We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No-frills but a very charming hostel!”
Review of Paddy's Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Paddy's Palace
Reviewed 27 July 2012

I really enjoyed my weekend stay at Paddy's Palace. It's in a good location and very close to local Killarney attractions including Muckross House in the national park and Torc waterfall. The rooms were cheap and clean and the included free breakfast was delicious! Very helpful staff as well.

Room Tip: The private rooms with their own bathroom are a good deal!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank starryeyed03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (139)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 139 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2012

This place was awful. I really hate to be a downer and I usually always give places the benefit of the doubt. Afterall, if you're staying at a hostel, you don't need much. But mixed gender rooms with no ensuite is not okay. If the bathrooms were plentiful and acceptable it would be fine, but since there was only 2 bathrooms, and only 1 toilet was working, it kind of sucked having to change under my sheets when the men were in the room. When I woke up in the morning, the room was tangibly humid. I packed my stuff as soon as I could and didn't return to the room. The kitchen area is nice and the worker Rachel was really sweet, but this is the kind of places that give hostels a bad name. :(

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gigikins07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paddys Palace K, Manager at Paddy's Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2012

Thanks for reviewing :)

Just going to address some of the issues you raised with the hostel. Many people travelling on a Paddywagon Tour know that this means travelling in a backpacker situation. At €8 a night you're going to get mixed dorms and limited facilities. Of course, had it been brought to our attention that some travellers were interested in a single sex dorm we could have worked that in to our planning.

As for the bathrooms, both for the dorm you stayed in did work. It's just one had a broken button and so people were advised to take more care when using it. We don't want it to break entirely! :) Unfortunately our larger tours get the larger dorm and it is only out 12 bed which is not en suite.

Just in general travel advice, many hostels in Ireland have mixed dorms where the bathrooms are not en suite. This is quite standard and I would sincerely recommend that no one go into a hostel situation with en suite as an expectation - particularly if you are not booking your accomodation personally.

As I saw you posted on the Paddywagon Tours Trip Advisor, Paddywagon does offer a deluxe option. This is thoroughly recommended if you don't mind the upgrade. We work alongside a lovely B&B here in Killarney.

Otherwise, I appreciate your compliments and will take on board all your feedback!

Hope you enjoyed the rest of your tour!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2012

The hostel was fairly typical of what you would expect from a hostel, but this one was particularly great with helpful staff (thanks Rachel!). The company chain also offers great tours that are cheap or included as part of your hostel stay. I would definitely recommend Paddy's Palace in Killarney and all the other hostels and tours that are part of the chain.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RidinSolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paddys Palace K, Manager at Paddy's Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2012

Thanks for reviewing! It's much appreciated. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2012 via mobile

We stayed as part of a paddy wagon tour and were lucky enough to get a twin room that had an ensuite. Unfortunately there was no curtain or blind over the window so we had to attempt to cover it with our towels.

The bed was comfortable enough and the town is so quiet we slept great. Major plus was the great shower, plenty of hot eater and a good pressure too. Breakfast was very simplistic but does the job.

The building and rooms are rundown and a bit shabby but kept clean. Rachel, the staff member checking us in, was friendly.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paddys Palace K, Manager at Paddy's Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2012

Thanks for reviewing! Staying in those top rooms can get a bit bright in the evenings especially with the sun setting so late in summer. I'd know as I stay in one as well. Just encouraging you to get out and about the town ;)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2012

my stay was good, i was here for 3 nights at 8 euro a night you cant complain, breakfast was included and the shower had good pressure.

Room Tip: get a dorm room to meet other travellers
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank victorialucy_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paddys Palace K, Manager at Paddy's Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2012

Thanks for reviewing! Glad you had a good stay and met some interesting people :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2011

Stayed there a few weeks ago with my friend. Had room 3 beside the "common room" nosiest room EVER!! We'd a double bed in our room, the matrass was like sleeping on a bed of rocks it was so uncomfortable... The curtains were broken so we'd light coming in the room at the crack of dawn. Room was freezing and the heater wasn't working in the room. Also the room would want a lick of paint! there was a hole in our celing also which creeped me out!!
We'd have been better off paying for proper accomodation and getting an enjoyable experience elsewhere

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Babs M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2011

We stayed at this hostel as part of a Paddywagon Tour. the checkin staff were very helpful, breakfast was terrible, we went out after seeing what was on offer, but we had a bunk room with ensuite which was a bonus. There was only one sheet folded in half on the bed with a quilt, by morning I was sleeping on the mattress protector which was gross.
Overall good location and good staff.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kylie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.1 mi away
The Black Sheep Hostel
The Black Sheep Hostel
#1 of 47 in Killarney
100 reviews
0.1 mi away
Neptunes Hostel
Neptunes Hostel
#8 of 47 in Killarney
353 reviews
0.5 mi away
Railway Hostel
Railway Hostel
#43 of 47 in Killarney
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Killarney
Holiday Inn Killarney
#35 of 38 in Killarney
595 reviews
2.2 mi away
Aghadoe Heights Hotel & Spa
2.6 mi away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paddy's Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paddy's Palace

Address: 31 New Street, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 47 Speciality Lodging in Killarney
Price Range: £11 - £21 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Paddy's Palace 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paddy's Palace Killarney is a nice little hostel in the centre of the town, 5-minute walk from the bus and train stations. It has free Wi-Fi , a well-equipped kitchen, dorms and private en-suite rooms. The hostel can assist you with arranging trips around the Ring of Kerry and the Dingle Peninsula. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing