We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stay Away” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Northwood House Bed & Breakfast

Northwood House Bed & Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Killarney
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Northwood House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #138 of 145 Killarney B&B and Inns
FL
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Stay Away”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2009

Unfortunately, I booked for this B&B a number of months before and did not see a negative later review. This place is quiet, but that is all I could say for it. The rooms are tiny , and clean but dated. The bathrooms are about like those is older cruise ships--barely usable.

Mrs. Lawlor certainly does not exude warm or friendliness. Killarney has lots of other choices. Chosse among them and not this place.

  • Stayed June 2009
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grayray1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    4
    2
    4
    2
See reviews for
2
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2009

My husband & I were travelling with my husband's parents and we had two rooms at Northwood House for 2 nights. Our room and bathroom were both a good size and well appointed. Everything was very neat and tidy and very clean. The bathroom in my in-laws room was very small though - the towel rail was actually in the bedroom and there wasn't enough space to get dressed in the bathroom. The towels were very small and tatty too - thin and old and fraying at the edges and not really fit for purpose. Each room had tea and coffee facilities but there were no decaf or herbal options provided. The room was cleaned and made up very well again while we were out during the day.

Location wise, it was an easy 10 minute walk from the town - luckily we got a break with the weather and the walk to and from the town was no problem even after a night out. If it had been raining we would have needed to pay for a taxi though.

Breakfast was a full Irish each day which was average quality. We were told there were no other options so just accepted this but were very surprised on our second day to see another guest being given pancakes... Cereal was available but there was no fruit to go with it and on the first day only 3 yoghurts were put out for 4 people. A glass of orange juice was served at the table but it was so small that it was gone after a couple of sips. There was no water provided either except when asked for.

Jo was a very friendly and pleasant hostess and was happy to answer questions we had when we first arrived and was also attentive during the serving of breakfast. It was nice to have a selection of books available to be borrowed as well.

All in all, the property and hospitality were very good but we left feeling that they were spending the absolute minimum possible on their guests - with the basics so good it was a pity that the small things let down what could easily have been a great stay.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travellingkiwiLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2008

I stayed with a friend in Northwood House last month for the weekend. The house is less than a mile from the centre of Killarney, slightly uphill, and in a very quiet location, easy walking distance from town if you're not scared of a ten-minute walk. The proprietor, Josephine, couldn't have been more friendly or helpful. Our room was comfortable, very clean, with an en-suite shower. The breakfasts were freshly cooked and Josephine had no problem catering for the vegetarian of the group (me), providing pancakes with fresh fruit - a must!

I would stay here again and would have no problem recommending Northwood House to anyone looking for a spacious, clean, friendly guest house.

  • Liked — Spacious room, location close to town centre, and the breakfasts!
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gaslamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2007

We stayed at Northwood House for three nights in August and we enjoyed our stay very much.
The house is located in a very quiet residential area within walking distance from the town centre. It took us about 10 minutes to get to the centre. The last part of the way back to the house is uphill but I’m not even sure I would have noticed if somebody hadn’t complained about it in one of the earlier reviews. We liked the location and we didn’t think that it was too far from the shops and restaurants or that there was anything particularly trying or exhausting about the walk to the town centre and back to the house.
Our room was quite large and beautifully furnished and decorated. It had a balcony and a view over the mountains. There was a TV and an alarm clock in our room. The bathroom was small but absolutely sufficient and very clean like the room. The Irish breakfast was very good.
The owner was very friendly and welcoming. She always took the time to answer our questions and gave us a lot of helpful advice. We felt very comfortable at Northwood House and we’d stay there again.

  • Liked — The beautiful house, the spacious room
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2007
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brit_65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2007

The value of this B&B is excellent for the price! The room was very comfortable, although the bathroom was extremely small and there is no shampoo or toiletries. The hosts were polite and helpful. Breakfast was good. If you have a car, this is a good choice as it is near the town centre, but far enough away to get a quiet night's sleep.

  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WorldTraveler1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ft. Collins, CO
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2006

My husband and I stayed for 2 nights in July 2006. The room was very large for a B&B. The bathroom was tiny but had hot water and a shower that worked well. Breakfast was certainly acceptable. After 10 days, we really couldn't eat any more eggs so we were happy to see cereal and yoghurt. It was about a 15 minute walk to the center of town. The parking was good for our car and the house is in a very quiet part of town.

Josephine gave us great directions to the local laundry who did our laundry while we sat in a pub, ate lunch and watched the Tour de France on big screen. It was pouring down rain so a beer seemed the only option.

Non-smoking B&B which always a plus for us.

  • Liked — large room size
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ProfSusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2006

Great experience! My spouse and I stayed here for one night in August '05. Our room was huge with one double bed and one single bed. The bathroom was also one of the biggest I've ever been in and was spotless. The people working there were extremely friendly, as they seem to be everywhere in Ireland. The breakfast was very good with lots of selection. This was our fifth night in Ireland and I was getting a little tired of the full Irish breakfast at this point but there was lots of cereal, fruit, yogourt, bread, etc. to choose from. It was also in a good location. We walked to the main part of town that night for dinner and it didn't take us long at all. Killarney is a beautiful, clean town and everything there was open late into the evening, which was a nice treat coming from Brussels, where everything closes down at 18:00. Definitely recommend this B&B!

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — Doesn't accept credit cards so bring some cash with you.
  • Stayed August 2005, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Erin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.1 mi away
Dromhall Hotel
Dromhall Hotel
#21 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Ross
The Ross
#4 of 39 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 858 reviews
0.5 mi away
Killarney Royal
Killarney Royal
#11 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#6 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,069 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chelmsford House
Chelmsford House
#39 of 145 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
0.2 mi away
Old Weir Lodge
Old Weir Lodge
#8 of 145 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northwood House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northwood House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Northwood House Bed & Breakfast
Address: Northwood House 5 Muckross View | Countess Grove, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #138 of 145 B&Bs / Inns in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing