We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hostel overall” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Neptunes Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Neptunes Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good hostel overall”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

This was a decent hostel to stay at- it was clean and the girl at the front desk was extremely nice and helpful. It's right in the town centre so accessible to everything with ease. The only complaint I would have is that you can only get wifi in the main areas and not in your room- however, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank notallwhowandrrlost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    119
    73
    19
    12
See reviews for
19
69
73
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

Very clean, comfortable stay at this hostel. Staff were very friendly and happy to give advice and information. Very large yet cosy sitting room and the kitchen was also a very good size with plenty of equipment. There is also a bicycle shed with swipe
Access for customers for the cyclists. I would definitely recommend staying in this hostel

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alicekeating
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

All in all, a good little hostel. The location is good (it's walking distance to everything you'd need in Killarney), the staff are friendly, the beds and bathrooms are clean, comfortable and well-maintained. Not bad value for money.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Jen_Ni823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
210 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

Located at a quiet and very convenient downtown location, the Neptunes Hostel was a terrific place to stay in Killarney for a very reasonable price. The private ensuite was spacious and very pleasant. High fives to the staff for great service, as well as excellent advice on restaurants and bicycle rentals!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
88 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

Well, let's start with the plus points: the hostel is located down a quiet lane in the center of Killarney. If you want to see the Dingle Peninsula or do the Ring of Kerry etc. tours can be reserved directly through the hostel. The staff were lovely. They have a cosy living room with a good assortment of books and games, it's a cool place to meet other travellers from around the world. The hostel looks lovely from the outside.

The negative points: we had a double room with private shower and bathroom on the ground floor. The shower was mouldy and after showering the room had a damp smell. No electrical power points to recharge laptop. There are bars on the windows which does nothing for the atmosphere.

After 2 days we were moved to another room in another building further down the lane. Even though we had paid for a double room with private bathroom/shower we were given a dismal room where we had to share these facilities. What made matters worse the room had no windows, only large glass windows on the ceiling to let light in. It was depressing. You expect standards to fall when staying in a hostel but totally not worth the rate they charge per night.

If it wasn't for the other travellers (scene) this overpriced hostel would be the pits. Ireland is a beautiful country with fantastic people but it is overpriced for what you get.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gracie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

Staff were extremely helpful. The rooms are nice and clean and the kitchen is very big. It is located right in the heart of town so getting around is very easy. I organised a bike hire from coming to roughly 12 euro for the whole day from memory.The receptionist drew out all the places i could cycle and helped me fit it all into one day. Would definitely return and recommend. They also have some outdoor seating which is great to unwind over a beer after a long day in the beautiful mountains. On another note there i a great little ice-cream shop at the end of the street which is delicious!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zagreb, Grad Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

At first we were all bummed about coming to Killarney, thinking it was just some village and that we'll be bored the next couple of days. But boy were we wrong. We loved the hostel, it's in a good location, rooms were quite nice and the kitchen as well. The only downside was that there were too many people, so it was noisy and quite busy. Also, the showers are kind of weird (the water runs everywhere, no shower tub - just floor). Other than that we had a good stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wanderer2702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.0 mi away
Eviston House Hotel
Eviston House Hotel
#36 of 39 in Killarney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 39 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Ross
The Ross
#4 of 39 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
International Hotel Killarney
0.2 mi away
The Fairview
The Fairview
#17 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,431 reviews
0.2 mi away
Arbutus Hotel
Arbutus Hotel
#8 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Neptunes Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Neptunes Hostel

Property: Neptunes Hostel
Address: Bishop's Lane | New Street, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 47 Speciality Lodging in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cheap, Cheerful, Clean and Green!! Low prices, friendly and knowledgable staff, all the amenities you could ask for, free breakfast, free internet/wi-fi, satellite TV, clean and secure, and now as green as the landscape around us. We have recently received a Silver rating from Green tourism, an organization dedicated to reducing our impact on the environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and HostelWorld so you can book your Neptunes Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing