We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“'a pleasure'”
Review of Dromhall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dromhall Hotel
Ranked #22 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 April 2014

stayed at Dromhall Easter W/end 4 nights BB/ very good value. Rooms lovely and comfortable - beds 'very comfortable'. Dined 3 nights in Kayne's Bistro and good choice of food and it was most enjoyable. Nice wine and not very expensive!! staff very helpful and happy.
breakfast each morning was excellent and great choice of cold or hot. had treatment in the Zen Spa too which was very good value and enjoyable.
would recommend Dromhall for all ages and it is so close to town you don't need a car.
Taxi 6.50 to bus station. well done to Dromhall and Staff, hope to see you soon again.
A

Room Tip: rooms on front get sun all afternoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rochford16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BernadetteRandles, General Manager at Dromhall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Dear Rochford16

Thank you so much for taking the time to post such a lovely review, following your recent visit. I was delighted to learn that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay with us; it was our pleasure to take care of you both.

We do get a lot of nice comments about our staff and our food in particular, so I'm pleased that you chose to dine in Kayne's on the 3 evenings you were with us and that you had a good experience each night.

We look forward to your return visit!

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (931)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

520 - 526 of 931 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

Nice, friendly good size rooms didnt have breakfast as was €18 a head a bit pricey the location was very good for the town centre you didnt have to use the car .I did think that the residents lounge was looking a bit tired could do with subdued lighting and soft music not a tv .as ghere Was a tv room

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank jefner321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BernadetteRandles, General Manager at Dromhall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Dear jefner321

Thank you for your recent review. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciated our close proximity to Killarney town.

We have, coincidently, refurbished our residents' lounge since your stay! Thank you for your suggestions about soft music and subdued lighting - we will discuss this but do feel that as we have background music in the lobby and the restaurant, guests might prefer a bit of peace and quiet in the lounge.

We hope you have the opportunity to visit us again one day.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

Everything about our stay was top class.from the warm welcome entering the hotel,to the best wishes upon leaving,our stay was superb.brilliant location,a stroll away from the hub of killarney.the rooms are excellent.the breakfast this morning was delicious.the choices available at breakfast were without doubt some of the best iv ever experienced.The man at breakfast this morning was really kind and helpful also.he was genuinely interested in our welfare!!and to top it all off.....top class value!!il be recommending the dromhall to eveybody& wel definately be back!!Thanks a mill 4everything,
Colin&Jessica

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Colin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BernadetteRandles, General Manager at Dromhall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Dear Colin O

Thank you so much for your lovely review. It restores my faith when I read a glowing report like this of our hotel! I am genuinely delighted that you both enjoyed your stay to the extent that you obviously did, and I would like to thank you for your kind comments.

We hope you have the opportunity to visit us again one day.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We stayed at this hotel for three night during a family vacation to Ireland. It is obviously frequently used for big tour groups, because the staff was rather stand-off-ish and the breakfast room rather impersonal. It is good value for the money. The best thing about it was the lovely staircase winding up to the 2d level and its location within walking distance to Killarney. The interior was quiet, but location is on a busy road. Breakfast was a small cold food buffet and warm items off a menu. They were very good though, try the French toast. Staff a bit "cold," not nearly as friendly as other places. Rooms were clean, bathrooms large with plently of hot water, but beds hard as rocks. Pillows hard and flat too. Pool and spa is located at sister property, across the parking lot. Good value, but not great hotel. There is a lively pub located in the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BernadetteRandles, General Manager at Dromhall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Dear Lisa J

Thank you for your recent review. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed aspects of your stay with us, but was disappointed to learn that we didn't meet your expectations on some levels.

I was very surprised by your comments about our staff as we usually receive great compliments about the friendliness and professionalism of our staff. I'm sorry that this wasn't your experience.

Regarding the mattress and pillows, it's always difficult to account for all guests' tastes in these areas, but we keep spares and would have been happy to have changed these items for you had we known of your discomfort.

All Dromhall guests have complimentary use of the pool and Spa at our sister hotel, The Randles Court, which is right next door. Kayne's Bar & Bistro, located adjacent to the Dromhall, is certainly a very lively and popular place with locals and residents alike, so I'm pleased that you enjoyed this.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Very good value hotel and also perfectly located as its no more than a 5 minute stroll to the center of town. Staff could not have been nicer, room was sapcious & comfortable, nothing spectacular but no complaints all the same.I would definitely stay here again when I come back to Killarney especially if theres a group of ye, ideaal for stag/hen parties.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spriggyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BernadetteRandles, General Manager at Dromhall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Dear spriggyb

Thank you for your recent review. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were impressed with our staff. We are certainly very conveniently located for the centre of Killarney which is of great benefit to our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Dromhall one day.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Easily one of the best hotels we have stayed in. Excellent customer service and rooms. Staff were very informative and helpful in every way possible. The room was gorgeous and very comfortable. The hotel is situated very close to Killarney town, which made it extremely accessible. The pool made available to the customers is very relaxing. It was always kept very clean and the water was perfect! We are a young couple and do sometimes experience some age discrimination in regards to hotels, but I must say, this was not the case here. The staff were so welcoming upon arrival and were there for anything we needed. We came down for a break away during the week, but are already planning our next stay in Dromhall Hotel again in late May. The only bad thing about this hotel was having to leave. Thank you to all the staff for an excellent experience

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janine_Cahoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BernadetteRandles, General Manager at Dromhall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Dear Janine_Cahoon

Thank you for lovely review. We appreciate you taking the time to write such a glowing report of your stay with us. I'm delighted that you enjoyed every aspect of your visit and the attention of our staff in particular. Exceptional customer service is one of our chief aims, so I'm pleased that this was your experience during your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Just home from a girly night away in your hotel, hotel was lovely rooms were warm and clean and everything u wanted was there. we sat off in the 2 chairs by the window for the night and talked till all hours, totally enjoyed our stay and so handy to just walk to town. room was roasting hot but we kept window open. All in All had a great catch up. will be back again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trikin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BernadetteRandles, General Manager at Dromhall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Dear trikin

Thank you for your review. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your time together in our hotel and that you found it comfortable and suitable for your needs! There's nothing quite like a girly catch-up. I apologise for the heat in the room - our heating can be turned on or off in each room so I'm sorry if this information wasn't passed on to you.

I hope you're able to pay us another visit soon.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.0 mi away
Randles Hotel
Randles Hotel
#21 of 38 in Killarney
1,222 reviews
0.7 mi away
Victoria House Hotel
Victoria House Hotel
#7 of 38 in Killarney
548 reviews
0.3 mi away
International Hotel Killarney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riverside Hotel Killarney
Riverside Hotel Killarney
#26 of 38 in Killarney
1,305 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Fairview
The Fairview
#19 of 38 in Killarney
1,509 reviews
0.6 mi away
Brook Lodge Hotel
Brook Lodge Hotel
#23 of 38 in Killarney
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dromhall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dromhall Hotel

Address: Muckross Road, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Killarney
#8 Spa Hotel in Killarney
#15 Family Hotel in Killarney
#15 Business Hotel in Killarney
#20 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#24 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
Price Range: £58 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dromhall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 5 minutes walk from Killarney Town the 4* Dromhall Hotel is an ideal base for all. Completely re-built in 2000 this family owned hotel offers guests deluxe guest rooms, choice of bars & restaurants plus private parking. All guests can avail of Club Sant Leisure Club and for sheer indulgence a visit to Zen Day Spa is a must. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Dromhall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dromhall Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing