We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything was great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Killarney International Youth Hostel
Reviewed 18 July 2013 via mobile

Very nice staff, good facilities and everything was clean. We went there as a family of 5 , no pb at all, not to mention cheap rates.pretty far from Killarney by foot, need to have a car or bike though.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank florent G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (83)
There are newer reviews for Killarney International Youth Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 83 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2013

That would be the Ring Of Kerry, the International Hostel is as good a place to start the trip as any. A large, imposing sort of structure, built for the British landed gentry, circa mid 1800s.

This is a strictly adults only affair in my opinion, not because of any inappropriate international relations, just the location and facilities. It's miles from town, no bus service, no play room, the average five year old would have a more interesting stay at your local doctors surgery.

The rooms are ok, not in any way sympathetic to the exterior of the building, don't expect anything grand. The beds are reasonable, showers are wet, food is awful (think ASDA value brand) and the staff are uninterested. The cleaning is done by guests in exchange for a free room or sometimes by former guests who accept a minimum wage job and free bed and breakfast. The only Irish person I could find was the manager, John I think his name was, so don't expect any Irish-ness during your stay.

Killarney is one AMAZING place, best pubs on the planet, if you get a chance pop into COURTNEYS, just off HIGH St, extra cold Guiness and proper live music. I also liked how the staff seemed to know almost every customer by name, there was genuine affection and the banter was hilarious (you have to hear the story of the flying graveyard at Kilsorcan).

The Hostel staff will try to sell you trips at the hostel, think pony trecking, boat rides ect, don't do it! Book from the hostel I mean, the trips are amazing, just the hostel staff work on a sort of commission basis and only ever promote certain tours. Best to go direct, for boat hire pop down to ROSS castle and haggle with the boatmen. Same goes for the much talked about "Jaunting Car" rides through the MUCKROSS estate. The Jarvies (guys who drive the horse and carts) will charge whatever they think you will/can pay. Don't ask how much, just make an offer, long as it's sensible it's game on. I said 20 euro each, he said 25, we settled on 22 euro. It's not really worth it though as a walk through the park is far more interesting, or better yet hire some bikes.

Getting back to the hostel, the facilities are fine, it just lacks any sort of atmosphere. The staff are uninterested and the location is not brilliant. It is fine for what it is, but could be an awful lot better. Just needs a manager who is interested and someone to do something about the rabbits, they're everywhere! it's like night of the living bunnys around that place. I swear they're planning something, just waiting patiently, growing in numbers, their moment will come.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jason j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

The hostel is now quite large and has an impersonal feel. There were lots of young backpackers from many different parts of the world there when we visited. If you're looking for international experiences or to meet people then this is great. If you're looking for an Irish experience then one of the independent hostels may be better.

Otherwise, good value, clean and simple.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sweeneytom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2012 via mobile

You'll need a car to get around most conveniently. Very quiet any time of day. Stayed as a couple with shared bathroom. Bathroom is very clean beds are average for a hostel. it's an old mansion converted into a hostel. Bunnies hop around freely. On a nice day, volleyball net is available. A field is available to play soccer. a pub is within walking distance. With a car, a value market is nearby. Would stay again!!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JennandPaul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

We were absolutely delighted with this hostel (and we are regular hostellers:). Just what we expected for the money + a unique and extraordinary atmosphere, just like in the Harry Potter movies, or a Boarding school (to quote previous reviewer). Staff were really friendly and dealth with great consideration to the needs of the Early-birds as well as Party-goers. No noise, very warm, outstendingly equipped kitchen and a big fire in the fireplace located in the commons room.

Room Tip: 36, very quite double room
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jan k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2011

I liked this place but it did remind me of a boarding school due to the large old building on its own grounds. I liked the atmosphere and the kitchen was well equipped and the staff were pleasant.. Showers and loos were just fine if basic however the dormitory was a little small and without lockers. I paid 18 euro for a bed which was fair. Overall a good experience.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aubrey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2011

First of all I've read all of the former reviews and they are all correct in their way. This is an old "english" manor house which has been transformed into a hostel. There is no fanciness to it but it does have an old world charm about it. The strange thing was it felt as if I had joined a commune in the 1960's. The hippie element is very much in residence however it is very difficult to determine the staff from the residents. And they make A LOT of noise. And it is ALL in German. It does quiet down after say, 10pm, however I would not bring children here unless it is for a large group gathering. There is a LOT of drinking going on between residents and some staff and there are no outdoor facilities for kids. The woods are very scary and quite wet. Which can be fun in groups but I would not allow children to wander about. I had my adult son with me and we were charged 16.50 per person per night. Cheapest accommodation in Killarney I can guarantee however it is rustic and very basic. The bunk beds are very old and very uncomfortable and squeak squeak squeak.
But I liked this place it did not feel foreboding or "haunted", although considering it's history it should have, it felt like an old man. A bit rough, wrinkly and grey but full of interesting stories and not without it's old charm.

Room Tip: No such thing
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caidy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
2.8 mi away
The Black Sheep Hostel
The Black Sheep Hostel
#1 of 47 in Killarney
91 reviews
23.6 mi away
Dromid Hostel
Dromid Hostel
#25 of 47 in Killarney
10 reviews
3.0 mi away
Neptunes Hostel
Neptunes Hostel
#8 of 47 in Killarney
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
3 Lakes Hostel
3 Lakes Hostel
#14 of 47 in Killarney
46 reviews
3.3 mi away
Railway Hostel
Railway Hostel
#43 of 47 in Killarney
235 reviews
1.9 mi away
Dunloe View Hostel
Dunloe View Hostel
#1 of 2 in Fossa
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Killarney International Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Killarney International Youth Hostel

Address: Aghadoe House Ring of Kerry Road | Fossa, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 47 Speciality Lodging in Killarney
Price Range: £19 - £50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Killarney International Youth Hostel 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ring of Kerry Youth Hostel is an impressive 17th Century mansion, set in 75 acres of lawns and forests, overlooking the Lakes of Killarney and the Macguillycuddy's Reeks. If you want good food, a good night's sleep, washing and drying facilities and a great atmosphere, then Killarney International Youth Hostel is the place to be. The Hostel was renovated in two phases, early 1999 and early 2000 to include smaller rooms and family rooms, a very large self catering and catering area and very comfortable common areas. This hostel is the centre for exploring the impressive scenery that is the Ring of Kerry. The 'Ring of Kerry Tour', the 'Dingle Tour' and the 'Gap of Dunloe Tour' depart daily from the Youth Hostel and show the visitor some of the most impressive scenery in the world ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Killarney International Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing