We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A touch of luxury in Killarney”
Review of Dromhall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dromhall Hotel
Ranked #21 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A touch of luxury in Killarney”
Reviewed 27 April 2012

my wife and I were pleasantly surprised with the luxury of this hotel on the outskirts of Killarney. very tastefully furnished, clean and recently refurbished. all the staff were most welcoming, whether at reception or in the dining room. the location is within easy walking distance from centre of Killarney. the only disappointment was the pancake at breakfast - very poor quality. in contrast the full Irish breakfast was top class. would definitely stay there on our next visit where hopefully we will not be given a room beside the lift. having the spa/pool closed in the afternoons was unexpected and unfortunate.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank road_runner_eire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BernadetteRandles, General Manager at Dromhall Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
Dear Euro_Licenced_dri

First and foremost, may I take this opportunity to thank you for your comments and for taking the time to give us your thoughts on the service and facilities at The Dromhall Hotel.

I am delighted to learn that you were pleased with your visit and you wish to return. I am as equally happy that you found the staff friendly and accommodating. I would like to thank you for your appreciation.

I apologize with reference to the pancake and will definitely pass your comments on to the head chef. The swimming pool will be open all day during the summer months (8.00am until 9.00pm) it is only in the quiet season that the facilities are opened morning and evening. The Spa, on the other hand, is open all day all year around and you only need to book an appointment. I am sorry if this was not explained to you.

Hopefully on your return visit to us, it will give us another opportunity for you to feel the wow factor and enjoy the ambience of the Hotel.



Bernadette Randles
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

889 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    491
    265
    89
    28
    16
See reviews for
198
397
25
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, TX
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

I enjoyed my two night stay at the Dromhall Hotel. I found the staff to be friendly and the room to be comfortable.

The hotel is on the older side, and there are a few things I would change. First, the keys to the rooms are not the key cards we typically see in hotel rooms. They are actual keys suspended on very large bulky key chains emblazened with the room numbers. We were advised to deposit our key at the front desk each time we left the property because if we lost our key, it could easily be traced by an unsavory character to the room where our property would be at risk. Although this was not a major issue due to the fact that the front desk was always manned, I didn find it to be an annoyance.

Second, there was not a bar of hand soap available in the room. Instead, there was a liquid soap dispenser that was attached to the wall near the sink. I use liquid soap at home, so it's not the soap part that bothers me. It's the fact that the dispensers are difficult to work, and you practically have to put your whole palm on it to get the soap to come out, instead of just a finger. I think this is a great way to spread germs.

Other than these two issues, I had no complaints about the hotel. The room was comfortable, the location was fine, and the staff was friendly. Breakfast in the hotel's restaurant included a buffet of cold items such as fruit, cereal, and breads as well as eggs and other hot items cooked to order.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Texas_Traveler_30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wicklow, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

just back from a great stay in Killarney. stayed in dromhall we even brought our little dog. We travel a lot so it was nice to find a hotel where could bring our dog with us, we only had to bring our dog bed with us. the staff are first rate the food was very good and the rooms are very big and warm. one of the best weekends away that we have had. A big thank you to all at Dromhall.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martin0101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BernadetteRandles, General Manager at Dromhall Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
Dear Martin0101,
Thank you so much for your kind comments with regard to your recent stay with us at the Dromhall Hotel.
We are happy to accommodate guests who wish to bring their pet with them for a short break.
Hopefully we will welcome you all back to the Dromhall again in the future.

Kind Regards
Bernadette Randles
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gahanna
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

We stayed two nights, and we had some issues with the electricity on the desk which had a lamp and the hair dryer and coffee pot. Called the front desk, and someone was at the door in under 5 minutes. He gave me another hair dryer to use and hooked up the coffee pot in another section of the room. Great service. The rooms were great, beds were comfortable and the food in the bar, Kanye's was great. The service in the breakfast room was also very good. It only took about 10 minutes to walk into town, which was very quaint indeed.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cork
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

Stayed here with friend 4th April for 2 nights bb and 1 dinner. Check in very fast and efficient.
I had requested mountain view room on initial booking. Allocated room on first floor and was v disappointed with view.
It looked directly into car garage forecourt . Room very spacious clean and beds v comfortable,
Booked dinner at hotel . Restaurant v quiet and felt there was no excuse that both main courses were served on cold plates and potatoes meat and veg were cold. When this was pointed out to
staff it was quickly rectified and the meal was good.. Breakfast was great.and piping hot.

Hotel in general had a very calming ambience and fire in the foyer added to the atmosphere
overall v pleasant stay at at the Dromhall.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mary307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Nice premises, but extremely noisy. something needs to be done with the very loud banging bedroom doors.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colum1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BernadetteRandles, General Manager at Dromhall Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
Dear Colum 1975.

Thank you for your recent comments regarding your stay at the Dromhall Hotel. I am sorry to hear you had a problem with the noise of bedroom doors closing. All the doors are hung on a slow closing hinge so that if the guest does not close the door when leaving the room, the door will close gradually.
It is unfortunate that you did not raise your concern when you were here and allowed us an opportunity to rectify the problem. However if you would like to let me know what floor you stayed on during your visit and the dates you stayed I would be happy to investigate further the reason for your disturbance.
Regards,
Bernadette Randles
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

I recently stayed again at the Dromhall, this is probably about my 10th visit and for me represents great value in Killarney.
The Hotel does exactly what it says, rooms are clean and spacious, The service is excellent. The bar provides decent food at reasonable prices and Breakfast etc is also good.
The only complaint is that the windows don't open fully which I was told is due to Health & Safety. However the room was extremely warm on my recent visit, and a bit uncomfortable.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dublinminx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BernadetteRandles, General Manager at Dromhall Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
Dear Dublinminx.

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your regular visits to the Dromhall Hotel. We are very happy to welcome you back to the hotel and value your custom
It is, as you were informed, a matter of Health & Safety that the windows do not open fully in the bedrooms.
We would be pleased to supply a cooling fan to yourself or any guest that may find the rooms a little warm.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.
Kind Regards,
Bernadette Randles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.0 mi away
Randles Hotel
Randles Hotel
#20 of 38 in Killarney
1,162 reviews
0.1 mi away
Earls Court House
Earls Court House
#12 of 38 in Killarney
754 reviews
0.4 mi away
Eviston House Hotel
Eviston House Hotel
#35 of 38 in Killarney
732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#11 of 38 in Killarney
2,223 reviews
1.1 mi away
Killarney Oaks Hotel
Killarney Oaks Hotel
#30 of 38 in Killarney
414 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Fairview
The Fairview
#18 of 38 in Killarney
1,485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dromhall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dromhall Hotel

Property: Dromhall Hotel
Address: Muckross Road, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Killarney
#15 Family Hotel in Killarney
#15 Business Hotel in Killarney
#19 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#24 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Dromhall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 5 minutes walk from Killarney Town the 4* Dromhall Hotel is an ideal base for all. Completely re-built in 2000 this family owned hotel offers guests deluxe guest rooms, choice of bars & restaurants plus private parking. All guests can avail of Club Sant Leisure Club and for sheer indulgence a visit to Zen Day Spa is a must. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Dromhall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dromhall Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing