We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peeping tom lurks outside windows.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Harmony Inn - Glena House
Ranked #72 of 140 Killarney B&B and Inns
Boston
1 review
“Peeping tom lurks outside windows.”
Reviewed 7 March 2014 via mobile

As the hotel is slow on activity, a group of 20 students were close to the only occupants. 3 of the 8 rooms caught mysterious and uncomfortable action outside of the windows. If you want peace of mind while you sleep, shower, and change then do not stay here.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Kelsey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    40
    31
    24
    23
See reviews for
26
37
15
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

I would never again stay in such an establishment. Information on their website and on a particular booking site is incorrect and misleading. The rooms that we stayed in had no direct dial telephones, no coffee makers (unless they mean a kettle ) no power showers. One room had no remote control for the tv for 2 days and no effort was made to correct this. The TV was so old and out of date that it possibly did not come with a remote control. There was no heating on in one of the rooms and it did not appear to be working. No sockets next to the bed in one of the rooms.
A selection of yogurt is available for breakfast...... one bowl of some type of slop was available, could have been anything, and none of the yogurt or milk chilled. I would not recommend this establishment at all. The booking I made was for the Harmony Inn and was placed at the Glena House. I would have changed the booking if I had known in time but did not find out until the day before, so therefore I may have been charged to change the booking.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Killarney hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
cork
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

overall very good,cheap very clean,lovely breakfast,its on a great location on the muckross road,and only ten minuite walk from the town of killarney,and killarney national park only a stones throw away,i will definately stay here again when ever i visit killarney,

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank corknoel12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed 16 August 2013

There were lots of things wrong at the Glena, but I have to say that on the whole we enjoyed our stay. It was four days, so if we had not enjoyed it, we would have shipped out as there were many establishments round about with vacancy signs.We had a large (twin) room, the beds were comfortable, we slept well, the staff were friendly and the breakfasts excellent, apart from the lack of real coffee. If this would bother you (it did me), take a cafetiere and a supply of coffee and tell them to pour hot water in it.The downside: inadequate worn out towels, a view of mattresses outside our window, wifi not working in room and staff insisting it did, worn washer on hot tap, pathetic over-bath shower. In spite of this, at the good price we had, the convenience of a ten minute walk into town (with a stick and bad hip at that) the space in the room, good sleep, good breakfast and warm welcoming smiles, we would definitely book there again.

Room Tip: Get one at the back, it's quieter, it's true the streets of Killarney are alive at night, bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank murfinshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

the noisy people roaring when we were coming in at night and roaring half the night were very annoying.. and parking very limited and tight... other than that staff were nice and was in walking distance of the town

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline2k13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
River Ridge, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 June 2013

The Glena House was my first impression of Ireland. My group stayed two nights which included breakfast and dinner. The breakfast was okay at best, but the dinner was inedible. The first night they served a brown, tough mystery meat with frozen mixed vegetables. The second night wasn't any better with what I think was turkey and the same vegetables. I have had better at my grammar school cafeteria. I had to wander into town and luckily found some pizza. The room was old and had dirty carpet. The TV was so small it was probably a 13 inch with no remote. The shower nozzle got stuck and wouldn't turn off. I couldn't wait to check out!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shelly V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013

Great place to stay, staff are friendly and the food is good. It`s reasonably priced ( They didn`t jack up the price for the weekend that it was). It`s our second time staying there and both times have found the staff to be very good and extremely helpful It`s nicely situated a 10 -15 minute walk from the center of town and the INEC

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gdhat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.0 mi away
KingsCourt - Harmony Inn
KingsCourt - Harmony Inn
#130 of 140 in Killarney
98 reviews
0.2 mi away
Castlelodge Guesthouse
Castlelodge Guesthouse
#79 of 140 in Killarney
99 reviews
0.2 mi away
Irish Cottage Guest Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Murphy's Guesthouse
Murphy's Guesthouse
#30 of 140 in Killarney
260 reviews
0.3 mi away
Killarney Lodge
Killarney Lodge
#7 of 140 in Killarney
405 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ardree House
Ardree House
#44 of 140 in Killarney
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harmony Inn - Glena House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harmony Inn - Glena House

Property: Harmony Inn - Glena House
Address: Killarney House Muckross Road, Killarney, Ireland (Formerly Glena House Killarney)
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 140 B&Bs / Inns in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Harmony Inn - Glena House 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning Glena House is a luxury Guest house situated 5 minutes walk from the town centre providing the ideal base to explore what Killarney has to offer, spectacular landscapes and exciting entertainment.At Glena your comfort is assured, your stay made special by our friendly, helpful staff.Our rooms are tastefully decorated with pitch pine furnishings, orthopedic bed, multi channel T.V., heated towel rails and tea/coffee making facilities. free parking, a bowl of ice for a bedroom drink. Residents bar also and family bistro restaurant with great homely food.for location, value, quality and hospitality its hard to beat glena where memories are made. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HostelWorld, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Harmony Inn - Glena House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glena House Killarney Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing