We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Only one night” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Harmony Inn - Glena House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Harmony Inn - Glena House
Ranked #78 of 145 Killarney B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Only one night”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2012

Stayed here one night on a 3 day tour of southern Ireland. Good location. Minutes walk from the center of Killarney. Ample parking. Room was clean and good size for 2 people. Water pressure was inconsistent in shower. Beds were hard and not very comfortable. The breakfast in the morning was good and the dining room was clean and pleasant.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Buckeyeatheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    37
    27
    23
    23
See reviews for
23
32
14
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Herefordshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2012

Good points
- Car park
- Standard breakfast

Bad points
- Disgusting bathroom, refused to use shower in my room and used another in friends room (their toilet didn't flush so they had to use our toilet)
- WiFi barely worked (don't stay here if you need wifi)
- Very dated decor
- Heard people come in late and therefore had very little sleep

Me and 3 girlfriends were travelling around Ireland and this was the most expensive and by far the worst place we stayed at. I would not recommend this B&B to anyone!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mills27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Killarney hotels

Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2012

The towels could do with updating, the pillows were ok, the bed was rock hard. The tv remote struggled to work, and heard the neighbors come in upstairs after midnight thumping around, and wi-fi struggles to work. That said it was okay, good location, breakfast was alright.

Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Shona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2012

If you want location location location this is the place for you as it is conveniently situated a few minutes walk from Killarney centre. Unfortunately the room itself was a bit of a let down for us. Everything looked tired and dated (very heavily stained chairs!). A minuscule tv was on a bracket high up on the wall. Toiletries consisted of a small bar of soap each every day. There was tea/coffee facilities in the room but even though I had mentioned I only drink decaff coffee no effort was made to leave some for me in the room. However they did provide a fresh pot for me at breakfast every morning. Breakfast itself was plentiful and always well cooked. Whilst we were there the place was being redecorated so perhaps it would have been better for us to go there next year!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maryse54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llangollen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2012

Only two 'stars' for this place; one for the location and the other for the friendly staff. Only a few minutes walk from Killarney centre, the location is great. Unfortunately, the property is very tired. carpets were grubby, the room not particularly clean and the breakfast pretty poor. Despite being one of the first for breakfast the food tasted as if it had been under the heaters for an hour. All in all one to avoid.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeDale10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2012 via mobile

This is a smaller, standard hotel the was quite clean and spacious.
The real reason to stay here, however, is the staff and location.
The staff here are some of the nicest people I've met. Upon arrival they found out that we were scheduled for a late dinner and proceeded to serve us toast and bananas for the people who were starving.
We also had some problems connecting to their free wi-Fi, and the lady at the front desk continued to work on it until the problem was resolved. She was so friendly and accommodating.
The location is also wonderful. We were .47 miles from the main entertainment area of Killarney. Very easy to stumble home after a night at the pubs :)

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jjatx67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Falls NC
Level Contributor
72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2012

Glena House is a great little place to stay in terms of its proximity to the center of Killarney...just a short walk. It is clean, safe, and quaint. The staff was so helpful to our group and so cheerful.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thnkb4uspk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.0 mi away
KingsCourt - Harmony Inn
KingsCourt - Harmony Inn
#129 of 145 in Killarney
3.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
0.2 mi away
Castlelodge Guesthouse
Castlelodge Guesthouse
#69 of 145 in Killarney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Black Sheep Hostel
The Black Sheep Hostel
#1 of 47 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Cherry Tree Guesthouse
Cherry Tree Guesthouse
#76 of 145 in Killarney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
0.3 mi away
Algret House Bed and Breakfast
0.0 mi away
Old Weir Lodge
Old Weir Lodge
#8 of 145 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harmony Inn - Glena House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harmony Inn - Glena House

Property: Harmony Inn - Glena House
Address: Killarney House Muckross Road, Killarney, Ireland (Formerly Glena House Killarney)
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 145 B&Bs / Inns in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Harmony Inn - Glena House 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning Glena House is a luxury Guest house situated 5 minutes walk from the town centre providing the ideal base to explore what Killarney has to offer, spectacular landscapes and exciting entertainment.At Glena your comfort is assured, your stay made special by our friendly, helpful staff.Our rooms are tastefully decorated with pitch pine furnishings, orthopedic bed, multi channel T.V., heated towel rails and tea/coffee making facilities. free parking, a bowl of ice for a bedroom drink. Residents bar also and family bistro restaurant with great homely food.for location, value, quality and hospitality its hard to beat glena where memories are made. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Harmony Inn - Glena House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glena House Killarney Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing