We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value”
Review of Neptunes Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Neptunes Hostel
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good value”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

A nice hostel in a central location in the busy tourist town. Good value for money. The only downside was that the kitchen area is very small and it's quite noisy. Apart from that the rooms are quite comfortable and the staff are very friendly.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samaha21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    129
    74
    23
    13
See reviews for
26
73
75
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Our final destination on our cycle of the West coast was Killarney. A town that's buzzing with tourists and friendly people.
We were greeted at the reception by a friendly lady who told us there would be a delay on our room, no problem, she gave us the key for the bike shed and we went off to lock up etc, by the time we returned, the room was ready!
Bunk bed and a single bed, our own bathroom. Grand, nothing special.
Nightlife in Killarney is great though, music, beers and great craic!
Looking for a cheap night out in Killarney? Then here's where to start - 20 quid a head, sound!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darren H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Petersburg, Saint Petersburg City, Russia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

I am really glad that I choose this hostel. I didn't book place in advance but this hostel is pretty big so even during summer season I was able to find room to stay! The girl on reception was very friendly and explained my how to rent a bike and where to go in the park. The location of hostel is also very good -- just in the city center, but at the same time it is located not directly on the street, so you will have a good sleep without street noise.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Slava S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Thank you to the amazing staff: Juliet, who is the best planner EVER! She organised our trip to Skellig Michael and made us feel so welcome; Pete, for the chats and fish and chips recommendations; and Mike, for recommending a great bar for us to spend the evening in.
The hostel is so cosy, it feels like a home away from home. It's very central, but is down a little laneway so no street noise. Breakfast was great, and the kitchen has a great community atmosphere. Our 4 bed dorm was lovely, very quiet, clean and bright. Loved our stay!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kazerenm M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

The hostel's location is absolutely excellent with the supermarket and cafés/restaurants all within minutes walking distance. Everything else - railway station, National Park and the all important playground was within 10 minutes walking distance.
Our rooms with ensuite were very spacious and met our needs as a family of 2 teenagers, 1 child and 1 adult. The kitchen facilities were excellent. It was very busy during a our stay but we always managed to find a table and cooking space.
Last point but very very important - the staff who are soooooooo nice, friendly and helpful. They even had a little birthday treat with candles for my daughter's birthday and the staff got together to sing her happy birthday. We will certainly return again and have no hesitation recommending this hostel to others. Thank you Neptunes for giving us a great welcome.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank doranb23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Augustine, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

The thing I love most about Neptune's is the staff!! They are truly amazing. And as such the hostel feeds off of them. It is because of their hard work, friendly attitude, and excellent service that this hostel is so successful. Add to that the great living space, the large dining room, and the excellent location and you have a wonderful place to hang out and a great place to go out and explore Killarney from. And by the way if you need any information about what to see and how to see it ask the staff they are a wealth of information.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed in a 6 bed dorm, regular size room, only 2 showers per floor so was a little hard to get a shower, small common room, Internet acces...kitchen was excellent had gas cook tops and all the gear to cook with right in the middle of town, perfect location

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Justin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.0 mi away
Eviston House Hotel
Eviston House Hotel
#34 of 38 in Killarney
716 reviews
0.2 mi away
Scotts Hotel
Scotts Hotel
#26 of 38 in Killarney
970 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Fairview
The Fairview
#18 of 38 in Killarney
1,479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Ross
The Ross
#4 of 38 in Killarney
900 reviews
0.6 mi away
Earls Court House
Earls Court House
#12 of 38 in Killarney
741 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
1,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Neptunes Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Neptunes Hostel

Property: Neptunes Hostel
Address: Bishop's Lane | New Street, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 47 Speciality Lodging in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cheap, Cheerful, Clean and Green!! Low prices, friendly and knowledgable staff, all the amenities you could ask for, free breakfast, free internet/wi-fi, satellite TV, clean and secure, and now as green as the landscape around us. We have recently received a Silver rating from Green tourism, an organization dedicated to reducing our impact on the environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Neptunes Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing