We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but I expected a bit more for a 4 star”
Review of Dromhall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Dromhall Hotel
Ranked #21 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but I expected a bit more for a 4 star”
Reviewed 22 October 2012

I stayed here with my boyfriend on the 12th & 13th of October having bought a deal online.
It cost €150 for the 2 nights bed and breakfast with wine and chocolates, the wine was ok but we were not given the choice of red or white and the chocolates weren't exactly a well known brand :) I have been to other hotels through online deals and we were always given a choice between red or white wine.

On check in the staff were very nice but when we got to our room we were a bit disappointed. I felt that the room itself was very small for a four star and it looked very dated also there was no mini fridge. It was however, spotlessly clean and the bathroom was nice.
On the first morning we got breakfast to our room but I wouldn't recommend doing this as it was much nicer the second morning when we had it downstairs. You have more of a selection from the cold buffet when you eat downstairs.

All in all it was a nice weekend and it was a good deal but I don't think i'd stay here again at top price.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ElleM1213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

854 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    470
    257
    85
    26
    16
See reviews for
186
379
24
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
cork city
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2012

We stayed here for a weekend from 19th to 21rst of October.We had got a great deal on Tickles to stay here so we were really looking forward to it as we hadn't stayed here before.Deal was for a Kingsize but as my mum and sister were going to come we were able to change it for a supplement to a triple room.In the end my sister couldn't make it so my daughter came along instead.On checking in at reception l was told that the cost for my daughter would be 40 euro extra a night.I queried if their child rate was the same as adult rate as that's what l had been quoted for my sister.Lovely guy on reception was very apologetic as he said he should have asked her age and a lower rate was given.Room was lovely.A little smaller than what l had expected but very tastefully furnished.It had a kingsize bed and a single bed.We ate in Kaynes Bar which is part of the hotel on the Friday evening and it was lovely.Food was really good.Breakfast in the hotel both mornings was fantastic.Plenty of choice and very tasty.The absolute jewel in the crown of Dromhall is the absolutely super,super staff.Everyone we encountered was so helpful and nothing was too much trouble.Service with a smile is worth it's weight in gold and made our stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deemur1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killarney, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2012

I can't say enough good things about the Dromhall Hotel.

My Husband and I had our Wedding Ceremony and Reception in the Dromhall Hotel on Sep 28th this year and even with our expectations high for the day they still exceeded them.
They set up our ceremony room and reception room so beautiful and took care in every last detail on the day. Any last minute changes i made or things i needed done they took care of it.

We had 40 guests all of which stayed in the hotel at great prices and they all commented on how lovely the rooms are. The staff are amazing, helpful and accommodating. The whole experience was just beautiful. They made it feel like home.

When we went in search of a place to have our wedding this was the first and last place we looked, on every occasion i met with them they had all my questions answered before i even asked them. They know what they are doing and this is every Bride's dream.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LouLou500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2012

We stayed here recently on a bus tour in Ireland. The staff were friendly and helpful and the hotel is beautiful. We were very satisfied! Some were not happy with their rooms as they were smaller than usual but ours was great and looked out on the front of the hotel. Beds were comfortable and meals were tasty. We would definitely come back!

Room Tip: Ask for the room on the first or second floor with a view of the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2012

we stayed 12th to 14th oct bed and breakfast rooms were very cosy fine big bed bathroom lovely spotless clean every 1 of staff great to deal with breakfast was brill made to order and very fast used pool twice lovely and relaxing bar was lovely good selection of food nice to chill out hotel only 5 min walk from town would def stay in dromhall again thanks to all staff for a very enjoyable stay

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandraballymac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2012

Situated near Killarney National Park , spacious rooms. Have great vegetarian/coeliac options. We were travelling for a week & had stayed in some top hotels before we came to Dromhall & the food was fairly crappy. Restaurent & bar food both tasty & good value , early bird gorgeous - fish a fine sized portion for my husband!. Would absolutely recommend it to veggies.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

stayed in the Dromhall hotel for 1 night on a girls night last wkend 6th oct ,lovely hotel staff nice and a short walk to town centre so all was good until we had a meal in the bar it was overpriced and not as advertised on menu complainted but was fobbed off by staff member also residents bar was cold and closed until we asked for a drink which was still early at 1230

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maddiefitzg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.0 mi away
Randles Hotel
Randles Hotel
#20 of 38 in Killarney
1,127 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riverside Hotel Killarney
Riverside Hotel Killarney
#23 of 38 in Killarney
1,248 reviews
0.1 mi away
Earls Court House
Earls Court House
#13 of 38 in Killarney
733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Eviston House Hotel
Eviston House Hotel
#34 of 38 in Killarney
703 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#11 of 38 in Killarney
2,166 reviews
0.7 mi away
Victoria House Hotel
Victoria House Hotel
#7 of 38 in Killarney
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dromhall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dromhall Hotel

Property: Dromhall Hotel
Address: Muckross Road, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Killarney
#15 Family Hotel in Killarney
#15 Business Hotel in Killarney
#19 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#24 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Dromhall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 5 minutes walk from Killarney Town the 4* Dromhall Hotel is an ideal base for all. Completely re-built in 2000 this family owned hotel offers guests deluxe guest rooms, choice of bars & restaurants plus private parking. All guests can avail of Club Sant Leisure Club and for sheer indulgence a visit to Zen Day Spa is a must. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Dromhall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dromhall Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing