We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Certrainly NOT a 4 star”
Review of Dromhall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Dromhall Hotel
Ranked #21 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Certrainly NOT a 4 star”
Reviewed 6 January 2013 via mobile

I was very disappointed with dromhall hotel even if it was on a special I was expecting a 4 star. The walls are so thin I could hear when the people next door turned on their light. Bathroom was dirty & dated. No hand soap in dispenser or bar of soap. I used my shower gel! Bath towels were torn & smelt of bleach. The side of the bath is wooden and old so it has expanded with dampness but has just been painted over & over. They have obviously got yellow paint cheap & they have used it every where - in the bedroom, bathroom & dining room. The bathroom has a yellow marble effect painted on the walls, the same in the restaurant on the pillars. Both wall effects must not be cleanable, they have splash marks & dirt across them. Bed was comfortable, tv in room was very small. Swimming pool is dimly lit (for a reason) filthy with missing grout. The walls have a mural of a beach scene from a ship, probably nice 20 years ago but dated & peeling now. Our swim wear stank of sewage after our swim & my little boy had an upset tummy after his swim. no one had swimming hats on. Food in bar & bistro are over priced, bland & the coffee tasted like an ash tray, so on our 2nd night we went up to muckross pk hotel to a traditional pub Molly darcys, there we had a beautiful meal & excellent service. We stayed New Year's Day for 2 nights, there were only 15 other rooms booked but for some reason they put all the guests on the same floor right next to each other! We had to turn the heating off in our room on arrival as it was uncomfortably hot & at 2am we had to open the window - no air con. Breakfast was average, my little boy was served a boiled egg in a chipped egg cup. Sausages in the full Irish breakfast were more like hot dogs. We had been to killarney twice before & stayed in 4* and 5* hotels so I booked Dromhall expecting the same standard as the previous 4*... I even checked the reviews on this website. I will never stay or recommend Dromhall. I'd like to know where they bought they're fourth star.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NameitDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BernadetteRandles, General Manager at Dromhall Hotel, responded to this review, 10 January 2013
Dear Name it Dublin

I was absolutely astonished and shocked when reading your review. It appears not one aspect of your stay with us, did you enjoy. It is unfortunate that you did not raise your issues when you were here and allowed us an opportunity to investigate and rectify the matters for you.

As a family run business we take great pride in delivering a good service to our guests and thankfully we do achieve this as other reviews demonstrate. On this occasion it is unfortunate we did not meet your expectations.

I can assure you that your comments are taken seriously, I do thank you for being honest and I apologize sincerely for your disappointment. I will investigate some of your comments with the relevant departmental heads.


For a point of reference it is The Failte Ireland Board, who is a professional body, awards the star rating for hotels in Ireland. We receive an annual inspection from Failte Ireland to ensure we met with the industry standard for a 4star rating. I am sorry your visit left you feeling we did not meet that standard.


Again I thank you for taking time to review the Dromhall Hotel and if some time in the future you choose to give us another opportunity to show you we care please contact me personally.

Kind Regards,

Bernadette Randles
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

839 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    459
    254
    85
    26
    15
See reviews for
180
371
24
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
152 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2012

Very good hotel especially as it allows dogs. Would go there again. Nice location. The service during breakfast could be improved. The only thing was the fact that we had a room near the lift, which was at times noisy, but as we stayed during the week , the use of it stopped around midnight, so it was bearable.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 28worldtraveller36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2012

We stayed one night here wilst traveling on vacation with our adult children. Hotel was very clean, modern, updated. We actually had a room with two bathrooms, one of them completely barrier free and handicap accessable - not necessary for our family, but potentially a must for some travelers.

The weather was rainy so we drove to the downtown area, not too far and very fun. After dinner we were back to the hotel to enjoy the pool and steam room. The pool area was available to hotel guests, but in a seperate building across the parking lot. A bit of a nuisance walking outside. There was also a sauna available, but it was out of service during our stay.

After a dip in the pool we tried the pub in the lower level of the hotel. It was very clean and roomy. There was a soccer match on TV and when one of the patrons requested the bartender turn down the background music playing in the pub and turn up the TV volume, he did. And we all enjoyed listening and watching the match.

We had breakfast at the hotel. Nice variety of food, good tasting. Hot and cold options and very friedly wait staff.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt_in_Minn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, Canada
Level Contributor
75 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2012

A very beautiful hotel, close to many sites. The staff were very helpful and kind. The beds were so comfortable and the rooms were very clean. The meals were fantastic.
The hotel is close to Dingle and the Blasket Islands. Also not far from Kenmare.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 143Cathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midleton, Cork
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2012

Ate lunch and went back for dinner. Great staff, great craic and food was super. Beer and wine were both excellent - specialty beer was good. We stayed next door in Randles, which was great. We enjoyed the place so much that we didn't even go into Killarney town.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1MadirishMan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 November 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed in the hotel on Monday and Tuesday of this week, we were very pleased with our stay, the staff ( all staff) were very welcoming and friendly, our room was very nice, the bed was very comfortable, its a pity there is not a bigger choice of movie channels, on the whole, it was a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 November 2012

My husband and I stayed three nights in our trek through Ireland and were very pleased. Our room was clean and comfortable, and the staff went above and beyond to be helpful and accommodating. We were a five minute walk to downtown, and even enjoyed the bar. I would wholeheartedly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NurseWoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.0 mi away
Randles Hotel
Randles Hotel
#20 of 38 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,111 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#8 of 38 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,127 reviews
1.1 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#7 of 38 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
International Hotel Killarney
0.3 mi away
Riverside Hotel Killarney
Riverside Hotel Killarney
#23 of 38 in Killarney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,219 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Malton Hotel
The Malton Hotel
#14 of 38 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dromhall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dromhall Hotel

Property: Dromhall Hotel
Address: Muckross Road, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Killarney
#15 Family Hotel in Killarney
#15 Business Hotel in Killarney
#19 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#24 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Dromhall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 5 minutes walk from Killarney Town the 4* Dromhall Hotel is an ideal base for all. Completely re-built in 2000 this family owned hotel offers guests deluxe guest rooms, choice of bars & restaurants plus private parking. All guests can avail of Club Sant Leisure Club and for sheer indulgence a visit to Zen Day Spa is a must. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, TravelUp, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Dromhall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dromhall Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing