We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK sort of place to meet other travellers.”
Review of Neptunes Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Neptunes Hostel
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
88 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“OK sort of place to meet other travellers.”
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Well, let's start with the plus points: the hostel is located down a quiet lane in the center of Killarney. If you want to see the Dingle Peninsula or do the Ring of Kerry etc. tours can be reserved directly through the hostel. The staff were lovely. They have a cosy living room with a good assortment of books and games, it's a cool place to meet other travellers from around the world. The hostel looks lovely from the outside.

The negative points: we had a double room with private shower and bathroom on the ground floor. The shower was mouldy and after showering the room had a damp smell. No electrical power points to recharge laptop. There are bars on the windows which does nothing for the atmosphere.

After 2 days we were moved to another room in another building further down the lane. Even though we had paid for a double room with private bathroom/shower we were given a dismal room where we had to share these facilities. What made matters worse the room had no windows, only large glass windows on the ceiling to let light in. It was depressing. You expect standards to fall when staying in a hostel but totally not worth the rate they charge per night.

If it wasn't for the other travellers (scene) this overpriced hostel would be the pits. Ireland is a beautiful country with fantastic people but it is overpriced for what you get.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gracie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    125
    74
    23
    13
See reviews for
24
73
75
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Staff were extremely helpful. The rooms are nice and clean and the kitchen is very big. It is located right in the heart of town so getting around is very easy. I organised a bike hire from coming to roughly 12 euro for the whole day from memory.The receptionist drew out all the places i could cycle and helped me fit it all into one day. Would definitely return and recommend. They also have some outdoor seating which is great to unwind over a beer after a long day in the beautiful mountains. On another note there i a great little ice-cream shop at the end of the street which is delicious!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zagreb, Grad Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

At first we were all bummed about coming to Killarney, thinking it was just some village and that we'll be bored the next couple of days. But boy were we wrong. We loved the hostel, it's in a good location, rooms were quite nice and the kitchen as well. The only downside was that there were too many people, so it was noisy and quite busy. Also, the showers are kind of weird (the water runs everywhere, no shower tub - just floor). Other than that we had a good stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wanderer2702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Well, other than the wifi, the place was pretty nice. Our room was in the 2nd building and it was so nice and quiet. The hostel is tucked up off the main road so no riff-raff noise. The room was decent sized, the bed was comfy and the bathrooms were kept up.
We would stay here again!

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Shaun W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

The hostel has a good, central location in town, but if you're in Killarney for the town and nightlife, you're missing out. In any case Staff is very knowledgeable on location and things to do. Kitchen is average to small and because of the large number of groups and rooms, can be very crowded.
Place was clean, though, has incredibly fast Wi-Fi, and parking is a short 5 minute walk away.
We used this as a stopover point between Dublin and Dingle and stopped to explore the Gap of Dunloe and Torc waterfalls which are both 10 minute drives (in opposite directions).
We had a room on the main floor, next to the lobby and on the alley, of which there were only two. It can be loud next to the lounge, so as per any hostel, be prepared with earplugs.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2013 via mobile

I generally group hostels into three categories; places that surprise me with how nice they are, forgettable hostels that do their job and aren't memorable past the stay, and then the bad ones that stick in my craw. Neptune's was just barely the third kind. It's fine I suppose; beds and showers. But some things about it just irked me. Wifi only works in the lobby, and it gets packed at night. The kitchen is way too small for the number of people the hostel sleeps, and it's impossibly crowded in the mornings. And worst of all, one bathroom per floor is way too few for the number of people this places accommodates. And the showers in the bathrooms' floors isn't sloped, so the floors are all soaked when someone has showered.

It's place could easily slip into the forgettable category if it either improved its wifi to work through the whole place, or if it added two or three more bathrooms. Instead, it's memorably bad.

Nice and helpful staff though. Nothing is their fault, the house is just way too small for the number of people they take in.

Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Christopher G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
207 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013 via mobile

So, if you just want a cheap place to sleep close to town and the bus/train station, then just go ahead and book your room now. The staff are great and you will have no issues getting good information from them.
The showers have hot water but you need to keep the water running to get it up to temp. And for some reason they never installed any kind of shelf to put shampoo or soap while you shower, so you have to balance everything on the railing above the door. The carpets in the dorms are filthy so bring your sandals. Towels are a euro and they only have small lockers in the lobby, but the staff will keep valuables in their office or you can use the luggage storage room. The hostel positions itself as "green" but during our stay we noticed that the kitchen sink leaked continuously and they have some of the oldest non-energy-efficient refrigerators for food storage and they are not nearly bog enough to fit all of the guests' items. The kitchen itself is inadequate during the busy season to accommodate the people who want to cook dinner, so be prepared to wait your turn and deal with the lack of counter space and poor selection of knives and pots and pans. Also, the oven has to be lit by match, which to me is somewhat of a liability and slightly dangerous. Enjoy!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MatthewLeitner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.0 mi away
Eviston House Hotel
Eviston House Hotel
#34 of 38 in Killarney
703 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Ross
The Ross
#4 of 38 in Killarney
887 reviews
0.2 mi away
Scotts Hotel
Scotts Hotel
#26 of 38 in Killarney
943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Fairview
The Fairview
#18 of 38 in Killarney
1,468 reviews
0.2 mi away
International Hotel Killarney
0.3 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#2 of 38 in Killarney
1,358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Neptunes Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Neptunes Hostel

Property: Neptunes Hostel
Address: Bishop's Lane | New Street, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 47 Speciality Lodging in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cheap, Cheerful, Clean and Green!! Low prices, friendly and knowledgable staff, all the amenities you could ask for, free breakfast, free internet/wi-fi, satellite TV, clean and secure, and now as green as the landscape around us. We have recently received a Silver rating from Green tourism, an organization dedicated to reducing our impact on the environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Neptunes Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing