We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel, right in the city centre.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Killarney Plaza Hotel and Spa
Ranked #18 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Mechelen, Belgium
Level Contributor
140 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Decent hotel, right in the city centre.”
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We enjoyed one night in this hotel. The room was very well equipped and so big that you could easily train any dance choreography or aerobic there! The bathroom was small, however.
You will enjoy the beauty of the main hall, the lobby, the dining place. Although we did not go for the breakfast (15 EUR seem a little much, we found nice breakfast places downtown, just few steps away from the hotel, cheaper and probably more authentic). We enjoyed a dinner in the hotel's restaurant, where staff was most kind (they served us although we really arrived late). Food was great as well. If you're looking for a nice place to stay in more and more commercial Killarney - Plaza might be your choice. Additional plus is a complimentary parking. But mind you: first come first served, so if you fail to find a parking spot - you need to park outside and pay the public parking fee.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AgataStar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,238 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    796
    312
    78
    31
    21
See reviews for
227
558
39
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
74 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

This is quite a story I have to tell about this part of our trip. First, the hotel was beautiful. We had a room overlooking the part..spacious, all the plumbing works--clean. Our group was originally to stay at the Killarney Towers just a block away. But we were upgraded and spent three nights at the Plaza. So very lucky for us in terms of hotel quality.

Around 6am on July 13 we heard a terrible explosion. We had just come from N.Ireland and the July 12 Orangemen marchers were acting up very badly. Lots of rioting from trouble makers. So we initially thought it was a bomb.
What happened it that a small cleaning establishment in an alley between the Towers and Harrington hotel exploded. The owner tragically lost his life. People were coming out of the two hotels...many with little clothing etc.
The Plaza was wonderful in accommodating hundreds of people with blankets, robes and breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FaithPrevails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
76 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

The Plaza Hotel situated in the center of Killarney offers elegance and a superb staff. Traveling with friends on a CIE tour, we stayed two evenings at The Plaza and wanted to stay longer. The reception area is beautiful just off the street, across from Killarney National Park. The staff was exceptionally attentive, courteous and knowledgable. We had excellent food in the dining room, good drinks and conversation in the bar. The stay was a total success. We will return again.
We had the best night ever in Sheehan's Pub next door to the hotel. Exceptional music!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rabbit2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kildare, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Killarney Plaza on July 5th, 6th and 7th with our newborn son and thoroughly enjoyed our time there.
We requested a baby's cot in our room and were pleased to find it in place when we arrived. The cot was safe and comfortable and the baby slept soundly each night - he loved the colourful material too!! We also found a complimentary gift in the room from the hotel (knowing that we would be sitting in with the baby). It was a very nice touch and capped off a very pleasant stay.
We also made use of the hotel pool and particularly enjoyed introducing our 4 month old son to the water for the first time. The staff there were fantastic and very accommodating.
The hotel porters / concierge service were very helpful during our arrival and departure.
Well done to all the staff for delivering a great service during a very busy weekend in Killarney.
Great location and great service. We will certainly stay at the Plaza again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JDandD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

We visited Killarney as part of our honeymoon, which fell during the 2013 heat wave that took over the UK and Ireland. We had pre-paid for two nights at another hotel in town. Unfortunately that hotel had neither A/C nor fans, and on our first night our room stayed at around 90 degrees. After a horrible night of no sleep we decided to eat the cost and sought out other options. This hotel delivered! We were able to get into a spacious, well-appointed room with a lovely view of the park and A/C that kept us from melting.

The service was also great. Frankly, we wish we'd booked this hotel from the beginning.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank asuzannek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
offaly
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Just back from a stay in killarney plaza, would highly recommend it, staff are so professional and friendly, and the food is amazing, it's location is ideal as your right in the heart of the lovely town of killarney, the decor of there new cocktail bar is so trendy. Great facilities with a swimming pool, spa, gym, steam room, sauna and jacuzzi. Really enjoyed our stay here

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank deesha1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013 via mobile

I visit Killarney monthly as part of my job and would definitely recommend the Killarney plaza. It's value for money and bare food is very well priced. Location is central enough for tourists and parking is complementary. Always stay here.

Btw, the porridge at breakfast is top class

Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank murtdublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.2 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,338 reviews
0.1 mi away
International Hotel Killarney
0.2 mi away
The Malton Hotel
The Malton Hotel
#14 of 38 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,090 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Ross
The Ross
#4 of 38 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 879 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#8 of 38 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,131 reviews
1.4 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#7 of 38 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Killarney Plaza Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Killarney Plaza Hotel and Spa

Property: Killarney Plaza Hotel and Spa
Address: Kenmare Place, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Killarney
#6 Spa Hotel in Killarney
#17 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#20 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#23 Family Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Killarney Plaza Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star Killarney Plaza Hotel reigns over Killarney Town with grace and glamour. It is located adjacent to Killarney National Park and the gateway to the Ring of Kerry. The hotel offers stylish bedrooms, superb restaurants, bars, conference and banquet facilities and an exclusive and luxurious Sundari Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Killarney Plaza Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Killarney Plaza Hotel Killarney
Plaza Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing