We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little disappointed”
Review of Neptunes Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Neptunes Hostel
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A little disappointed”
Reviewed 24 May 2011

The hostel is home to a very friendly staff and offers many tours and deals. I was disappointed by the very small twin room I received which was smaller than a prison cell. The quality of the shared toilets was very low and the flow of water was extremely weak in a way that no one should be showering. I got tickets for a tour to the ring of Kerry from the hostel. I was quite disappointed by it, it turned out to be quite the tourist trap ripoff.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Or M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    130
    74
    23
    13
See reviews for
26
73
75
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Marys, West Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2011

Even though I was traveling with a tour group and everything was prearranged, I couldn't have picked a better hostel myself! If you're looking for a great place to stay in the party town of Killarney, this is it! I lucked into a 3-person set-up and even ended up with a full bed, which of course enhanced my experience, as I had been expecting a tiny, more typical hostel bed. My only complaint about this place is that the water pressure was low - but I still managed to shower, so all in all, it made for a great night. Neptunes is very close to anywhere you might want to go in Killarney. The place is very safe - a security guard stopped a friend and I as we entered the lane just to see our security pass and key card. Free WiFi is available downstairs, and they even have one computer that's free for guests to use!

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emisagem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 5 January 2011

Stayed there twice, both while in Kilarney to climb carrauntoohill. First time I stayed there was absolutely brill, staff were great and helpful. Even took our details and time we were gonna climb. Second time we were there was good, but not as good as the first time. They weren't very helpful but in saying that is was very busy that day. Would definitley stay there again for sure. But if your travelling with your partner, try and get a single room, as my partner wasn't too impressed with sharing a room with six other guys lol.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank b0b026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2010

Stayed here while in Killarney on on an activity weekend with my wife and some friends. Well located on the main street in Killarney. We stayed in a buliding away from main part of the hostel. Nothing in our room apart from bed and sink. Not even a hook to hang up our jackets.
€20 pps a night for room with en-suite. You could probaly get a better hostel than this one to be honest.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NeilKildare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rimini
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2010

A friendly staff and a central location are really nice!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clay54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2010

I was there for one night with Shamrockers. It had free wifi downstairs, which was great, and the rooms and bathrooms were nice and clean. Good location, close to the main street in Killarney.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2010

This was a place we stayed because the area was far too nice to do in the time we alloted so we needed a place to stay. We walked in off the street and they gave us two beds in a 8 bed dorm for 14euro. It was easy to find from the street.

The beds were ok. The pillows were far too flat and felt like i was lying on a duvet, but then you get that when you stay in a hostel. The room we were in was quiet, though if you are a light sleeper you will notice the revelry from the pub next door.

Kitchen was clean and the free breakfast can never be beaten!

Would stay again

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank appius11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.0 mi away
Eviston House Hotel
Eviston House Hotel
#34 of 38 in Killarney
716 reviews
0.2 mi away
Scotts Hotel
Scotts Hotel
#26 of 38 in Killarney
973 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Fairview
The Fairview
#18 of 38 in Killarney
1,480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Ross
The Ross
#4 of 38 in Killarney
900 reviews
0.6 mi away
Earls Court House
Earls Court House
#12 of 38 in Killarney
742 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
1,389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Neptunes Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Neptunes Hostel

Property: Neptunes Hostel
Address: Bishop's Lane | New Street, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 47 Speciality Lodging in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cheap, Cheerful, Clean and Green!! Low prices, friendly and knowledgable staff, all the amenities you could ask for, free breakfast, free internet/wi-fi, satellite TV, clean and secure, and now as green as the landscape around us. We have recently received a Silver rating from Green tourism, an organization dedicated to reducing our impact on the environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Neptunes Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing