We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favorite stop in Ireland!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Killarney
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Alderhaven Country Home
Ranked #13 of 141 Killarney B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
“Favorite stop in Ireland!”
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Just got back from an awesome vacation in Ireland with mom, aunt and cousin. The Alderhaven was our favorite of four B & B's we stayed. We were there 2 nights and on our arrival, Pat greeted us at the door with a smile, even though we got there quite a bit later than we expected. We woke to cute bunnies in the back yard and were served a delicious breakfast. Norrie made arrangements for us for a tour, and the rest is history. Lovely people, and a beautiful home, close to city ! thanks O'Neill's

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee Ann P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    17
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
48
63
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alpharetta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Norrie & Pat O'Neill could not have been any nicer & helpful. We stayed 2 nights & they were great with sightseeing advice, directions & anything else we needed. Tea upon arrival, wonderful breakfast, quiet pretty grounds, friendly hosts, what more could you want? I would highly recommend it & would stay there again in a minute.

The Maddens
Alpharetta GA

Room Tip: Our shower was tiny but we made it work. Could be tough if you were a large person.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BEM2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Stayed 2 nights at Alderhaven, and found it to be clean and well cared for, with delightful service and amenities. Norrie and Patrick were just spectacular, catering to our needs, fixing delicious, hot food, presented in a homey area. One of the real highlites was being served by Lana, who was grandma's shadow, but who pitched right in. If you are going there, ask for Lana, and...don't forget to leave a nice tip. Everything about Alderhaven was simply excellent...not an overstatement. If you will be close, I would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Have your Magellan 4045T-EU and find out the address. The Magellan was the best buy I could have mad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paddymurph01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgewater, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

My wife and I spent eight (8) nights in Ireland and only one (1) night in a B&B - this one! The owner (Norrie) was terrific. We called prior to arrival and she gave us detailed directions on how to find them. She was very friendly and made us feel welcome. The room was really nice and very clean. She gave us very helpful info on where to go and where to eat. We had a great time. Thank you Norrie!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 July 2013

The rooms were great, food was excellent, Patty and his wife were wonderful. There's nothing bad to say about our stay here. We stayed for 4 nights and all 4 nights were amazing. We stayed in 3 bed and breakfasts while we were in Ireland and, by far, the Alderhaven was the most homely and welcoming. Patty would always engage in conversation with my friend and myself and he never ceased to disappoint us; he is full of knowledge about everything! They always suggested the best places to visit and gave us a great tip (to drive around the Ring of Kerry clockwise because buses go counterclockwise)! What a lovely couple with a lovely home!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex A A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green Bay, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed 5 July 2013

We have a family of four and are heading home to the U.S. after a two week vacation in Ireland. We stayed at Alderhaven for 3 nights and loved everything about it. Very clean, comfortable, and relaxing. Norrie made us feel very welcome and answered any questions that we had. It is in a great location to explore and Norrie's pancakes are THE BEST. Without reservation, we would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CMV0891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson, Tennessee
1 review
Reviewed 30 June 2013

This was my husband and I's first stay at a B&B and we couldnt have been more pleased. Norrie was a wonderful host and made us feel welcome right away. She recommended the Danny Mann pub for supper which was right around the corner, where they had wonderful food and an extremely entertaining band! We were treated to breakfast by Norrie in her sunroom where we ate a delicious breakfast and watched the rabbits hop around the backyard. I would def recommend staying here and we will def be back if we are in the area!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jinny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Killarney
Hotel Killarney
#33 of 38 in Killarney
496 reviews
1.4 mi away
Victoria House Hotel
Victoria House Hotel
#8 of 38 in Killarney
511 reviews
1.7 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#10 of 38 in Killarney
2,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Killarney
Holiday Inn Killarney
#35 of 38 in Killarney
577 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crystal Springs Bed and Breakfast
2.0 mi away
Kathleens Country House
Kathleens Country House
#24 of 141 in Killarney
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alderhaven Country Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alderhaven Country Home

Property: Alderhaven Country Home
Address: Cork Road, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 141 B&Bs / Inns in Killarney
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing