We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super hostel !!”
Review of Paddy's Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Paddy's Palace
Reviewed 10 February 2013

I was supposed to stay there only 3 nights, and actually ended up staying almost a whole week ! Super hostel, one of the best. Louise was very nice and really cared about everyone there. Seriously a very good place to stay in Killarney, and it's not far from the National Park either. You'll definitely feel welcome when you go there !

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoffrey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (139)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 139 reviews

Reviewed 9 February 2013

I really enjoyed my time at Paddy's Palace Killarney, so much so that I was there twice in 2 months! In December I spent 3 nights there, and made amazing friends with not only the inmates but also the manager Louise, who went out of her way to ensure we were happy and had plenty to do. The hostel is by no means modern; but it's got character and that's what I LOVED the most! The kitchen is decorated by past travelers, the chairs are mismatched and the rooms are so homely. Best of all the price, 8 euro a night and if you stay a 3rd night it's free! For this you get a nice clean bed with linen, free basic breakfast and access to the kitchen which includes 'shared' food (rice, bread, tea/coffee etc), The bed linen is always clean and the bathrooms are immaculate. It feels like you're at home and everyone there became my family. Paddy's is smack bang in the middle of Killarney, too, with easy access to all shops and convenience stores, bus stations and the pristine national park. We had a great time exploring the pubs at night, you just can't go past Killarney if you want some real, good old fashioned Irish entertainment! I will definitely be back, it's my favourite hostel thus far.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katerasche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2013

Stayed here as part of 10 day Paddywagon tour of Ireland. Caretaker Louise incredibly kind and helpful. Like several of the paddy palaces I think some money needs to be spent on the facilities.
Close to town and National Park which has great walks.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2013 via mobile

I stayed here as part of a Paddy Wagon tour (which is also highly recommended!) and loved it! The lady running the place is so lovely, helpful and accommodating, and the location is perfect for exploring the cute town of Killarney and the beautiful national park which is just a few minutes walk away.

After my stay with the tour, I was back on my own terms as I enjoyed it so much!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2013

During my 4 week trip through Ireland and Wales I stayed in Killarney Paddy's Palace for 4 nights, even if I hand only planned to stay there for 2. But the prices (16€ for 2 nights, 3rd for free! in 12bed room), the friendly and loveable staff (Btw thanks Louise for the tip with the national park in Wales) and nice people at the hostel changed my mind. Not to forget the nice city and the amazing national park (perfect for daytrips directly from the hostel!).
You meet (perhaps also because of the price) a lot of backbackers or travellers there. A lot of different nationalities and even more interesting stories. Had good times cooking, hanging out, drinking and doing daytrips with some of them.

Truely the best hostel stay during my trip. Perhaps I had luck with the people, but I think PP is definitly a good address for travellers. Looking forward to go back there soon :)

Cheers,

Pat

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

A really nice hostel where I felt really at home with so many nice people, always! It's been so hard to leave this place! in cumulate I've spent like 2 weeks in the 12 beds room and I had a good sleep, in a clean bed, and a clean bathroom! There was a good ambiance but always respectful for the sleep of others. I think all this positives points are in large part due to Louise, the receptionnist, who works really hard for the hostel and to make everybody happy, she is a really nice and generous person!
The other postive part of this hostel: it's in Killarney! Where I really have a good time, with beautyfull landscapes, so much to do! with mountains, forests, lakes, and the national Killarney Park... Amazing! the best is to visit all of this with other travellers of the hostel, and have a good time! Plus there is always things to do during the night, with a lot of good pubs, with great Irish music...
And last but not least, the price is really interesting!

For sure... I WILL COME BACK!

Room Tip: Bedrooms are just what you need for what there is to do in Killarney! After a hard Hike, or even a g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thibaut P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

I really felt like being at home. The people are so nice and friendly and trry to help in every situation. I travelled alone but found lot of friends here. Especially Louis, the staff of the hostel is great!
Even if the rooms are not so nice the beds are comfortable, cheap and clean. The bathrooms, kitchens and floors are cleaned every day.
The hostel is located very central (2min from the National Park, 2min from the main road) and there are a lot of things to do. Even on raining days. There is a computer free to use for everyone, a Tv room with lot of films to watch and the kitchen, where always somebody is to talk or play cards with.
I had a wonderful time here in Paddys Palace and I can really recommend it.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RebeccaM1003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.3 mi away
McSweeney Arms Hotel
McSweeney Arms Hotel
#10 of 38 in Killarney
240 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Black Sheep Hostel
The Black Sheep Hostel
#2 of 47 in Killarney
94 reviews
0.1 mi away
Neptunes Hostel
Neptunes Hostel
#9 of 47 in Killarney
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
3 Lakes Hostel
3 Lakes Hostel
#14 of 47 in Killarney
49 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hilton Heights B&B
Hilton Heights B&B
#93 of 143 in Killarney
16 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Laune B&B
The Laune B&B
#126 of 143 in Killarney
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paddy's Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paddy's Palace

Address: 31 New Street, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 47 Speciality Lodging in Killarney
Price Range: £14 - £26 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Paddy's Palace 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paddy's Palace Killarney is a nice little hostel in the centre of the town, 5-minute walk from the bus and train stations. It has free Wi-Fi , a well-equipped kitchen, dorms and private en-suite rooms. The hostel can assist you with arranging trips around the Ring of Kerry and the Dingle Peninsula. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Paddy's Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing