We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Killarney Plaza Hotel and Spa
Ranked #19 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Stayed in a suite, room very nice, spacious, clean, had previously stayed in executive room in Plaza a few years ago, which is one down from the suite but better than standard rooms, this was very nice too, but suite is a lot nicer again.
Very clean, not dusty like hotels all across the stars often are, a lot better suite than I have stayed in a 5 star in Killarney to be fair, only thing there wasn't was a fridge if I really had to pick at something with the room.
Comfy, well kept, sofas and chairs very soft , nice fireplace, 2 tvs, and so on, bathroom was well stocked up with toiletries, in unnamed 5 star in Killarney suite got 1 shower gel and 1 shampoo (the minis) between us, but that's the worst we ever saw!!! There was loads and loads of it, and we were only staying a night. Toiletries were quite nice too.
Bathroom had lovely big shower with the jets on the walls as well as the shower head and a jacuzzi bath and was big, nicely decorated, 2 sinks and so on and cleaned properly all over.
The suite is worthy of a 5 star hotel and is a lot better than some of the 5 star's suites out there.
Staff were generally very good & polite throughout the stay, had no problems.
One lady, that seemed to be just coming in to work from the car park as we were just going down the steps to it, asked if we wanted a hand with the bags - that is having good staff, she was barely in the door herself and we were most of the way there. (we had already been asked if we wanted help with the bags at the desk checking out as well).
Had evening meal in the bar bistro part and my meal was good all round, but my husbands was hit and miss, chips were excellent - proper fresh cut ones - really rare to get them anywhere so well cooked, and the steak (well done) was to be fair very tough and he couldn't even finish it, and that's not like him! :-) it was a thick cut and I know it's hard when someone asks for it well done but some places do manage to keep it soft and I can manage it at home so really it should have been soft.
I will say the previous time we stayed we ate in the actual restaurant (which was closed this time) and it was excellent all round, both our meals, all 3 courses, so I would just eat there if I stayed there again and I would recommend it if it is the same chef etc from a few years ago.
Breakfast was mostly good enough, I remember it being a bit better the last time we stayed but we did arrive down just before it finished so a lot of stuff had been sitting there but most was good enough for a hotel buffet breakfast, good enough selection, especially for mid week in November and it was quiet. The sausages etc were fine it was just things like the waffles etc gone rock hard from sitting on the buffet heater but as I say we were in right at the last end of it and it did taste as if it would have been fine when it was soft. As far as breakfast goes in hotels it is one of the better places.
The hotel is well kept all over, properly decorated with a lot of nice little touches all over it, everywhere you go if you look around, which you actually don't see a lot in hotels, there is a lot of pleasant surroundings to sit around and look at in there it is a very comfortable, and very clean place to stay, with loads of places all over you can sit around in, it would be good if you were staying there for a longer break. Is very nice from outside, and generally hasn't been left get scruffy and unmaintained like other places have gone with the bad economy.
Location is right in town with car park, ideal spot in Killarney, didn't find it noisy or any sounds from the road below was on 4th floor.
All round I recommend.

Room Tip: Get the executive or even better suite : well worth the extra. Have peeked into standard rooms being...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank membertrip13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,311)
There are newer reviews for Killarney Plaza Hotel and Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

731 - 737 of 1,311 reviews

Reviewed 14 November 2013

down for business meeting and loved my stay in KPH here. very town centre location in middle of killarney. good bedrooms, firm beds, free wi-fi, proper brekfast and generally well run hotel. the u/g carpark was very useful for parking.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markandcarolines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Stayed for two nights 12/13th November 2013. Took the two nights mid week package which includes two nights b&b and one evening meal (main course) for €138 pps. Very good value I thought. You can upgrade to a superior room on arrival for €10 pp per night. Well worth it. Lovely interior to the hotel with lashings of red marble and brass. Car park is beneath the hotel and can be reached by entering a public car park, at the back of the hotel and taking an underground entrance that is well sign posted with directions to go to reception. It's on a first come first served basis. Parking could be limited, in house, at busy times.

Staff were young and friendly and very willing to oblige their guests. Rooms are smart and clean with modern furnishings. Very comfortable indeed.

One small thing ....... the evening meal ........ was a disappointment due to the fact it was tepid and served on cold plates. I had the lamb shank, which was enormous and served with mash potato, carrots and parsnips. Food should be served at 75 degrees celsius at the very least. What a pity! My partner had the Seafood tagliatelle but unfortunately it was tepid and the pasta was soggy and overcooked. I was strongly of the opinion that neither of our two dishes were freshly cooked. I didn't complain but I shouldn't have the need to.

Overall it's a great hotel in a great town in the Kingdom of Kerry. Irish music is played live in pubs around the centre of town most nights.

Room Tip: Ask for the upgrade when booking.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Benedict_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night recently for my birthday, my sister surprised us with an upgrade to a suite. It was an amazing room, used the swimming pool and spa which was Devine. Breakfast was outstanding , huge selection of food and the staff esp the chef was lovely. Reception staff were not overly friendly and the charge for breakfast to the room was 10e per person , way too expensive but other than that we had no complaints. Centrally located and free underground parking

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Jacqui2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Our coach tour group stayed two nights at the Killarney Plaza Hotel. The room was nice, modern, clean, and comfortable. Breakfast was decent the first day, but the bacon (ham) tasted really bad the second day. Similarly, the cubed fruit on the second day tasted like a refrigerator.
The dinner entree selections were good and cooked properly. I had roast sirloin one night and it was very good. The waiters were efficient and attentive. There was a very enticing selection at the dessert buffet and most people were not afraid to try more than one selection. Overall, we enjoyed the hotel and it was restful to come back to in the evenings after our daytime outings.

Room Tip: Go to the pub next door (north) for some great local Irish music.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank klkks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights on an independent tour. This location worked as a good hub to travel to the Dingle Peninsula, Ring of Kerry and on to either the Cliffs of Moher to the west or Waterford to the east. The hotel was comfortable and had elegant touches in the lobby and dining room . Our room was a good size and there was a twin bed in addition to the queen size bed. Breakfasts were substantial and had a large variety of food. They were able to accommodate the large tourist groups that came through for breakfast, although if you aren't part of those groups, you were better off getting to breakfast at a different time to avoid the lines. Coffee service at breakfast was prompt and efficient.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darlene51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Arrived at the Killarney Plaza Hotel on October 14, 2013. This was part of our CIE Tour and we would be staying two night with the full Irish breakfast each morning. We had requested a quiet room and were given room 433 on the top floor which faced a quiet back alley.

Room had one queen bed and one twin, 24" TV, desk, 2 chairs & a table with 2 complimentary bottles of water. Window did open, safe in closet, iron & ironing board, hairdryer & coffee/tea set-up in closet. Bath had a tub, "Comfort Zone" bath products, plenty of towels and washcloths and a magnifying mirror.

The full Irish breakfast was served in the Grand Pey Room had the usual items, plus they had very large croissants, fresh cheeses (the brie was so creamy) and sliced meats (salami). They had the typical scrambled eggs, but they also served fried eggs, waffles and pancakes (thin Swedish style)

Tables were set and a pot of coffee was brought to the table as soon as you sat down. For sweeteners they had white & brown sugar cubes. A note of interest to diabetics - only 2 of the 7 hotels we stayed at had Splenda - most only had white or brown sugar.

Now for the surprise! The whole hotel was decorated with lots of elegant wood, mosaics tile work, crown molding, marble, brass, ornate art deco fixtures, chandeliers and made us thing of an old classic cruise ship. We were guessing that it was probably built during the 1940's. When we were informed by our dinner waiter that it was actually built in 2000, we were very surprised!

Across the street from the Killarney Plaza Hotel there was the availability to rent a jaunty car (horse & buggy) ride through the nearby National Park. On our 2nd day in Killarney, we drove to the Dingle Peninsula and had such terrific weather we were able to drive back using the Conor Pass.

Complimentary waffle weave robes to wear during our stay and slippers to wear and keep were in the closet. A very nice touch was we were each offered a complimentary bottle of water when we left. A very classy hotel - well deserving of their 4 star rating!

Room Tip: upper floor that faces the alley. we had room 433 which was quiet.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank magic_carpets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.2 mi away
The Malton Hotel
The Malton Hotel
#15 of 38 in Killarney
2,236 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#2 of 38 in Killarney
1,428 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#10 of 38 in Killarney
2,261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#9 of 38 in Killarney
2,306 reviews
0.1 mi away
International Hotel Killarney
2.4 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#16 of 38 in Killarney
1,569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Killarney Plaza Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Killarney Plaza Hotel and Spa

Address: Kenmare Place, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Killarney
#6 Spa Hotel in Killarney
#17 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#20 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#23 Family Hotel in Killarney
Price Range: £104 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Killarney Plaza Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star Killarney Plaza Hotel reigns over Killarney Town with grace and glamour. It is located adjacent to Killarney National Park and the gateway to the Ring of Kerry. The hotel offers stylish bedrooms, superb restaurants, bars, conference and banquet facilities and an exclusive and luxurious Sundari Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Killarney Plaza Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Killarney Plaza Hotel Killarney
Plaza Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing