We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stay in Killarney!”
Review of Dromhall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dromhall Hotel
Ranked #22 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 November 2013 via mobile

Great older hotel! Superb customer service, excellent food. Within walking distance of the central city! We were able to take a jaunting car ride from the hotel to the castle & park... The only negative was that the wireless internet was on the blink; everything else was splendid!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ArkLaTx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BernadetteRandles, General Manager at Dromhall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Dear ArkLaTx

Thank you for your lovely review, following your recent stay with us. As a family-run hotel, our level of customer service and our standard of food are very important to us, so I was delighted to read that these both came up to your expectations.

I would like to apologise for any problems you experienced with Wi-Fi in the hotel - we've recently upgraded our service and did experience a few problems initially.

I hope we have an opportunity to welcome you back to the Dromhall Hotel one day in the future.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (938)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

577 - 583 of 938 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2013

We arrive at the hotel via a Jaunty Car (horse drawn carriage). Our bag were already stored in our room. They had a nice stair case to walk up to the rooms ( there was an elevator, but we never took it)

Five - six minute walk to downtown.

They had a spa and pool but we did not use.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Larry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BernadetteRandles, General Manager at Dromhall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Dear Larry F

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, following your recent stay with us. I'm delighted that you liked our hotel and that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our staircase is indeed a much-commented upon, lovely feature of our hotel - I'm pleased you enjoyed it!

I hope that you may have the opportunity to come stay with us again on another occasion.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Being from Killarney I have eaten in the bar on many occassions and at all times the food has been excellent. There is a wide choice on the menu and the specials offer good value for money.
Service is consistently good and the staff are always so helpful and accommodating. The bar is always clean and inviting and you will find a good mix of locals and tourists. Will definatley be back and would recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CU09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BernadetteRandles, General Manager at Dromhall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Dear CU09

Thank you very much for posting a review on our Kayne's Bar & Bistro. I was so pleased to read your comments about our food and our staff and I'm grateful to you for taking the time to give us your feedback.

Kayne's Bar & Bistro can also be found under restaurants on Trip Advisor - you would be very welcome to leave a comment there also if you'd like to.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We stayed here two nights, the room was large, and even though it was at the front of the hotel, there was no street noise, and the view of sheep across the street was cute!! The bed was comfortable, linens were adequate, dinner was good and so was breakfast. It was only a ten minute walk into town, close enough for us!!The staff was very friendly, all in all a great experience, we would definitely come back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank margarita1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BernadetteRandles, General Manager at Dromhall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Dear Allyn C

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent visit to our hotel. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay with us, including our great location so close to town. I'm pleased you enjoyed your meals with us and found our staff to be very friendly, as the quality of our food and service is very important to us.

I hope you are able to come and stay with us again sometime in the future.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We held ours dads 70th birthday party that turned into a family reunion. We stayed for the weekend. This was a fabulous experience all the way. The staff are amazing so helpful and accommodating. Michael the manager couldn't do enough for us. The hotel is in the hub of everything. Walk to town or just stay put. Great food, room service if you wanted it. The bedrooms are large and spotless. Breakfast was more than you could eat this set you up for the day. I have since recommended it to two of my fellow american familys and the Dromhall did not disappoint.

Room Tip: All the room were good .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hilaryoleary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BernadetteRandles, General Manager at Dromhall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Dear hilaryoleary

Thank you for your lovely review, following your recent stay with us. It was so nice to read all your kind comments and I'm delighted that you all enjoyed yourselves. Thank you too for recommending us - we're most grateful.

I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel sometime in the future.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Comfortable hotel near the city centre, loved the staircase and the lobby. Rooms were comfortable and clean. Food (Dinner a la carte) was fantastic so was breakfast! Staff in the dinning room was very attentive and provided great service. One of the best experiences!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank runawaypancake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BernadetteRandles, General Manager at Dromhall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Dear runawaypancake

Thank you so much for your lovely review following your recent visit to our Hotel. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and it was a real pleasure to read all of your kind comments about our hotel, food and staff.

We put the hair dryers into a drawer in order to leave more space for our guests' belongings - but thank you for your feedback on this!

I hope you have an opportunity to visit us again one day in the future.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

This hotel is not near the city center. The room (for three persons) was the largest we had in Ireland. The room itself was pretty and large. The beds however were woefully in the last century. The comforters are color and have thin sheets with scratchy blankets. I was cold most of the night. The beds themselves were hard and uncomfortable. Otherwise it was a nice room Free wi-fi.

We did eat in the pub downstairs. It was pretty good and we liked the food. Crean's was suggested and it was the only thing I drank until I could no longer get it in pubs.

Breakfast was nice. We had a full breakfast included. They had a small selection of cold items and then you were able to choose from a list of hot items (one) to have made for you. This may have been due to the time of year. A popular hotel for tourist buses.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jambc1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BernadetteRandles, General Manager at Dromhall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Dear Jambc1234

Thank you for taking the time to post a review, following your recent stay with us. I was delighted to read about all the things you enjoyed during your stay. I'm pleased you enjoyed your food in Kayne's Bar and your breakfast in the hotel. Our breakfasts are always cooked to order, regardless of the time of year.

I was very sorry however, to learn of your disappointment with your beds and bed linen. Our sheets are all top quality, 100% cotton so I'm surprised that you found them to be too thin. We have duvets in some of our rooms and blankets in others - in order to give guests a choice. It's unfortunate that you didn't let us know of your concerns during your stay - we would have been only too pleased to have rectified any problems at the time. Our beds are standard hotel ones - firm rather than soft - as we find that generally this is what people want.

Thank you for your feedback.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0 mi away
Randles Hotel
Randles Hotel
#21 of 38 in Killarney
1,236 reviews
0.3 mi away
International Hotel Killarney
0.3 mi away
Riverside Hotel Killarney
Riverside Hotel Killarney
#26 of 38 in Killarney
1,306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Victoria House Hotel
Victoria House Hotel
#7 of 38 in Killarney
555 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Heights Hotel Killarney
The Heights Hotel Killarney
#30 of 38 in Killarney
419 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Fairview
The Fairview
#19 of 38 in Killarney
1,513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dromhall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dromhall Hotel

Address: Muckross Road, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Killarney
#8 Spa Hotel in Killarney
#15 Family Hotel in Killarney
#15 Business Hotel in Killarney
#20 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#24 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
Price Range: £58 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dromhall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 5 minutes walk from Killarney Town the 4* Dromhall Hotel is an ideal base for all. Completely re-built in 2000 this family owned hotel offers guests deluxe guest rooms, choice of bars & restaurants plus private parking. All guests can avail of Club Sant Leisure Club and for sheer indulgence a visit to Zen Day Spa is a must. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Dromhall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dromhall Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing