We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a hostel girl...but...”
Review of Neptunes Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Neptunes Hostel
Reviewed 24 April 2012

This was my first time in a hostel and it was very good. The staff were friendly, very fair, the bouncer by night was a true gentleman, very kind. The only problem is that there were no mirror in one of the rooms, only a tiny little one too high for shorter people on the door. A largish group of us traveled for our friends birthday, and there were a few girls, so which mirrors were of course needed to get ready to go out that night. But luckily there was a large mirror in the hallway. Only one other problem, the curtains in the bedroom were very light so a lot of light was shining through, hard to sleep with, but luckily enough there was a large wooden devide in the room which was very handy and I could sleep very well. Lovely lovely hostel, lovely lovely people. Will definetly be staying there again

Room Tip: Room 117 has a wooden seperator, makes the room seem so much bigger, and is also great for privacy a...
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aoife-Marie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (346)
There are newer reviews for Neptunes Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

214 - 220 of 346 reviews

Reviewed 10 April 2012

Stayed here June of last year. Rooms are fine wouldn't expect anything more for the price. Receptionist was a bit frosty not very welcoming. Ideal locatin for guys/girls getaway at a budget. I wouldn't go bringing the partner here for a romantic night away!! Can be noisy before you go out but by the time you come home no noise will be heard. Night porter is a good idea makes the place a bit safer, Nice chipper on the lane also. I'd stay again for the price

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Babs M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

I stayed for 5 nights. It was just OK. When showering sometimes the water would start off freezing, then get scolding hot. The bathrooms weren't always clean and for some reason the toilets don't always flush. The staff members seem to leave the windows open a lot... when it's cold outside. The complimentary breakfast was nice and the fully stocked kitchen as well. I liked being able to use their computer, because I didn't have room to bring my laptop. The bedroom was clean and I don't have any complaints about it really. Maybe some new pillows? I had to fold mine in half. The staff were really helpful in helping me plan my Ring of Kerry tour and recommending hiking paths. There's a security guard at the entrance checking ID's at night, which made me feel pretty safe.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ahuff805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2012

Stayed just for the 1 night. The facilities at this hostel are nothing over the top. What's good about it is the location. Secretly placed just off the high street and in good location to lots of the bars and clubs in town. The room was clean and the beds also clean, only slight let down was the shower in our room.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jayda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2011

We booked a private double room with ensuite which upon arrival was found to be a double bunk bed with another single bed in the room. This would have been fine if james had not kept banging his head on the bed above. The room and bathroom were both clean and a reasonable size, though both rooms were very cold. There was plenty of hot water in the morning.

Continental breakfast consisted of bread, cereal and toast - I would recommend going for something heartier somewhere else. The staff appeared to be friendly and helpful and there is free wifi if you have a smartphone (though this only works on the ground floor).

The best thing about this hostel is the location. It is central for shops, bars and cafes which is ideal when you don't want miles to walk in the cold and rain. However, in terms of cost I felt that this was a little overpriced and a bed and breakfast would have been more value for money. But then, I'm not a hostel kind of girl ;-)

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shilpaandjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

Based on my room:
Twin single room (in a separate building from the main hostel) with only one functioning socket(only one plug worked) and only one window in the roof. Room kinda smelled strange as a result. No wifi or internet in this separate building.
Also have to share two bathrooms and two showers with 6 or 7 other rooms.

If you come here, basically try and get a room in the main building unless of course you want to dress for irish weather to use the internet and kitchen.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank delta m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2011

Fantastic location and very clean rooms. Staff are extremely helpful. Ensuites are very small but clean.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tallguy_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.0 mi away
Eviston House Hotel
Eviston House Hotel
#35 of 38 in Killarney
754 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Killarney
Holiday Inn Killarney
#34 of 38 in Killarney
582 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Fairview
The Fairview
#18 of 38 in Killarney
1,491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#9 of 38 in Killarney
2,306 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Ross
The Ross
#4 of 38 in Killarney
926 reviews
0.1 mi away
Brook Lodge Hotel
Brook Lodge Hotel
#26 of 38 in Killarney
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Neptunes Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Neptunes Hostel

Address: Bishop's Lane | New Street, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 47 Speciality Lodging in Killarney
Price Range: £15 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cheap, Cheerful, Clean and Green!! Low prices, friendly and knowledgable staff, all the amenities you could ask for, free breakfast, free internet/wi-fi, satellite TV, clean and secure, and now as green as the landscape around us. We have recently received a Silver rating from Green tourism, an organization dedicated to reducing our impact on the environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Neptunes Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing