We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easter break .”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riverside Hotel Killarney
Ranked #26 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed for three days over the easter .
Hotel is located just outside town about 10 min walk which is convenient.
The room we stayed in was comfortable yet a bit small, with a clean bathroom . The view in the room was out next to a laundry room I believe .The noise from trollies wheeled in there was loud .the breakfast was ok , but for 4* its lacking .
Staff were fine for me but my wife taught they could have been a bit more friendlier when passing by reception.
Overall impression was good having stayed in the lake hotel last year this hotel was similar. But next time we're in town I'd stay somewhere else .

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank lenny04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,321)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

677 - 683 of 1,321 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2014

Had a nice stay here over the Easter weekend. The foyer of the hotel was very impressive. The rest of the hotel was a little dated. The rooms were nice, big old fashioned furniture everywhere. Our wardrobe was massive and very beautiful looking! The bathrooms were nice and very clean. Our room had a lovely view of the mountains over Killarney.
The hotel was a good 10 minute walk to the town which didn't bother us.
We slept very well but got woken in the morning by what we can only guess was the guests in the room next door using the shower but we didn't mind.
We didn't eat at the hotel but got a drink in the bar which again was a bit dark and depressing! Everyone was sitting out in the lobby and the bar was empty.
The staff were very nice and helpful and we enjoyed our stay. Very good value for the room. Would definitely come back!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Stayed here over easter and had a great time. Lovely Lovely staff especially Christy in the river bistro. Food was excellent from the bar menu. Rooms were spacious and overall I would stay again when next in Killarney. Thanks to everyone there!!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thewarrensDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We have just spent another great few days at this Hotel. Staff are lovely. Rayana in the dining room was a great waitress but food only fair.
Lovely room overlooking the river and so clean and fresh.
Great to be able to access such good Internet in our room, just getting a code every 12 hours to get on line.
The coal fire in the Hallway is so welcoming.
Lovely atmosphere and helpful staff.

Room Tip: Over looking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 496RuthS496
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Short distance from town center, easy to get from main road, big carpark. Hotel itself just average, but their staff was very good, especialy girls in the restaurant (food unfortunately average as well). Rooms just ok, we had to ask at the reception desk to turn on the heater as we where unable to do it from the control panel in the room. Staff very friendly and helpfull, doing their best to meet your expectations.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tomasz W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We got the hotel from deal rush on an offer which was excellent value for money. Arrived at the train station, which is 5 min walk from city center and aprox. 20 min walk from the hotel itself. The taxi driver at the front of the station said it would be 6 euro to the hotel, which is good but since the sun was shining we decided to walk. You just need to walk straight to the place with the horses and then turn left and keep walking , the hotel is just before the river bridge on the right side of the road.

The staff was very efficient we got our room and we had everything we had asked for. There is free internet in the room just ask at the reception for the password which is valid for 12 hours but then you can ask for an other one. Rooms are clean, warm and tastefully decorated. The only reason I don't give full 5 stars to the hotel is that the windows couldn't close properly and that left the noise and the draft coming in the room. I am sure, however if we were bring that to the staff's attention they would have offered us an other room, but since the weather was mild and the heating on+ the noise at night from the street was 0, we did not make a fuss about that.

The breakfast was from 8-10 am, very well organised and there was a choice of 5 hot dishes+ the cold European style buffet. Waiting staff was very very good and all eager to help. Dinner at the bar was also good.

I had a couple of questions before arrival and sent several emails which all were answered in a couple of minutes. At the reception we booked our bus trip Ring of Kerry. Their price was 24 euro per person,. there was an other tour operator offering the trip for 16 euro but they wanted additional payment of 10 euro to be picked up from the hotel, so we choose to book at the hotel and we did not regret. The trip as the whole stay was Fantastic !!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulina7_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

First impressions are best and Annebelle and Ciara did not disapoint at reception. Friendly and full of information. These young ladies love their roles as first contact points for incoming customers. Having been given our room we unpacked and headed to the watering hole for the first liquid encounter. Again first impression was great and Christy behind the bar was friendly and the service was excellent. This hotel has been nominated for service awards before and you can see why. We then took our afternoon walk and were in town in ten minutes. Even at this early part of the season Killarney is awakening. Beautiful town friendly people. Our lady in the dining room encounter was Maribel. This young lady was so friendly and the service was second to none. She was from South africa and took time to converse with us while giving top class class service. This hotel seems to have made staff selection a priority. The food was excellent. During our stay we encountered the general manager Chris . As before he could have not been more helpful. Overall the break was excellent and we departed with a feeling of getting a great break at this dull time of the year. I am a dog lover myself and I had brought my training manual for my little Westie. Of course when I arrived home I found I had left in our room in the hotel. Rang hotel reception and spoke to Geroid Murphy. In a minute he was describing my lost manuscript to me and making arrangements for its return. All I can say is if you want to run a hotel please hire staff like the afforementioned and business will boom. Thanks Riverside.

Room Tip: Ask the ladies at reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jojoaris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
1.4 mi away
Killarney Court Hotel
Killarney Court Hotel
#31 of 38 in Killarney
882 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Heights Hotel Killarney
The Heights Hotel Killarney
#24 of 38 in Killarney
481 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dromhall Hotel
Dromhall Hotel
#21 of 38 in Killarney
962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Scotts Hotel
Scotts Hotel
#27 of 38 in Killarney
1,065 reviews
0 mi away
Holiday Inn Killarney
Holiday Inn Killarney
#33 of 38 in Killarney
612 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Fairview
The Fairview
#20 of 38 in Killarney
1,527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Hotel Killarney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Hotel Killarney

Address: Muckross Road, Killarney V93 V260, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Killarney
#7 Business Hotel in Killarney
#9 Spa Hotel in Killarney
#16 Family Hotel in Killarney
#22 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#24 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
Price Range: £58 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riverside Hotel Killarney 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adjacent to the Flesk River, the Killarney Riverside Hotel is a Four star Boutique style hotel located on the Muckross Road (near the INEC), a 10 minute walk from Killarney town centre. Our Bedroom Accommodation is of a 4 star standard with phone, TV, hairdryer, tea/coffee tray, complimentary Wi-Fi internet access and a 24 hour room service menu. The hotel is also a perfect base for golf, fishing, horse riding, touring County Kerry's many scenic attractions and a host of other outdoor activities in Kerry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Stayforlong S.L., Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Riverside Hotel Killarney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Killarney Riverside Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing