We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautifully decorated and a pleasure to stay in”
Review of Dromhall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dromhall Hotel
Ranked #22 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 December 2013

We only had a short time at Dromhall Hotel 1 and a half days but I'm pretty sure we made the most of it. Upon arrival they had confused our booking but were super nice in conviently and swiftly retifying the mistake. All staff were very friendly and extremely helpful. Rooms were clean and had everything you needed. Breakfast was delicious. It was in a great location, easy accesible to the town and motorways. Our favourite part was the decor of the hotel we thoroughly enjoyed running back in the evening after a long day and lounging about. Would definitelty recommend and hopefully return some day!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NaadC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BernadetteRandles, General Manager at Dromhall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

Dear NaadC

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your visit. I was delighted to read how much you enjoyed your brief stay with us. As a family-run and operated hotel, I was particularly pleased to read that you liked the décor and ambience of our hotel.

We place great importance on our friendly and efficient staff and of course on the standard of our food, so it was very rewarding to read your feedback on these 2 important areas.

I hope you may be able to come and stay with us again - perhaps for a little longer next time!

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (914)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

553 - 559 of 914 reviews

Reviewed 3 December 2013

Stayed two nights as part of a tour. Hotel was the best of the lot from that tour and would stay here on our own should we come back. It is approximately a 10 minute stroll from the main street. Room 109.

Lobby area provides a great first impression upon arrival. Step through and first thing that catches the eye is the grand stairway to the 1st floor. Nice fireplace and well appointed decor. Gives sense of stepping back into a more genteel era.

Room was good size, clean, twin bed plus a single with ample space. Great shower and provides bath amenities (shampoo and the like).

Downside is the hard pillows.

Free Wi-Fi, available in rooms. No special code needed.

Breakfast for tours was a sit/down and order rather than buffet (toast, juice and cereals were available self-serve). Tour groups are assigned seating times to control crowds.

Hotel was decorated for the Christmas holiday adding to the ambiance.

Staff was efficient, not overtly outgoing or friendly.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chatdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BernadetteRandles, General Manager at Dromhall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Dear chatdad

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our hotel, following your recent visit. I was delighted to read that you deemed our hotel the best from your tour and that you enjoyed some of our unique characteristics. I'm sorry though that you found our pillows to be too hard - it's difficult to cater for everyone's individual taste when it comes to pillows but it's unfortunate that you didn't mention it to us during your stay as we would have done our best to find an alternative for you.

I was also pleased to read that you enjoyed your breakfasts with us and the attention of our staff, together with the convenient location of our hotel.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to The Dromhall Hotel sometime in the future.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013 via mobile

Great older hotel! Superb customer service, excellent food. Within walking distance of the central city! We were able to take a jaunting car ride from the hotel to the castle & park... The only negative was that the wireless internet was on the blink; everything else was splendid!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ArkLaTx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BernadetteRandles, General Manager at Dromhall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Dear ArkLaTx

Thank you for your lovely review, following your recent stay with us. As a family-run hotel, our level of customer service and our standard of food are very important to us, so I was delighted to read that these both came up to your expectations.

I would like to apologise for any problems you experienced with Wi-Fi in the hotel - we've recently upgraded our service and did experience a few problems initially.

I hope we have an opportunity to welcome you back to the Dromhall Hotel one day in the future.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

We arrive at the hotel via a Jaunty Car (horse drawn carriage). Our bag were already stored in our room. They had a nice stair case to walk up to the rooms ( there was an elevator, but we never took it)

Five - six minute walk to downtown.

They had a spa and pool but we did not use.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Larry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BernadetteRandles, General Manager at Dromhall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Dear Larry F

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, following your recent stay with us. I'm delighted that you liked our hotel and that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our staircase is indeed a much-commented upon, lovely feature of our hotel - I'm pleased you enjoyed it!

I hope that you may have the opportunity to come stay with us again on another occasion.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Being from Killarney I have eaten in the bar on many occassions and at all times the food has been excellent. There is a wide choice on the menu and the specials offer good value for money.
Service is consistently good and the staff are always so helpful and accommodating. The bar is always clean and inviting and you will find a good mix of locals and tourists. Will definatley be back and would recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CU09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BernadetteRandles, General Manager at Dromhall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Dear CU09

Thank you very much for posting a review on our Kayne's Bar & Bistro. I was so pleased to read your comments about our food and our staff and I'm grateful to you for taking the time to give us your feedback.

Kayne's Bar & Bistro can also be found under restaurants on Trip Advisor - you would be very welcome to leave a comment there also if you'd like to.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We stayed here two nights, the room was large, and even though it was at the front of the hotel, there was no street noise, and the view of sheep across the street was cute!! The bed was comfortable, linens were adequate, dinner was good and so was breakfast. It was only a ten minute walk into town, close enough for us!!The staff was very friendly, all in all a great experience, we would definitely come back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank margarita1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BernadetteRandles, General Manager at Dromhall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Dear Allyn C

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent visit to our hotel. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay with us, including our great location so close to town. I'm pleased you enjoyed your meals with us and found our staff to be very friendly, as the quality of our food and service is very important to us.

I hope you are able to come and stay with us again sometime in the future.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We held ours dads 70th birthday party that turned into a family reunion. We stayed for the weekend. This was a fabulous experience all the way. The staff are amazing so helpful and accommodating. Michael the manager couldn't do enough for us. The hotel is in the hub of everything. Walk to town or just stay put. Great food, room service if you wanted it. The bedrooms are large and spotless. Breakfast was more than you could eat this set you up for the day. I have since recommended it to two of my fellow american familys and the Dromhall did not disappoint.

Room Tip: All the room were good .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hilaryoleary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BernadetteRandles, General Manager at Dromhall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Dear hilaryoleary

Thank you for your lovely review, following your recent stay with us. It was so nice to read all your kind comments and I'm delighted that you all enjoyed yourselves. Thank you too for recommending us - we're most grateful.

I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel sometime in the future.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.0 mi away
Randles Hotel
Randles Hotel
#21 of 38 in Killarney
1,200 reviews
0.1 mi away
Earls Court House
Earls Court House
#13 of 38 in Killarney
777 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riverside Hotel Killarney
Riverside Hotel Killarney
#26 of 38 in Killarney
1,300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Victoria House Hotel
Victoria House Hotel
#11 of 38 in Killarney
537 reviews
0.4 mi away
Eviston House Hotel
Eviston House Hotel
#35 of 38 in Killarney
768 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#9 of 38 in Killarney
2,283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dromhall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dromhall Hotel

Address: Muckross Road, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Killarney
#15 Business Hotel in Killarney
#15 Family Hotel in Killarney
#20 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#24 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
Price Range: £62 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dromhall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 5 minutes walk from Killarney Town the 4* Dromhall Hotel is an ideal base for all. Completely re-built in 2000 this family owned hotel offers guests deluxe guest rooms, choice of bars & restaurants plus private parking. All guests can avail of Club Sant Leisure Club and for sheer indulgence a visit to Zen Day Spa is a must. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dromhall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dromhall Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing