We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Dromhall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dromhall Hotel
Ranked #20 of 39 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Dubin
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

Stayed here for an after Christmas break with the family and the one huge advantage with this hotel and our main reason for choosing it was they except dogs. On arrival out first impression was not good but in fairness it was not the hotels fault but they were having a wedding and there was children running riot thru the hotel, if
I had been here as a couple looking for a relaxing break I'd would have been horrified. The staff were trying to keep them quiet whilst we checked in but to no avail. The rooms we had were clean and perfect for what we needed, we did have to ring down for our cot tho and then the little things like someone to help with the bags upon departure would have been nice but everything had to be asked for which some people don't think is a issue but we do. Having said that we did miss the breakfast time on our last day and we were still accommodated even tho we were 30 mins late. The facilities are nice ie: swimming pool and steam room.but a really strong smell whilst in the pool gave us enough reason to leave it, not sure what it was.
But I wouldn't have put this as a 4 star hotel it's just as I said its the little things that make your visits memorable and this just hasn't got it. Sorry but just being honest it's lacking something. The bar was ok ,having said that the staff there could really do with a course on customer service, I know the weather was miserable but they didn't have to reflect it as well.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ingobear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BernadetteRandles, General Manager at Dromhall Hotel, responded to this review, 1 March 2014
Dear ingobear

Thank you for your review. You have titled your response 'Nice stay' so I am pleased that, overall, you enjoyed your stay with us. I am sorry that you found our staff wanting during your visit - this is most unusual as we normally receive excellent feedback on our staff and our service. I don't know what went wrong during your stay but I apologise.

The smell in the pool was a very temporary problem which has now been fixed - again I'm sorry that this impacted on your stay.

We would be delighted to welcome you back to the Dromhall on another occasion for a hopefully better experience. Please contact me personally if you would like to book with us again.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

827 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    451
    252
    85
    24
    15
See reviews for
178
367
22
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cork
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

Had a lovely weekend at the hotel , The staff were so friendly and helpfully . The food was excellent in Keynes bar. This was a return visit for us and equally as good as our first , My friends and I would like to say a big thank you to the fantastic staff . We will stay again .

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geraldine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BernadetteRandles, General Manager at Dromhall Hotel, responded to this review, 1 March 2014
Dear Geraldine F

Thank you for taking the time to post a review, following your recent visit. We were delighted that you chose to come and stay with us again and to hear that you enjoyed your visit so much. Thank you for your kind comments about our staff and our food.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014 via mobile

Dined here a couple of weeks ago with my best friend and honestly wasn't expecting much but was genuinely surprised! The menu had a lot of lovely dishes on it and it was hard to decide between the patê and the burger but I decided to have a panini filled with chicken pesto and Parmesan cheese. It was the perfect combo! The chips were skinny chips and were cooked just right not greasy! I wasn't gone on the salad dressing and and the sundried tomato! We got dessert after and decided to both try the dessert tasting plate and ended up sampling six different desserts! Staff were attentive and very friendly! Wasn't too expensive either!

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Redtripblog76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BernadetteRandles, General Manager at Dromhall Hotel, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Dear LivingTheDream94

Thank you for taking the time to post a review, following your recent visit to our Kayne's Bar. I'm so pleased that you enjoyed your meal with us and that our staff looked after you well. Our new Bar menu offers a great range of dishes, and we're very happy with the feedback we're receiving on it.

Kayne's Bar & Bistro has its own separate listing on Trip Advisor under restaurants, so please feel free to post a review there as well if you'd like to.

We hope you have the opportunity to visit us again one day.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

This was our second time to stay at dromhall and it was equally as good as the first time. We arrived late on a Friday evening and got food in Keynes bar. The welcome and food were outstanding. The next day we had appointments in the spa and a visit to the pool, a really great day was had by all, the weather was awful and we're really happy that they had these great facilities, we also had lunch that day in Keynes and again it was super. Breakfast each morning was very good. We will most definitely be back!

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank JayDee_2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BernadetteRandles, General Manager at Dromhall Hotel, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Dear JayDee_2000

Thank you for your lovely comments, following your recent stay with us. We were delighted that you chose to visit us again and I was pleased to read that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay.

It was good that you were able to keep warm and cosy in our Spa and in Kayne's Bar while the weather was so bad. Your comments about our food are very welcome indeed - thank you.

We look forward to your next visit and thank you for your continued custom.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014 via mobile

My family recently held a Golden a Jubilee celebration in Dromhall Hotel, Killarney for my parents. The organisation, attention to detail, food and customer service was excellent and went well beyond the level required. E.g. when there was a problem with the DVD player for the slideshow, Mike who was looking after us for the night went home and brought in his own laptop! I couldn't recommend this place highly enough for any occasion.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank PhilGammell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BernadetteRandles, General Manager at Dromhall Hotel, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Dear PhilGammell

Thank you for your lovely review, following your recent family celebration with us. It was our pleasure to host this special event for you and I'm delighted that you were so happy with everything.

I will pass your comments on to Mike and the other staff concerned.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to the hotel sometime.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

Stayed in the Dromhall Hotel last weekend, place was quiet busy. Have to say the staff were great and very helpfull, when we arrived we were given a room near a fan and the young lady working at reception with blonde hair was most helpful and offered us a different room without hesitation as we are both very light sleepers. For that we were very grateful. Breakfast was lovely perhaps not a 4* buffet but had a nice choice to order from for the hot breakfast including crepes, cold meat plate and the full irish etc, Ate in Kaynes bar the next day , the food is very good with a great variety. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AshlingM43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BernadetteRandles, General Manager at Dromhall Hotel, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Dear AshlingM43

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent visit. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our staff to be pleasant and helpful. I will pass your comments on to Martina, our receptionist.

I'm pleased too that you enjoyed your breakfast and your meal in our Kayne's Bar.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel sometime soon.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitegate, Ireland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

This is a lovely hotel and staff are very friendly. They are also a Pet friendly hotel which is a bonus for anyone who likes to take their pets with them. Personally I would have expected more from a 4 star. Could not fault the service and the rooms were adequate. Bathroom was OK, one tube of Shower Gel and one Tube of Shampoo each, fine for a one night stay, but would have expected some body lotion at a min when rated as 4 star. Only a minor issue. Breakfast was fine, not excessive, no choice of yogurt drinks, at the buffet and would have expected a bigger range of options, perhaps because we had breakfast at approx 10.45 we may have missed some of the choice. We had full Irish and in fairness it was served very promptly, toast was a little scarce but there was plenty of bread available at the buffet. Overall good value.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joannoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BernadetteRandles, General Manager at Dromhall Hotel, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Dear joannoel

Thank you for your review, following your recent stay with us. I'm pleased that, overall, you enjoyed your stay and found it to be good value. We replenish the shower gel and shampoo tubes daily for guests staying on more than one night, as would be standard in most hotels. We do normally supply body lotion and I'm sorry that this was missing in your room.

I'm pleased that you enjoyed your full Irish breakfast. We're always happy to supply more toast, should guests request it - we just try to cut down on wastage.

I hope you have the opportunity to visit us again one day.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.0 mi away
Randles Hotel
Randles Hotel
#19 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,087 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#6 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,100 reviews
1.1 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#7 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
International Hotel Killarney
0.3 mi away
Riverside Hotel Killarney
Riverside Hotel Killarney
#22 of 39 in Killarney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,208 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Malton Hotel
The Malton Hotel
#14 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,062 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dromhall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dromhall Hotel

Property: Dromhall Hotel
Address: Muckross Road, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Killarney
#15 Business Hotel in Killarney
#15 Family Hotel in Killarney
#19 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#24 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Dromhall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 5 minutes walk from Killarney Town the 4* Dromhall Hotel is an ideal base for all. Completely re-built in 2000 this family owned hotel offers guests deluxe guest rooms, choice of bars & restaurants plus private parking. All guests can avail of Club Sant Leisure Club and for sheer indulgence a visit to Zen Day Spa is a must. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dromhall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dromhall Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing