We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Riverside Hotel Killarney
Ranked #25 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed 14 December 2008

We stayed at the Riverside Hotel for 2 nights whilst travelling around South West Ireland in November. The hotel is a little dated, although still quite nice. We stayed in a really large room, The staff were really friendly and helpful.

Breakfast was fairly unimpressive. Simple food done fairly poorly. The restaurant where it was served was a little strange.

The hotel is reasonably close to the main shops in Killarney, Although being November a lot of the restaurants seemed to be closed mid-week, or for the entire winter, so be prepared!!

  • Liked — Room was huge!
  • Disliked — Breakfast
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen_in_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,264 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    625
    406
    160
    55
    18
See reviews for
208
699
37
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Skibbereen
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 November 2008

The Riverside Hotel Killarney

Myself and my sister stayed in the above hotel in November. We found the receptionist a pleasure to deal with and very friendly. The reception area is lovely and modern with a lovely seating area. Rooms were lovely and clean. The bar and the food was lovely and the breakfast was superb. I would highly recommend this hotel and have already booked a nites stay in December to try out there rejuvenation suite

Stayed November 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank rita2409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2008

I agree with review below mine. this hotel is definetly not a 4 star.
its nice, great location but not of 4 star quality.
i also agree that its tacky to be asked to pay on arrival.
we had a meal included in the deal but it was only ok. typical hotel food. and there is a terrible wine list.
the rooms were only ok, alot of road noise.
staff were friendly but not overly. one bonus though was that the bed was HUGE and very comfortable. like the safe in the wardrobe too. the breakfast was great. great choice, fresh fruit and food, great variety and the morning staff were very pleasant. stock up at brekfast and it will keep you going all day!
all in all we enjoyed our stay but then, we didnt' spend alot of time in the hotel and i woudlnt' ever go back.

  • Liked — bed and selection at breakfast
  • Disliked — dinner, room, price
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank mopsydopsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2008

This is an ok hotel and we got a fantastic rate through a Evening Herald promotion. I enjoyed the stay but there were a few issues- in short this is absolutely not a 4 star hotel.

When we arrived at the hotel, we were asked for payment on the spot...tacky. The rooms are nice and are of a reasonable size but they lack some of the comforts you'd expect from an excellent hotel (example...shower was not hot/ just lukewarm) Bed is comfortable.

The food really lets the hotel down. Dinner was just average and I think the restaurant was trying to be something it isn't...most of the food wasn't fresh and had a distinctly industrial taste....creme brulee was actually store bought pudding yuck!!! We had a horrible experience w/ breakfast as the pancake my wife ordered was clearly a few days old and not edible.

Front desk staff seemed fine but this hotel just isn't up to the standard it claims....

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hotsauceathlete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mayo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2008

We stayed at the Riverside hotel, Killarney, Co. Kerry.

First impressions and last impressions matched out expectations - excellent all through.
We found the staff very friendly and helpful. In particular, Alanna who went out of her way to make us feel at home, along with offering detailed advice on what to do and see in the area.
Our room was a nice size, all the comforts of the class of hotel we would expect. In hindsight we should have asked for a river view room, but, we were very happy with the view we got.

We dined in the bar area, the menu was extensive and well priced, the food was fresh and very tasty, again the service was first class.

Overall we’ll be back, the location was close to the town and park.

  • Liked — service
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank hart8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 October 2008

Recently stayed in this hotel. Hotel deal we got was exceptional. It included 1 night B & B plus dinner for €56. Staff were very friendly and food was very good, however, for dinner quantities were too much. Room was clean, however, there was a smell of dampness and smoke from the room (these rooms are located right of reception near toilets. If staying again would request another room

  • Liked — Value
  • Disliked — Room clean but musty smell
  • Stayed October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Hotel-Evaluation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 September 2008

This hotel was very nice. The pub was lovely and I was very pleased to have my best meal while in Ireland there(as a vegetarian, my options were limited). The quality that stands out the most was the exceptional customer service we received from the staff. It was the best we encountered during our entire trip in Europe, even far surpassing our "4 star" hotel in Paris. Alana, Danielle and Celina did a wonderful job assisting us in our needs as tourists, always with a smile! Our only complaint is that there was no ventilation in the room (it was always damp and a bit chilly). This may be what to expect in Ireland but I feel the quality of the hotel and staff made up for it.

Stayed September 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank MatthewKennedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.2 mi away
Earls Court House
Earls Court House
#12 of 38 in Killarney
752 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#11 of 38 in Killarney
2,222 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dromhall Hotel
Dromhall Hotel
#21 of 38 in Killarney
885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Eviston House Hotel
Eviston House Hotel
#35 of 38 in Killarney
731 reviews
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Killarney
Holiday Inn Killarney
#34 of 38 in Killarney
576 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Heights Hotel Killarney
The Heights Hotel Killarney
#32 of 38 in Killarney
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Hotel Killarney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Hotel Killarney

Property: Riverside Hotel Killarney
Address: Muckross Road, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Killarney
#9 Spa Hotel in Killarney
#18 Family Hotel in Killarney
#22 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#23 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Riverside Hotel Killarney 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adjacent to the Flesk River, the Killarney Riverside Hotel is a Four star Boutique style hotel located on the Muckross Road (near the INEC), a 10 minute walk from Killarney town centre. Our Bedroom Accommodation is of a 4 star standard with phone, TV, hairdryer, tea/coffee tray, complimentary Wi-Fi internet access and a 24 hour room service menu. The hotel is also a perfect base for golf, fishing, horse riding, touring County Kerry's many scenic attractions and a host of other outdoor activities in Kerry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Ebookers, LateRooms, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Riverside Hotel Killarney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Killarney Riverside Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing