you actually stayed with us, if you stayed with us at all, to aid in my investigation of this matter.

As for your allocation to a smoking room, I find this difficult to believe as we have accommodated our smoking guests with the miniscule number of four rooms and have a strict no smoking policy in the remainder of our rooms. If this policy is not adhered to there is an automatic room sanitising fee to remove any traces of tobacco odours.

Regarding the issue which you had with the heating in your bedroom, again I find this extremely hard to believe as we have an upgraded heating system that is activated a certain periods throughout the day. There is also a thermostat in each room that allows guests to controll the level of heat output according to each guests preference.
As for your comment about the windows not opening, as you can imagine there are strict laws that govern the health & safety throughout the hotel, and because of these laws our staff are very vigilant when guests safety is involved. Furthermore, our windows are designed so that they cannot be locked, avoiding situations such as you have described.

If it was in fact The Killarney Oaks Hotel that you stayed in a few years ago, we would have been more than happy to resolve any issue whch may have arisen should it have been brought to our attention.

As for your comments about our average food, I feel that our food and service are of an extremely high standard, which is validated by the previous Tripadvisor reviewers who we appreciate greatly.

If you have made this review of The Killarney Oaks Hotel in error, we would greatly appreciate if you could remove it immediately

Richard Halpin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2013

In October 2012 we organised a charity event which had more than 30 tired and weary bodies staying in the Kilarney Oaks. We arrived at 3am (5 hours ahead of schedule!) all of the rooms were ready and everyone was pre-checked in allowing more time for much needed sleep! The food/ reception that evening was perfect and again not at the time we had advised but our last minute change was accomadated without issue, there was great craic in the bar after and the pints are good! We were very well looked after throughout - many thanks to all and to Deirdre in particular for all of the help in the lead up to the event as well as during our stay - you made our undertaking that little bit easier! Best regards, The Tarauntoohil Challenge

Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank LisaHandLouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichHalpin, Manager at Killarney Oaks Hotel, responded to this review, 19 March 2013
Hi LisaHandLouth

Thank you so much for your review on your recent stay at the Killarney Oaks Hotel. We are so pleased that everything went well for you. You mentioned Deirdre in particular and we want to say how much we appreciate your acknowledgement of the effort she put into your event. Deirdre is a wonderful employee who always welcomes the guests with a smile and for whom no request is an impossibility. We value her as an employee.

We are also grateful for your kind remarks on your experience in our Bar. We know how much the relaxation element to your event meant and to tell us that you all had a wonderful time is very gratifying.

We hope that we may have an opportunity to welcome you back to the Killarney Oaks in the not too distant future.

kind regards

Richard Halpin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IKerry
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2012

had lunch here recently and have to say it was delicious, service was very good and there was a wedding on which looked fantastic, what a venue..had a sneak look into the reception room which is gorgeous and loved the entrance hall....fab food

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maraoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichHalpin, General Manager at Killarney Oaks Hotel, responded to this review, 9 January 2013
Hi maraoke,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your experience at the Killarney Oaks Hotel. We are so pleased that your comments are so positive and appreciate you extolling the virtues of our Oak Suite where we have our Wedding Receptions. We are renowned for the quality of our food and your comments reinforce that we are doing things well here at the hotel.

Please be assured that you will receive a warm welcome when you return

kind regards

Richard Halpin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cork
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2012

Went to this hotel for a function with a group of friends,so welcoming and the xmas deco wonderful.Richard on front desk great ,late brekkie no prob,hangover cure as well what more could you ask for.We also dined there food was excellent.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CorkCol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichHalpin, Manager at Killarney Oaks Hotel, responded to this review, 4 December 2012
Hi CorkCol

It appears like you really enjoyed you stay so, thanks for taking the time to let others know how good it is here at the Killarney Oaks Hotel. We hope you will be back in Killarney again and would love to welcome you back.

kind regards

Billy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.8 mi away
Riverside Hotel Killarney
Riverside Hotel Killarney
#23 of 39 in Killarney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,187 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Killarney
Holiday Inn Killarney
#35 of 39 in Killarney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
0.0 mi away
Earls Court House
Earls Court House
#13 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Victoria House Hotel
Victoria House Hotel
#12 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Heights Hotel Killarney
The Heights Hotel Killarney
#32 of 39 in Killarney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
2.2 mi away
Torc Hotel
Torc Hotel
#37 of 39 in Killarney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Killarney Oaks Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Killarney Oaks Hotel

Property: Killarney Oaks Hotel
Address: Muckross Road, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 39 Hotels in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Killarney Oaks Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Killarney Oaks Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing